Eric R Posmantier’s Reviews

Eric R Posmantier

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Representation

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.

    I would highly recommend Eric Posmantier as a lawyer if you are about to enter into the very stressful and painful world of divorce. Lawyers can generally have a bad reputation, especially divorce lawyers. However, my experience with Eric was completely opposite of what people say about divorce lawyers. Professionally Eric conducts himself with a high level of integrity and respect for the law.

    Throughout the divorce process, there are many decisions that have to be made. My experience with Eric was that he would detail the possible consequences of your decision. Reviewing the possible outcome and costs associated with it were always a huge consideration for Eric.

    Highly knowledgeable, compassionate, honest, trust worthy….these are all words that I would use to describe Eric. I consider myself very fortunate that I choose Eric as my lawyer to represent my interests in my divorce. Each day, Eric made a very hard time in life a bit more pleasant.

  2. Great value

    Posted by Thomas, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 1-6 months ago.
    • Eric handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Efficient with his time, a quicker study than he let's on at times.
    Great negotiator, personable enough.
    I know that Eric got me very great results, and kept me from enduring a much longer, and much more expensive Court ordeal.

  3. Highly Skilled and Knowledgeable Divorce Attorney With Heart

    Posted by a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Eric represented me in a post divorce matter regarding unpaid alimony due me. Needless to say, we were dealing with a very contentious, obstructive and acrimonious situation. I was looking for a highly skilled and strong divorce attorney with a collaborative style to work with me, on my behalf. Eric demonstrated that at the onset.

    From our first meeting and throughout the legal process, Eric provided me with options to consider and evaluate in order to make informed decisions. He is extremely knowledgeable, methodical, organized and resourceful in his approach without escalating the situation. I always felt confident and safe that my best interest was at hand. He was punctual and responsive to my calls and email – he's an excellent communicator with great follow-up!

    My experience has been that Eric genuinely cares about his clients. That came through to me by the way he conducted himself with integrity and professionalism and I was treated with compassion, respect and fairness. I highly recommend Eric!

  4. Divorce attorney you can absolutely trust

    Posted by Nikos, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 6-12 months ago.
    • Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Posmantier handled my case not only with the utmost professionalism, but also in a way that shows that his main concern is doing right by his clients. He explained my options clearly and calmly and acted both as my advocate and my advisor. During difficult moments in the process it became clear to me that he cares not for just the case, but for the person. He kept me fully informed at all times, and explained to me the rationale for both his tactical and strategic advice. He nevertheless made it clear that the decisions were, ultimately mine to make. He is very knowledgeable about both legal theory and case divorce law in Connecticut, but he was very forthright in suggesting when we should seek advice on esoteric tax matters from other experts. He was always very responsive and timely in answering my questions and concerns. Most importantly, he kept his focus on bringing the ordeal to an end, even when it would have been in his financial interest to let it drag on.

  5. ERIC POSMANTIER - an OUTSTANDING, DEDICATED LAWYER

    Posted by Kristine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was extremly fortunate to select Eric Posmantier as my divorce attorney.

    Eric represented me over the last 2+ years in an extremly complicated case involving 2 special needs children and many challenging custody issues. I was continually impressed with his extensive legal knowledge and outstanding litigation skills. He was meticulous in preparing for every meeting and court hearing. He worked tireless to achive the best possible outcome for every step of the way. Eric is an extremly compassionate individual and I was truely grateful for his understanding and warmth and his ability to skillfully handle the complexities of my case.

    I highly recommend Eric to anyone looking for an outstanding, knowlegable, incredibly effective and compassionate lawyer who is a true advocate for his client.

  6. Trustworthy and Pracital Lawyer with An Eye on the Children

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have worked with Eric for approximately 6 years now, dating back to the divorce and still ongoing today on numerous issues relating to alimony, child support and overall interactions with my ex-wife. Eric has been a constant source of guidance and has done an excellent job.

    One of Eric's principal strengths is that he provides sound practical advice without the goal of simply generating billable hours. Eric has continually given me advice as to when an issue was worth fighting for and conversely when pursuing an issue, while beneficial to him, would likely accomplish little and be costly. On many occasions Eric has suggested that if I desired, I could handle certain items on my own, with guidance from him. Having said that, Eric has been exceptionally engaged where I have needed expert and hands-on strategy and court participation. When called for, Eric can be surgically tactical and tough, but fair. Our record together on several court appearances is very strong.

    I think a differentiating quality of Eric is that he cares very much about the well being of the children. Whenever we discuss custody matters, Eric's first observation is the impact on the children. While divorce is obviously an unpleasant event, hopefully all parents want to accomplish it with as little impact to the children as possible. Even at the expense of a long drawn out custody fight, Eric cares very much about disrupting the children as little as possible.

    In short, Eric has been a fabulous attorney for me. He strikes the right balance of knowledge, tactical expertise and courtroom savvy with a concern for both the children and the pocketbook.

    I heartily recommend Eric.

  7. Best of Both Worlds

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 6-12 months ago.

    The divorce process is, at best, a difficult one - requiring making important descisions under duress and with time constraints. I can comfortably say choosing Eric was the single best decision I made once the divorce was under way. Obvious diserable traits in choosing your lawyer would be one that is technically competent, hard-working, proactive, and well-connected among judges. Eric brings all of these characteristics and more, but in my opinion brings something else that separates him from most other lawyers - compassion and strong knowledge with respect to family/spouse/children dynamics. At every step Eric gave sage counsel when emotions ran high and always had our childrens' interests first. Eric balanced legal and family counseling well, while at the same time focusing on keeping his costs down. While our prcoess is now complete, I still reach out to him for ongoing family advice - and I respect him as a lawyer and a family man.

  8. Recommending Eric Posmantier superior family law attorney

    Posted by Paul, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 6-12 months ago.
    • Eric handled my Family matter.

    Eric has represented me over the last 12 years. we originally met during a very complex divorce in early 2000. He's the most thorough attorney i've ever worked with including attorneys practicing in different areas of law. In my experience he was never out prepared. His greatest skill set came to the forefont during a challenging custody process where his steady hand and personality ultimately achieved the outcome we all worked hard for. His knowledge of children's issues are incomparable. Eric manages a case with a very practical and sensible approach. He's very cognizant of the costs associated with family law and genuinely tries to keep those costs to a very minimum. If you find yourself in need of a top family law attorney I would highly recommend Eric.

  9. Ruining Lawyers' Bad Reputation - He's a Pro and Gives a Damn

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am deeply grateful for Eric's service, hard work, legal knowledge, litigation skills, preparedness and passionate advocacy on my behalf. His forthright consultation and advice went beyond the scope of law and into the greater realm of facilitating effective human relationships and individual responsibility. He kept me from making my situation worse by acting out from a place of fear and hurt. The combination of these things and his assistance getting my prepared allowed me to walk into court confident that we were prepared and to walk from the trial knowing that we made our case to best of our ability.

    Eric was obsessive in his preparation, tireless in his effort, outstanding in his communication skills, creative in his advocacy and all this peaked in the court room, where he was a maestro. While he is a vociferous advocate of avoiding trial to resolve divorce based on his decades of practice and belief that going to trial will undermine any future relationship between the divorcing parties who may have to continue raising children, as my wife and I will, Eric shines on his feet in a court room.

    I went through two attorneys before hiring Eric and regret that I did not hire Eric from day one. He was worth every penny I paid him.

  10. Eric Posmantier is a brilliant, strategic, compassionate, effective attorney.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Posmantier.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I strongly recommend Eric Posmantier as a Family Law attorney (although I would and will hire him for any area in which he practices as needed) with the utmost integrity, intelligence, knowledge of the law, sharp instincts, ability to understand the complexities of a case and stay focused on what is most important. I put my trust and faith in him and he delivered on every level. He is strong and strategic and his balanced disposition keeps tensions from escalating and the process moving forward. His understanding and compassion went beyond the call of duty and I am forever grateful to him. Because of him, I received the best possible settlement in the shortest amount of time. Quite simply, I recommend hiring him without hesitation.

203-431-8720