Manuel Portela Jr.’s Reviews

Manuel Portela Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Attorney

    Posted by francisco, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel 1-6 months ago.
    • Manuel handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had a Criminal case with Mr. Portela and this attorney save my life cleaning and drop off the charges and gave me only a disorder conduct
    now i am not affray about Imm. Consequence

  2. Exelent

    Posted by Liza,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.

    The Attorney Manuel Portela resolved my criminal court case. My
    Assault charges was dismissed right after he placed me in front of the judge.
    He was very straight forward with the D.A. I truely recommend this lawyer.

  3. Very Trustworthy

    Posted by Vicentinia, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel 1-6 months ago.
    • Manuel handled my Business matter.

    I'm a business owner because Mr Portela has
    helped me tremendously by keeping the door of my business open . He saved my lease and prevented me from being evicted. I can deeply recommend this lawyer to the business owner of the community.

  4. best Lawyer in New York

    Posted by Michael, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Manuel Portela is highly competent, he took our case and won when other lawyers would not; his staff
    Especially Betsy is a pleasure to work with always keeping us about the situation.
    I recommend Manuel Porela without any hesitation

    Michael Bayan
    PcMac Express

  5. Experienced & Knowledgeable

    Posted by Y Lung, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We are extremely pleased with Mr. Portela and his team of attorneys. They are highly responsive, trustworthy and knowledgeable. We hired Mr. Portela based on his 20 years of experience. He has pretty much seen and handled all types of cases. Before accepting my case, I asked how confident he was in regards to a forfeiture case. He said that he was "very confident". Mr. Portela did not disappoint. He worked meticulously on the case and produced very favorable results. It could not have gone better.

  6. Portela Law Firm - Recommended!

    Posted by Michael, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Manuel Portela, Jr. handled the closing of my NYC co-op several years back. He was very professional, courteous, knowledgeable, trustworthy, and kept me abreast of everything throughout the process. He made closing day a breeze and made things easier for me, at a very reasonable cost as well. I would unhesitatingly use him again in the future, if the need arises. And I would strongly recommend him to new and prospective clients. A+!

  7. Reliable Attorney

    Posted by Samuel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.

    Mr. Portela is focused not only on the legal aspect of a case but is also sensitive to the special circumstances his clients find themselves. He is careful not to impose excessive and negative stress, and at the same time, in a delicate way makes all the necessary inquiries and gathers all the useful information that can be used in the case, Mr. Portela is also a good listener and does not miss the slightest remark that can be used, developed, and later incorporated into the general defense strategy. Most important of all is the outstanding results achieved by his tactics.

  8. Knowledgeable

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney is verse in the area of law that he was asked to look into on my behalf. Carefully discussed all options with me and took the necessary steps that would work in my benefit.

  9. The Best. hands down #1!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thanks for all you did for me. A-1 lawyer, and stand up guy...Tells it as it is, till this day If anyone and I meen anyone asks for a referral he is the only name that comes out of my mouth. I have his numbers saved by heart. A lawyer not only who know the system so well but a caring and compassionate one too. Thank You Manuel P. again.

  10. This Man is G R E A T !

    Posted by Stuart, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Portela.
    • I hired Manuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Possibly a bad situation getting worse, Mr.Portela was smart enough to take charge and take us down a road we never thought of going. The whole experience was positive, including the OUTCOME. Don't even think twice about using him. He's wonderful!