Peter David Grubea’s Reviews

Peter David Grubea

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Do yourself a favor, don't go with this one

    Posted by Lisa,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Peter Grubea.

    After my bankruptcy case was dismissed, he slapped on an extra $450 before he would give me my documents back, it felt like extortion. You never meet them in person. I had one of his attorneys show up in court, didn't even introduce himself and I didn't realize he was representing me until we were in the court process. Very poor communication...took days to get answers to emails. That firm does the absolute minimum for you. I regret ever contacting him and his firm.

  2. Very Disappointed

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Peter Grubea.
    • Peter handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I've been researching different attorneys and I was very excited to have a consultation with Mr. Grubea. I completed the short questionnaire that stated "Complete the form below and I will provide you with a FREE bankruptcy evaluation within one day" When I did not hear back via phone or e-mail. I went online and scheduled a phone consultation I waited over 30 minutes for the call and when I did not receive one I called the office the receptionist informed me she would text him and he should calling soon. When I still didn't receive a call I decided to try one more time I went back online made another appointment and again, no call! I called the office back, same situation the receptionist said she would reach out and again no call ... Very disappointing and unprofessional. I've had numerous phone consultations, I've completed the preliminary course required to file, all of my documents are in order ... I just wanted a price from his office to file a basic Chapter 7.

    1. Peter David Grubea

      Peter Grubea

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry that you had a bad experience, and your post is upsetting to me. I do personally answer each new client email inquiry (just go done with today's at midnight), but sometimes the response does go into the client's "spam" email folder because it is not from a known sender. Also, I do try to handle as many of the initial consultations as I can myself, but if I am not in the office, then the consultation is given to another attorney. I definitely want to look into this further, so please provide your name to me via confidential email. I will at least be able to explain what happened, and I will certainly provide a discounted rate for your chapter 7 if you do wish to reschedule. Peter Grubea

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

    2. Peter David Grubea

      Peter Grubea

      Lawyer Comment:

      One more comment: negative reviews are always discouraging (and unfortunately unavoidable) but should never be viewed as a typical experience. Keep in mind that our office has consulted with nearly 75,000 prospective clients over the past 10 years, and the fact that there are only a handful of negative reviews around the web from this large group of people is a much "louder" message than the negative reviews themselves.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  3. Highly recommend this bankruptcy lawyer ...

    Posted by David, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Grubea.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    My case was not an easy one, having survived a bout with cancer and several business setbacks, as well as a prior bankruptcy under the old bankruptcy law, a lawsuit, and potential adversary proceedings (where creditors sue the debtor in bankruptcy court to have the debt deemed non-dischargeable). I consulted two other lawyers and one didn’t have the knowledge to answer my questions and the other moved too slow and wanted way too much money even to open the file (my car was in repossession mode!). Peter Grubea’s office handled and are still handling all these matters with expertise, courtesy and empathy. Bankruptcy law is way too complex for a general practitioner and requires a specialist, and Peter Grubea is one of the most knowledgeable bankruptcy lawyers in New York. His office staff is responsive and polite and his fees are very reasonable considering the time and number of court appearances my case required. I highly recommend his firm for bankruptcy and debtor-creditor problems.

    1. Peter David Grubea

      Peter Grubea

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the positive comment. . Although we receive many emails thanking us, it is rare to have a client publicly express gratitude. This is because most people do not really want to advertise the fact that they have filed bankruptcy.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  4. The real deal!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Grubea.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    My car was repo'd and I sent out a few emails to attorneys looking for help. Peter called me almost right away and he filed an emergency case for me. I go my car back within the day!

    1. Peter David Grubea

      Peter Grubea

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the positive comment. I remember this recent case well, and I am pleased that the client was able to get the vehicle back so quickly. It is not always easy, but this case went very smoothly.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  5. Horrible office

    Posted by Tycin, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Peter Grubea.
    • Peter handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a 10 am phone appointment (after the office changed the appointment from 1030 to 10). Waiting until 1020 after no call, I decide to give the office a call. The person on the phone advised me that they didn't want any appointments on a Monday and to reschedule. This would have been fine, If I was notified about this. The firm had no plans on calling me for a cancellation in an appointment. This is very bad business and a very bad first impression. I am now taking my business elsewhere.

    1. Peter David Grubea

      Peter Grubea

      Lawyer Comment:

      I wish to express my apologies to this individual for any inconvenience he experienced. My livelihood depends on satisfied clients, and while some appointments can indeed get delayed by 10 or 15 minutes if I am in court or talking to another client, I would never in a million years intentionally miss a client consultation. The individual who wrote this review is correct that this would be a bad business practice, and I can assure all who read this that it is NOT my practice!

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Very smart and calming

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Grubea.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was so upset about having to file bankruptcy, but Mr. Grubea was very reassuring. I'm still not happy that I have to file but I know it is the best decision and I trust Mr, Grubea completely.