Keith Scott Orenstein’s Reviews

Keith Scott Orenstein

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. Orenstein has earned my highest respect....am in total awe of his qualities as a Lawyer and Human Being.

    Posted by Margrit Ramme, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    "In what would have been a typical ”he says - she says” situation, Mr. Orenstein was able to expose the truth to the Court through flawless cross-examination. Mr. Orenstein was outstanding, so intelligent and unpredictable that my opponent could not help but entangle himself in his own net of lies, casting doubt on his credibility. Mr. Orenstein’s vast experience was evident in his acute attention to detail during the procedures; nothing escaped him - causing a decision in our favor. I am forever grateful for the way he devoted himself to my case. Having a calm, completely competent lawyer on your side, especially when under emotional duress, is priceless.

  2. Outstanding and professional

    Posted by M.B., a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Child Custody matter.

    I believe that people often come into each other’s lives at certain critical moments. Sometimes, they can even serve as angels. Keith Orenstein was that sort of impactful person for me. Without going into the specifics of the case, I was in a very difficult situation trying to get a child removed from the custody of her legal guardian. The case was a difficult one, and at times, even I feared we would not prevail. Every attorney from whom I sought advice only confirmed my fear. Four attorneys refused to take my case, stating I had nearly no chance to win and the case was too complicated. One day, while at my wit’s end, I made an online search on avvo. Upon my search, I discovered Mr. Orenstein. He received excellent reviews from former clients and had been well practiced in the area of family law. When I called him to schedule a consultation, the conversation exceeded my expectations. He was positive, assertive and eager to assume the challenge of helping me obtain the rights to this child (who I call my daughter). "I love a challenge," he said and meant every word. The case eventually lasted over one year and took its toll. However, Mr. Orenstein was always steadfast in his belief that justice would prevail. He was attentive, responsive and knowledgeable in his handling of my case. His tenacity and will to win are two of the reasons why I was able to bring my daughter home. We are forever indebted to him and would recommend him with tremendous zeal and absent any reservation.

  3. A Competent Lawyer who actually takes Pride in his work

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Keith to represent me in a divorce dispute several years ago and despite the unpredictability of the case and difficulty of the situation, Keith's caring, knowledge and plodding and practical approach made this case bearable. He is a gentleman's lawyer and will not stoop to tricks to make a case move. The integrity is lovely.

  4. A COMPETENT LAWYER

    Posted by Andrea Bartoli, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Family matter.

    The difficulty of preparing a good prenup agreement can be stressful. But Keith Scott Orenstein was the best answer to all of my legal needs. If you want a COMPETENT lawyer working for you on your side, then you hire Mr. Orenstein. He was extremely skillful and brilliant while listening to all my needs and preparing the requested documents. He’s a great Lawyer, and I would truly recommend him to anyone I know.

  5. Bad Experience

    Posted by Toree, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired this attorney to represent me with my Manhattan apartment. I feel he could have done a much better job explaining my options to me.

    1. Keith Scott Orenstein

      Keith Orenstein

      Lawyer Comment:

      Proving, once again, that no good deed goes unpunished, I agreed to represent this client pro bono because of her dire financial circumstances. After spending many hours working on her case, I was ultimately able to negotiate a settlement with the other attorney, which she accepted. Her review, written several years after the case was settled, is totally unwarranted. It does not reflect what actually happened in her case or, more generally, how I practice law or treat my clients.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  6. Extremely impressed

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Keith Orenstein impressed me from our first meeting with his outstanding expertise and kindness -a rare combination. Throughout some very contentious matters, he has been a supportive, encouraging advisor, a ferocious advocate and a top of the line expert. In addition, he has a great sense of humor!

  7. Dealing with divorce for the 1st time

    Posted by George, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was reffered to Keith over a year ago for a first time divorce. Keith was able to put me at ease and explain everything that I would be dealing with such as time frames and expenses that I would be responsible for. Keith is a true professional that tells it like it is and one of the most responsive individuals I have ever dealt with.

  8. I highly recommend Keith Orenstein.

    Posted by Paul, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Keith Orenstein has been my lawyer for over ten years and I have known him for nearly twice as long. Keith is honest, fierce, intelligent and meticulous to a fault. There is a reason he is one of the best attorneys in New York City. I highly recommend Keith to anyone who needs a family law attorney who is competent, compassionate, diligent and thorough. He gets things done right and on time.

  9. Thorough and reassuring

    Posted by Barbara, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had an unusual situation and before Keith took the case he offered to do some research to determine my chances of a positive outcome given the time and potential costs involved. When he felt he could succeed he laid out the details and options in a clear way so that I was able to make the determination to proceed. He acted swiftly and always kept me up to date. He was also easy to reach or returned calls in a timely manner. He was fair, honest and caring in his dealings with me. I would certainly recommend his services.

  10. Noble lawyer

    Posted by Nicole, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Orenstein.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I interviewed many lawyers and firms prior to making my decision on whom to retain for my marriage annulment in NYC. I was delighted by the outcome of my annulment and subsequently hired Keith for separate legal matters ie, Business contracts, trademark applications etc. Although Keith specializes in family law today, he is a brilliant lawyer in all types of law. Keith is dedicated, honest and extremely thorough. He has helped me with a few legal matters over the past year and I have been 100% satisfied with the outcomes of each case. I recall Keith once telling me early on, that he became a lawyer back when the profession was a noble one. Keith always chooses the moral higher ground and I could not possibly recommend an attorney more highly.

Please feel free to call if you need help with your family law matter.

212-754-6300