Thomas E. McCabe’s Reviews

Thomas E. McCabe

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dont Trust Him!!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.

    He lies about everything, even the most inconsequential things. He may be suffering a nervous breakdown. Its impossible to know. He does not return phone calls. He makes promises he can not keep. He is a buffoon. Please, avoid this leech. Because he never responded or did what we hired him to do we lost our house and never even knew until it was too late.

  2. Stay away!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I wish I knew of what other people wrote. I'm sure I'm not the first to write this about a lawyer, but probably my own... He is horrible and have no idea how he sleeps at night. Missed court dates telling me he changed them then when I was gone after for failure to appear because of it he had said he fixed it and called. After three weeks of being hounded by bondsmen and police it turns out he never filed. Again after three weeks of saying he has. Then on top of that has the audacity to somehow blame it on me. Even though I have proof of him saying he filed and has it settled. I have lost a ton of money and respect from the court because of this . Again I have no idea how he can sleep doing what he does and damaging people in horrible situations. Another complaint is he is never there. Never calls and barely texts, not that text is even helpful in these high stakes and stressful situations. I'm actually surprised he only likes to text because I prefer calling but now I have proof of his lies and inconstancy . The sad thing is it seems I'm not the only one. I really don't get it. I'm actually surprised... Even if he's only thinking of himself why bother because it seems like he's not getting anywhere other than fired and hopefully disbarred'! Please do yourself a favor and stay far away no matter how helpful and nice he may seem in the beginning

  3. How do you spell DIS-BARRED?

    Posted by William, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired him. I fired him. He did not file motions as he promised. He did not return phone calls. He did not ever account for his time billing. He did not advise of court dates. He did not show up in court when required. He appears to have absolutely no integrity. He makes false claims of his affiliations. He was thrown out of his previous office because the other attorneys got tired of taking phone calls from irate clients. STAY AWAY

  4. Incompetent and Irresponsible

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The only reason Thomas Eugen McCabe is getting one star is because this Avvo system will not allow me to give him less. I hired Mr. MccCabe earlier this year in an Alimony and Child Abuse case. As appears to be his current trend, he made promises he never kept, he never advised of court dates, never filed a single motion, provided no documentation for his invoices, communicated through text message (how gnarly), and exhibited no concern for the welfare of a minor child who was an innocent by-stander in the whole ordeal. He was notifed that a minor child was being left home alone while her alcholic father left the country for a week and despite the URGENT pleas for swift action to prevent this from happening...he did nothing. Not a single phone call. Not a single email. When I informed him that these were Grieve-able offenses, he trembled for a moment, promised to refund fees, and then as in all cases prior, went back on his word and did nothing. It appears ealrier reviews (from over a year ago) were very positive but sonce then, we are all singing the same song. Please, for your own good, stay away from this attorney.

  5. Feeling betrayed

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Mccabe to represent me in my divorce and it was a huge mistake. He failed to inform me of court dates and therefore I was a " NoShow" and so was HE! What kind of lawyer doesn't tell his client of upcomming court dates? What kind of lawyer NEVER shows up himself? I am still trying to recover money I paid him, as he has not responded to me or my current attorneys requests! While he was working for me he failed to return calls or texts to keep me informed and I always felt like I was in the dark.

  6. Extremely unprofessional.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Thomas Eugene McCabe is a extremely unprofessional attorney.
    He represented me for a year in a divorce matter. He never returned calls or texts and rarely emails. He'd schedule times to meet on 3 seperate occasions and never showed up. He also lied and said he filed a very important document with the court that was never filed even though I paid him the filing fee.
    Attorney McCabe lacks morals and empathy.
    He is also refusing to give me my personal documents over a measly $200!
    Because of him I am still going through this nasty divorce. His only answer to me was he just wanted to drag it out. Attorney McCabe has no business in this line of work!

  7. Review

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I wish I had read the review posted by the client who was trying to help his girlfriend and had a bad experience with this attorney. Shockingly, much of the same is true in my case, with a few noteworthy exceptions. I am a divorced female who was seeking relief from my ex-husband's relentless violations and game playing. Attorney McCabe promised he was committed to bringing the cycle to an end. He was excessively responsive to me both via text and email. He filed several motions on my behalf, but they have been laden with errors and loop holes that have only enabled my ex to continue the post judgement run around (at a very high price that I cannot afford). Most recently, Attorney McCabe filed a motion to recover fees however, nearly a year since receiving his first payment from me (ultimately nearly $10,000.00 now) he has failed to provide a single account statement. This makes winning a motion to recover fees impossible - it does not take a lawyer to understand this. I have asked Attorney McCabe for nearly 5 months now to provide statements, but am met with one excuse after another including time constraints and lack of a professional billing system - claiming that to determine the expenses he would have to go back through all emails/correspondence, etc. since beginning the case. No billing system? He is obligated to provide an accounting of how his clients' funds are being used. He has failed to successfully bring the pending motion for fees in front of a judge for nearly two months now and explained to me today that he will need to re-write the motion as my ex's counsel advised him that the current one, as written will subject Attorney McCabe to be called as a witness. This after he assured me he was prepared for our initial March court date related to this motion with an affidavit of fees and account statements. He actually showed up that day without either an affidavit or a statement and, without my consent or even a discussion (failure to keep his client reasonably informed) changed course and asked the judge to order my ex to simply pay a flat rate retainer to Attorney McCabe. The motion was denied. Now, two months later and he tells me he has to re-write the motion, is not prepared to proceed and still cannot provide account statements with the same excuses - time constraints and lack of a billing system. He had no time constraints when he cashed my checks though. My advice - do not waste your time or money with Attorney McCabe - you will find yourself in a bottomless pit lined with excuses, unfulfilled promises and stall tactics.

  8. WARNING-STAY AWAY

    Posted by Steven, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.

    BEWARE! I went to him to help me with a volatile divorce/custody case between my girlfriend and her ex. He took my money and did nothing that he promised. During the period of his "services" he did not accept phone calls nor return phone calls for nearly three months as urgent emails and phone calls asking for response were ignored. His primary means of communication was almost exclusively through text messages. To my experience and in my opinion, his behavior is completely unprofessional and adolescent.
    Just a sampling of what I had to endure for three months after retaining Mr. Mccabe:
    - Despite urgent pleadings with him over the course of three months he did not file a single motion as he was directed.
    - He provided no accounting of time nor expense.
    - He provided no accounting of communications with opposing counsel.
    - He did not answer phone calls.
    - He did not return phone calls.
    - Despite numberous requests to schedule weekly status updates, no effort was ever made in this regard. He never scheduled a single status meeting and never provided requested details
    - He repeatedly made promises to take specific actions in a specific timeframe and did nothing that he promised.
    - MOST ALARMINGLY, he took absolutely no action when he was alerted to a situation where the health and safety of a minor child was at risk. This resulted in a 15 year old girl being left home without proper adult supervision for a week while her father went on a booze cruise with his girlfriend. His callous disregard for the mothers concerns in this situation caused actual physical symptioms in the childs mother .
    I have months of text messages verifying what i am saying. This is my opinion and reflects my accounting of the services, or more accurately, the lack of services provided by Mr. Mccabe.

  9. You matter. A capable attorney with a personal touch

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McCabe.

    I live out of state, but have known Atty McCabe a long time. Recently, my wife reached out to Atty McCabe about a legal situation we found ourselves in and she didn't know where to turn. Luckily a mutual friend put her in touch and Atty McCabe did a considerable amount of research, networking, etc, and put us in touch with a fellow attorney locally, but only after calling to interview the attorney himself. Even though Atty McCabe can not represent me due to locale, he has checked up on us and the case every few weeks and has offered any assistance he can lend.

    Technically, Tom McCabe has not represented me directly in a legal action, but I felt compelled to write a review. How many attorneys would research other attorney and specifics about cases- for FREE, counsel my wife and I, and although knowing he has put us in good hands, continued to follow the case for no other reason other than he cares? Any attorney you choose will technically be qualified, but not all will show that you matter and that they really care. When going through a very challenging and scary time of your life, wouldn't you like someone who is not only very intelligent and capable, but one that truly cares for you and takes a personal interest in you and your case? To you, the case could feel like it's your life. To attorneys, it's another job and one of dozens of cases they're probably working on. If you want someone who's not only qualified, but someone who will take a personal interest in you and add that "personal touch", I HIGHLY recommend you consider Attorney Tom McCabe. You won't be disappointed.

  10. Highly recommended

    Posted by Audra, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McCabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.

    Attorney McCabe has exceeded all my expectations. He is not only professional and extremely knowledgeable, he cares about his clients and their needs. I have never met an attorney like him. I guarantee he will not only get the job done but will go above and beyond in his job responsibilities. Highly recommended, the best I have worked with!