Bruce Howard Guttman’s Reviews

Bruce Howard Guttman

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce Attorney Par Excellence!!

    Posted by Bill, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 6-12 months ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This is to highly recommend Bruce Guttman to anyone going through the throes of a divorce. I found him to be extremely attentive, supportive, and always available for any questions or issues that I was struggling with. He also proved to be quite resourceful and brilliant as demonstrated by his ability to
    "think outside the box." Perhaps I can give him no bigger compliment than being able to refer to him not only as a valued attorney but a new found friend! Anyone who is thinking of hiring a prospective attorney to handle their divorce would be doing themselves a disservice if they did not include Bruce as a candidate. I would also be remiss if I did not mention that I was very much a beneficiary of Robin Guttman, who is also an attorney in the practice. Her patience, wisdom, and perspective were always appreciated.

  2. GRATEFUL!

    Posted by MALA, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Guttman and his practice were very helpful during my divorce, not only did they kept me informed about all legal matters but also guided me through many stressful events concerning the divorce. I'm sincerely grateful for their thorough and diligent work, it made the whole process much more tolerable.

  3. An attorney that keeps you informed every step of the way.

    Posted by Kevin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bruce Guttman and his staff handled my complicated divorce in a highly satisfactory manner. He was very easy to reach when needed and always on top of things. His support staff is excellent.

  4. Great service

    Posted by Amy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was supportive and knowledgeable on all the matters being discussed. I felt really comfortable with him and his assistance during this tumultuous time in my life. I am grateful and thankful that he was there to get me through this time and communicate each step thoroughly.

  5. Caring, Concerned Attorneys

    Posted by Peggy B., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 6-12 months ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Deciding that a divorce is inevitable is difficult. Having caring understanding attorneys is imperative. From the day I walked into Guttman & Guttman I felt comfortable and confident that I had a team that would help me through this process. The day I met him Bruce gave me his personal cell phone number and said call anytime, day or night. Every time I called Bruce answered, discussed my concern and made sure I felt comfortable with our discussion before ending the call Once I had a question on a holiday and I was calling the office late at night just to leave a message and Bruce answered. I was surprised but happy. Robin and Bruce are experienced, know what they are doing and have excellent rapport with many other divorce attorneys which I believe helps the process move smoothly. I highly recommend them and am very happy they were able to settle my divorce expeditiously and to my satisfaction. They really care d about me and my family.

  6. Bruce Howard Guttman review

    Posted by Holger, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    During a very difficult divorce process, Bruce was always available to answer my questions, and concerns. Extremely knowledgeable, professional, and caring. His knowledge, and his Witt was reassuring at a time that was very uncertain for me. He was able to advocate for me, and obtain the results I desperately needed. He was very honest with me from day one, and for all these reasons I would recommend him to anyone in need of legal assistance. Thank you Bruce!!!!

  7. Keep searching and stay away from the Guttmans

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bruce and his wife handled my divorce and for the first year, I was impressed. He is a smooth talker and exudes confidence. My ex took the approach that once the divorce wasn't working out to his advantage, he was generally uncooperative. He stalled and didn't show up for court and that's when Bruce began to disappoint me. He never acted in a way where he tried to expedite the process. In hindsight, Bruce faciliated the stall tactics of my ex because it drove up his bill and when I got another and another and another in a series of delays, Bruce would shrug his shoulders and blame "the system". To be more specific, for the first 4 months of my separation, my ex and i went to a mediator. The mediator got about 70% through the process of writing the stipulation of settlement when my ex stopped meeting with the mediator. By the time I retained Bruce, I handed him the work in process stip and Bruce used this to complete my divorce over the next 2 years. But the stip I gave him placed our divorce in State Supreme Court and not in Family Court so when my ex wouldn't pay child support, I went to Family Court where they said "this court just not have jurisdiction on your case". They were right. I went to Bruce to explain and he said "we mistakenly copied your stip word for word from your mediator and it had a mistake we missed but we will correct it-sorry". And to his credit, their office did fix it over the next 6 months and as they did, they admitted it was their mistake so imagine my shock when they tried to bill me $4000 for correcting their error!
    Bottom line- I don't trust him and was never impressed by his court behavior. My belief was that his ultimate priority was his billable hours. Stay away and find another attorney.

  8. Bruce Guttman, charming man, horrible divorce attorney

    Posted by Kevin, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Family matter.

    Bruce Guttman is a partner in a small husband and wife law firm. My expierience with him is difficult to summarize, but the short version is that he was my divorce attorney for three years. After three years time and 80K spent, I am not one step closer to being divorced than I was when I first retained him. Our first day in court he had to reply to the judge to give my name and other basic preliminary information. He got my name, income and place of business totally incorrect as he mixed me up with another client. Shame on me for not realizing on that first day that it was a precursor for the next three years. I have a pattern of incidents where Bruce Guttman has shown that his sole objective is billable hours and not results. Yet when he talks about his courtroom behavior he describes himself as a tiger. It's baseless and laughable. Every setback and negative result is seen by him as nothing more than a "flaw in the system". I found most revolting a consistent pattern of making confident predictions that were each and every time not inaccurate, but the polar opposite of what truly happened. Every meeting where we prepped for the next round of court he would bait me by telling me what good thing was going to happen in court next but that I first had to get my balance down to zero, which I did. And every court appearance resulted in a 2-3 month adjournment where nothing progressed, except emptying my bank account further. If you challenge his tactics, he will schmooze and charm, but it is the equivalent of getting a back rub while someone is stabbing you in the back. My comments are not spiteful, but spoken as someone who was truly scammed by an incompetent and negligible attorney. My distatse for his behavior is not due to his failure to win my divorce, because it wasnt about winning it, it was about ending it, and he did neither. Yet today as he was telling me that my balance is too high for him to continue representing me, he actually spoke with confidence as he told me "i wouldnt have done one thing differrently". During several conversations he explained to me that the high cost that he charges is for his representation, not for his results. So if you want results, avoid this law firm.

  9. Bruce Guttman

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 6-12 months ago.
    • Bruce handled my Child Support matter.

    I would say I'm very please with the handling of my case for divorce and the issues I had with child support with my ex husband . My ex husband had tried to reduce his child support after non paying child support for several months . Bruce clearly explained the laws and potential outcomes with going to court . We had receive a favorable outcome with the court. Bruce Guttman and his staff are very knowledgable and responsive to my questions and needs .

  10. Very Trustworthy, Helpful and Understanding

    Posted by Liz, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Guttman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Bruce and his partner Robin are wonderful attorneys for any kind of family court matter. My ex tried to take my daughter from me and their help was what made the difference in this case. First I want to say that Bruce showed great care, compassion and respect to my daughter and myself during this most trying time. He clearly put the needs of my child over everyone else. Bruce and Robin were always understanding even when I was clearly nervous about this case. They remained calm, helpful and even added the necessary humor at times to help keep my spirits up when things were challenging.
    But as nice as they were to me they are most tough to the opposition. Robin is a great writer, her motions were right on the money, cutting when needed and most forceful as well. Bruce has great presence in court, so much so that my ex-'s attorney could barely speak. It was wonderful to know that he managed to intimidate her just by showing up!
    Most importantly, they know the law. They know what they can do and cannot do. They are considerate when it comes to billing. Even though it's been taxing on our resources, Bruce knows this and has been very understanding and helpful. I'm only sorry that I didn't hire them sooner.
    If you want to be treated with respect, sleep well at night and know that you are in the best care possible, hire Bruce and Robin.