John J. Carney’s Reviews

John J. Carney

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exceptional lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John < 1 month ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr.Carney took care of my case with little to no effort. I was charged with a 2nd degree felony for burglary on a Friday, spoke with Mr.Carney Sunday and on Tuesday morning with his work was brought down to a misdemeanor and two days community service. I recommend him to anyone with no time to spare. Thank you for all your assistance.

  2. Everything I could want in a lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.

    A few months ago I was arrested for three misdemeanors and the incident seriously jeopardized my career. Thankfully I found John Carney through this site. John got all the charges dismissed and sealed (the best result possible) and did so at a fraction of the cost that other lawyers offered. I literally could not have asked for a better result and a more responsive attorney. I highly recommend anyone in need of a criminal defense attorney to chose John Carney.

  3. Extremely helpful and results orientated

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    John Carney is a fantastic lawyer. Very straight forward, to the point and most importantly gets results. He had my case dismissed and sealed at the desk appearance. He understands that no one wants to find themselves in a legal predicament and does everything to help you through it. He always answered my calls and questions promptly, even after the case. I highly recommend John!

  4. What a relief.

    Posted by JohnD, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Carney and his team of lawyers helped me get misdemeanor possession of marijuana charges acd'd and sealed in the same day. I was literally in and out of the court room in 15 minutes. Excellent people, excellent results.

  5. John Carney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.

    John is a great lawyer. He was my lawyer for a case which started at the end of summer and was settled recently. He was able to get my case dismissed and did not require any community service or probation period. He was available at any time and answered all my questions. Very smart man and would highly recommend if you want your case to be taken care of.

  6. John is a true skilled professional. A fantastic lawyer who took care of all of my legal problems.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    John is a true professional and was a godsend for me and my family personally. He resolved truly all of my legal concerns (minor arrest but a conviction would have ruined my career completely) and was available to me anytime throughout the process. He is a very skilled lawyer with years of experience and connections and New York know how. I highly recommend him to all! Thanks again John!

  7. NYC Client - Criminal Case for Medical Professional

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I have to say that I was extremely impressed with Mr. Carney. This was a very important case for me because it placed my entire early career on a plank. Firstly, John was able to leverage his professional reputation and network to sway the criminal case in my favor. Furthermore, not only did he get me off the case, but he got me off with no record or community service. Secondly, I was applying to graduate school all of whom conduct background checks and the soonest this case would normally close would be six months, but he was able to close it in 5 weeks so that it does not come up on my application. Superb. I cannot thank him enough for saving my career and saving me tons of stress.

  8. Great attorney

    Posted by Maria, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Wonderful lawyer, recommended to us by a very good friend. He took my boyfriend's DUI case. Mr. Carney was very responsive, he took our calls at any time of the day. He always kept us up-to-date with the events, clearly explaining all the details. We trusted him and he won the case. I highly recommend him to anyone who wants his/her case carefully taken care of.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Patrick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Carney is available to take my call and answer my questions at all hours of the day. His answers are clear and concise and he explained to me exactly what was going to happen.

  10. John is the best!

    Posted by Nicole, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I called John the morning of my court date and he met me at court an hour later. He took care of my case, understood exactly what I needed and achieved the best results possible! I don't know where I would be if I hadn't made that phone call.

917-696-2363