Evan N Pickus’s Reviews

Evan N Pickus

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Good Advice & Strong Follow Thru by Office Staff

    Posted by Bob, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.

    In helping my parents sell their home we ran into some very unusual situations requiring Evan's staff, particularly Real Estate Paralegal Nicole Mobilio-Blatt and Associate Attorney Heather Aronson, to stay involved well past the closing date. I really appreciated their willingness to help me and my parents to resolve those final loose ends. I was very glad to have their support!

  2. About our real estate purchase

    Posted by RAM, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.

    Both Evan and Heather were very helpful through out the process of home buying, significantly reducing part of the stress, meeting deadlines and so on that comes with a real estate purchase. Our sincere thanks to them for their help and advice!

  3. Wonderful Service !!

    Posted by Jerry, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.

    Evan and his professional staff handled the closing for me on my parents house. It was not an easy one as there were issues needing to be worked out before closing. Every time I had a question they were right there for me and sending information I needed to move forward. Anyone looking for professional quick service will be happy they chose Evan and his staff to get the job done the right way and at the right price!! Wish they could all be as good. Totally Pleased and will use again for any further transactions.

  4. Would not respond after a $5,000. retainer

    Posted by adam, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.

    After a retainer of 5K to handle a condemnation matter he initially would respond but suddenly refused to communicate either by phone or email. The matter was complicated and all he had to do was let us know that he could not deal with such a case. After many calls and many emails without any answer we retained new counsel. When the new attorney contacted him he turned over all of the documents he had received but gave no expalnation as to why we were ignored. It was not about money since he returned a portion of the retainer. I was always curious if a personal problem or lack of office help prevented him from handling our case. This was 4 years ago and I still have no clue as to what had occurred.

  5. Home Closing

    Posted by William, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.

    Evan and his team are extremely thorough and professional. They are there to answer any questions at all times. I would highly recommend him.

  6. There's no substitute for experience

    Posted by Brian, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had quite the experience, and I know this is a lengthly review, but if you're looking for a lawyer, it's worth reading, it could have been you.

    My fiancee and I had the worst possible case scenario for first time home buyers and Evan and his team saw us through it to the end. To no fault of Evan, we ran into every problem that could possibly exist when purchasing a home. I could swear everyone else involved wanted to not sell the home because they all caused problems, from the bank, to the seller, his attorney, his realtor, everyone.

    The home I tried to purchase ended up having a tenant which wasn't listed on the sale and should have been a red flag, but we were assured would be no problem (by his realtor)... it turned into an absolute disaster. The other attorney could not control his client, and the seller was manipulative and dishonest. The house ended up having pest issues by the time we did our walk through, and it was trashed. The seller continually jerked us around and tried to withhold (or more accurately, steal) money from us. He was unpleasant to say the least during the entire process and fought us on every small issue, while he tried to buy himself time to evict his tenant. We ended up suing him to get our money back and purchased another house. That's the short version. Nightmare scenario.

    Here's where Evan comes in: he fought by our side, tooth and nail, through the entire ordeal. I only expected we purchase a house, and Even make some calls, sign some papers, and bam, we're done. I never foresaw all the problems that could have come up being a first time home buyer. I can't imagine the amount of time he put in going back and forth with the other lawyer, rewriting things into the contract, sending things back and forth, etc... and then still did all the proper work for the house that we actually did close on. Flat out amazing job.

    His entire staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and proficient. They all communicate professionally and timely. Every single person I worked with there impressed me, from Alex, to Nicole, to Heather, including Evan himself. I cannot stress this enough. I couldn't count the emails between Nicole and ourselves; sending documents, following up on questions, checking on dates and times, etc, she is very dedicated, intelligent, and is always on top of everything. Just remarkable.

    Overall, I'd say doing what is expected in perfect or everyday case scenarios is not what tells you what someone is worth.. doing what is right, and going above and far beyond when all hell breaks loose is. I will continue to rely on Evan for all my legal needs because if it is an ordinary situation, I know it will get taken care of properly, and if things really go south, I have an excellent professional in my corner who knows what he is doing and will see me through it. Throughout my entire nerve wrecking experience, I felt a lot less helpless knowing even though I had no idea what to do when each problem arose, Evan and his team were there to advise me and handle the situation properly.

  7. Simply the best

    Posted by Anthony, a Residential Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been a client of mister Pickus since 1988. Mr. Pickus has been very professional, kept me informed throughtout any legal issues we used him for, also returned any phone calls promptly. He has also guided me in the right direction if there was any legal information on legal issues he doesn't handle. He has handled my closings and refinances on my homes and handled drawing up my will. I would not use anyone else to handle my legal needs and highly recommend him.

  8. Real Estate Sale

    Posted by Leslie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan 1-3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Evan and his staff (Nicole in particular) were EXTREMELY helpful and knowledgeable!
    I was reassured with any doubt I had during the process of my closing that they were on top of it.
    Very efficient staff, never missing anything.
    I highly recommend this firm for a quick, painless & well taken care of real estate transaction.
    Very thorough!

  9. A great ally in a difficult situation

    Posted by Terri, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We used Evan for two closings. Our initial closing fell through at the last minute due to unforseen issues at the property and we then made an offer with a very short closing date on a second property. Evan and his staff were very effective in communicating with all parties in order to meet each deadline. They were available to answer all our questions and address every concern. Our thanks to everyone who helped us with this purchase!

  10. Good Lawyer, not so good staff

    Posted by Arun, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Evan Pickus.
    • I hired Evan more than 3 years ago.
    • Evan handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Evan himself is good at what he does, but can't say the same about his staff. We closed with him on our original loan for the first time and refinanced 3rd time with him. We would have seeked alternate service because of his staff, but each time came back to him thinking that he's a good lawyer. He really needs to have a talk with his staff.

    1. Evan N Pickus

      Evan N Pickus

      Lawyer Comment:

      It's unfortunate that this is the sole review that has been posted. While I appreciate the client's comments about my abilities, his comments regarding my staff are unwarranted. This particular client was dissatisfied because my paralegal refused to make an appointment to conduct his refinance at 7:00 pm. On a Friday. Our regular business hours are 9:00 am to 5:00, and while we do our best to accommodate our clients, I was not available at the time demanded. The client's response was "we've worked with your office before and decided to come back. You should accommodate this small request." My paralegal informed him that we would have to conduct the transaction during normal business hours, and the client responded "thanks for making me feel important as a client."

      What is truly unfortunate is that the client did not describe his issue at length, because my paralegal's work product and capacity was never in question. He was simply dissatisfied because she would not honor his request to close outside business hours.

      Posted about 4 years ago. Flag