Stephen A Somerstein’s Reviews

Stephen A Somerstein

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very knowledgable and supportive attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After finding myself falsely arrested and facing criminal charges which could have not only destroyed my career but also cause me big immigration problems, Sommerstein provided legal advice and representation which resulted in the best possible outcome. With fair rates and years of experience, I am grateful for his assistance in sorting out a horrible nightmare situation.

  2. Great lawyer

    Posted by Jackie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am so happy to have had Mr. Somerstein as my lawyer. I had never been in any trouble with the law before and he helped me feel very calm and helped me to understand what would happen. He was able to get the best outcome for my case. He also promised to always be my lawyer and I could call him for any questions or concerns in the future. He actually cared to get to know me and is a very sweet person who is also extremely knowledgable. You can't go wrong with hiring him!

  3. A successful defense against a drug related charge

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    my situation was hardly the case of the century, but to me it was a very serious situation that could have affected the rest of my life if left unattended. Steve treated me very respectfully, and got the most desirable outcome possible. Steve also educated me on what to do if I ever found myself in another situation involving law enforcement. When you have to go to court or deal with the legal system you want a lawyer who knows what they are doing. He was very thorough, and I would recommend him to anyone facing a drug related charge.

  4. trustworthy lawyer

    Posted by bev, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney somerstein was handling a criminal case for our son and handled everything very professional and efficeintly. he answered the phone calls or immediately called me back with in a day. he handled the court part as I would expect a good lawyer would explaining everything as we went along. he offered support and worthy advice as needed. I would highly reccommend him and his staff!

  5. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.

    A family member had gotten arrested the night before a major family celebration. Steve went into action, steadfastly working through the night, and got everything resolved. Thanks to Steve's diligence our family member walked away clean and we able to have our celebration as planned.

    His legal skills aside, there is an added bonus; he' s a pleasant person and a nice guy to deal with.

    Anthony

  6. Review Stephen A Somerstein

    Posted by Rhonda, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used Stephen A Somerstein on several occasions. My family has known Steve for over ten years. When we needed him, he responded quickly and effeciently. He was so personalble with all our family and became someone we could trust. We were in close association with him for over seven months and the end result was
    victorious. I would recommend this lawyer to a good friend or family member.

  7. Excellent Trial Lawyer

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve represented me on breach of contract matter regarding a building I wanted to buy. He was superb in court. Knew his stuff and the judge knew he knew his stuff. He also kept me calm throughout. I've thanked my friend who put me in touch with him a thousand times.

  8. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by mjm, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Stephen Sommerstein & his staff offered consistent integrity, expertise, efficiency and kindness. He and his staff exemplified legal expertise and conscientiousness. I will always be grateful for their legal assistance. I consulted Stephen and received very helpful advice at an acute and critical time in my divorce. Because of his responsiveness at this time, I ultimately had him execute the closing of our multi-million dollar house w/ the agreement of my ex-spouse!

  9. Great Attorney

    Posted by Andy, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After years of using attorneys, finally I found the right one in Stephen Somerstein. He is extremely professional, he returns calls immediately and is responsive to all my needs. I can't say enough about him other than I would and do refer all my friends and colleagues to him, as I have great trust in his abilities and talent... and most of all, he brings positive results.

  10. Helped us get settlement in home improvement case

    Posted by a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Somerstein.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen was recommended by a neighbor in Park Slope after our home renovation project turned into a disaster.

    We had already spoken to two specialist construction attorneys who told us our chances of getting any settlement were low, but Stephen was willing to take the case and keep his costs to a minimum. He also brought in a respected architect as an expert witness which helped add credibility to our claims.

    The pressure Stephen put on the project architect and contractor brought them to mediation where Stephen supported us and helped us negotiate a settlement that enabled us to redo the incorrect work and finally finish our home and get on with our lives.

    We trusted Stephen with our financial future and without his help we would not have received such a fair settlement.