John J. Carney’s Reviews

John J. Carney

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Came through when needed the most

    Posted by Anthony, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very professional and worked with me during the handeling of my daughter's case. If needed would work with him again, but I hope that is not the case, at least not in my last endeavor. He was very through, compassionate and understanding. Results were better than expected. Thank you John, you gave me relief and helped my daughter get her life back on track

  2. John J Carney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We needed a lawyer fast, so we looked online and chose Mr. Carney. Mr. Carney is anything but your conventional lawyer, in fact we started getting worried because of all the promises he was making. Needless to say with some delay, he did get everything that we were promised done.
    If you need a dependable lawyer who knows his stuff Mr. Carney is a great choice.

  3. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Islam, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John carney is vey talented attorney. He is professional and trustworthy lawyer. I hired him and I won the case. He had dismissed my case without trial. I worked with couple of lawyers before I hired him. John never push me or force me for paying extra dollar. He charged me flat rate and it was very less than other lawers. I highly recommended tho lawyer if some one face at criminal charge....

  4. John J. Carney is genius attorney in NYC

    Posted by mohammad, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    i was looking for a good lawyer about 6 months ago and i found him on AVVO website. i saw reviews and i called him after midnight and i spoke to him. i hired him for my several cases ..criminal and family court case .he is still handling my cases .Last week he had dismissed my family court trial case.i wish he will dismissed my pending criminal case too.Mr. Carney is very talent and highly experienced lawyer in NYC area. i recommend this lawyer...

    Thanks a lot Carney Sir...

  5. Unprofessional. Avoid!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS. I had a horrible experience with John Carney after I hired him in May 2014. He is rude and unprofessional, often rambling on about unrelated offensive topics despite repeatedly asking him to stay focused on my case. When I finally did get some legal advice out of him, it was bad advice. He showed that he was unfamiliar with the facts and status of my case. When I hired a different attorney (who, within minutes, was able to learn about my case, talk to the DA, and recommend a positive outcome that Carney had never even mentioned), Carney bad-mouthed him to me and told me I'm crazy and dumb.

    He quoted a flat fee for my case and then (successfully) tried to shake me down for more, by harassing my father despite numerous requests to stop. He charged my father's credit card after being told explicitly that charge was unauthorized, and without ever sending an hourly/itemized bill. He spent more time and effort convincing the credit card company to reverse the chargeback than he ever did on my case.

    1. John J. Carney

      John J. Carney

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review is totally false and will be taken down soon This just shows that these reviews are actual reviews and that people will say anything when they are upset or disappointed or when they want money returned even though it is not due to them. No lawyer would charge a credit card without authorization and in the paperwork foe the credit card company his father admitted that he authorized the payment. They claimed that I performed no services but I sent proof that positively showed that y lawyers went to court and he received a complete explanation of all the hours of work that were performed. That is why the credit card company denied the chargeback. I even gave him a refund of a part if the fee but he insisted in getting all of the fee returned and that was why he lied to try to get back his money and is now vindictively trying to lie and hurt my reputation. I have represented over 25,000 clients on 31 years and this is the first and only unhappy client and bad review.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  6. Saved me from having a warrant and jail time

    Posted by George, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Carney is not only the best attorney I've ever known, but also provided the highest level of customer service of any business I've ever dealt with. He was patient and explained everything, took the time to understand me and my situation. He called me within minutes of my inquiry in the evening and I was immediately confident I had the best. He got my marijuana possession case dismissed in one day, and his fees were much less than his competition. Thanks to him and his team for making sure I stayed out of jail and avoided thousands of dollars in fines and travel expenses. I highly recommend him. Thank you Mr. Carney for saving me from all the problems that I could have been stuck with.

  7. Exceptional lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr.Carney took care of my case with little to no effort. I was charged with a 2nd degree felony for burglary on a Friday, spoke with Mr.Carney Sunday and on Tuesday morning with his work was brought down to a misdemeanor and two days community service. I recommend him to anyone with no time to spare. Thank you for all your assistance.

  8. Everything I could want in a lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.

    A few months ago I was arrested for three misdemeanors and the incident seriously jeopardized my career. Thankfully I found John Carney through this site. John got all the charges dismissed and sealed (the best result possible) and did so at a fraction of the cost that other lawyers offered. I literally could not have asked for a better result and a more responsive attorney. I highly recommend anyone in need of a criminal defense attorney to chose John Carney.

  9. Extremely helpful and results orientated

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    John Carney is a fantastic lawyer. Very straight forward, to the point and most importantly gets results. He had my case dismissed and sealed at the desk appearance. He understands that no one wants to find themselves in a legal predicament and does everything to help you through it. He always answered my calls and questions promptly, even after the case. I highly recommend John!

  10. What a relief.

    Posted by JohnD, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Carney.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Carney and his team of lawyers helped me get misdemeanor possession of marijuana charges acd'd and sealed in the same day. I was literally in and out of the court room in 15 minutes. Excellent people, excellent results.

917-696-2363