Thomas E. Mccabe’s Reviews

Thomas E. Mccabe

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Feeling betrayed

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Mccabe to represent me in my divorce and it was a huge mistake. He failed to inform me of court dates and therefore I was a " NoShow" and so was HE! What kind of lawyer doesn't tell his client of upcomming court dates? What kind of lawyer NEVER shows up himself? I am still trying to recover money I paid him, as he has not responded to me or my current attorneys requests! While he was working for me he failed to return calls or texts to keep me informed and I always felt like I was in the dark.

  2. Extremely unprofessional.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Thomas Eugene McCabe is a extremely unprofessional attorney.
    He represented me for a year in a divorce matter. He never returned calls or texts and rarely emails. He'd schedule times to meet on 3 seperate occasions and never showed up. He also lied and said he filed a very important document with the court that was never filed even though I paid him the filing fee.
    Attorney McCabe lacks morals and empathy.
    He is also refusing to give me my personal documents over a measly $200!
    Because of him I am still going through this nasty divorce. His only answer to me was he just wanted to drag it out. Attorney McCabe has no business in this line of work!

  3. Review

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I wish I had read the review posted by the client who was trying to help his girlfriend and had a bad experience with this attorney. Shockingly, much of the same is true in my case, with a few noteworthy exceptions. I am a divorced female who was seeking relief from my ex-husband's relentless violations and game playing. Attorney McCabe promised he was committed to bringing the cycle to an end. He was excessively responsive to me both via text and email. He filed several motions on my behalf, but they have been laden with errors and loop holes that have only enabled my ex to continue the post judgement run around (at a very high price that I cannot afford). Most recently, Attorney McCabe filed a motion to recover fees however, nearly a year since receiving his first payment from me (ultimately nearly $10,000.00 now) he has failed to provide a single account statement. This makes winning a motion to recover fees impossible - it does not take a lawyer to understand this. I have asked Attorney McCabe for nearly 5 months now to provide statements, but am met with one excuse after another including time constraints and lack of a professional billing system - claiming that to determine the expenses he would have to go back through all emails/correspondence, etc. since beginning the case. No billing system? He is obligated to provide an accounting of how his clients' funds are being used. He has failed to successfully bring the pending motion for fees in front of a judge for nearly two months now and explained to me today that he will need to re-write the motion as my ex's counsel advised him that the current one, as written will subject Attorney McCabe to be called as a witness. This after he assured me he was prepared for our initial March court date related to this motion with an affidavit of fees and account statements. He actually showed up that day without either an affidavit or a statement and, without my consent or even a discussion (failure to keep his client reasonably informed) changed course and asked the judge to order my ex to simply pay a flat rate retainer to Attorney McCabe. The motion was denied. Now, two months later and he tells me he has to re-write the motion, is not prepared to proceed and still cannot provide account statements with the same excuses - time constraints and lack of a billing system. He had no time constraints when he cashed my checks though. My advice - do not waste your time or money with Attorney McCabe - you will find yourself in a bottomless pit lined with excuses, unfulfilled promises and stall tactics.

  4. WARNING-STAY AWAY

    Posted by Steven, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.

    BEWARE! I went to him to help me with a volatile divorce/custody case between my girlfriend and her ex. He took my money and did nothing that he promised. During the period of his "services" he did not accept phone calls nor return phone calls for nearly three months as urgent emails and phone calls asking for response were ignored. His primary means of communication was almost exclusively through text messages. To my experience and in my opinion, his behavior is completely unprofessional and adolescent.
    Just a sampling of what I had to endure for three months after retaining Mr. Mccabe:
    - Despite urgent pleadings with him over the course of three months he did not file a single motion as he was directed.
    - He provided no accounting of time nor expense.
    - He provided no accounting of communications with opposing counsel.
    - He did not answer phone calls.
    - He did not return phone calls.
    - Despite numberous requests to schedule weekly status updates, no effort was ever made in this regard. He never scheduled a single status meeting and never provided requested details
    - He repeatedly made promises to take specific actions in a specific timeframe and did nothing that he promised.
    - MOST ALARMINGLY, he took absolutely no action when he was alerted to a situation where the health and safety of a minor child was at risk. This resulted in a 15 year old girl being left home without proper adult supervision for a week while her father went on a booze cruise with his girlfriend. His callous disregard for the mothers concerns in this situation caused actual physical symptioms in the childs mother .
    I have months of text messages verifying what i am saying. This is my opinion and reflects my accounting of the services, or more accurately, the lack of services provided by Mr. Mccabe.

  5. You matter. A capable attorney with a personal touch

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Mccabe.

    I live out of state, but have known Atty McCabe a long time. Recently, my wife reached out to Atty McCabe about a legal situation we found ourselves in and she didn't know where to turn. Luckily a mutual friend put her in touch and Atty McCabe did a considerable amount of research, networking, etc, and put us in touch with a fellow attorney locally, but only after calling to interview the attorney himself. Even though Atty McCabe can not represent me due to locale, he has checked up on us and the case every few weeks and has offered any assistance he can lend.

    Technically, Tom McCabe has not represented me directly in a legal action, but I felt compelled to write a review. How many attorneys would research other attorney and specifics about cases- for FREE, counsel my wife and I, and although knowing he has put us in good hands, continued to follow the case for no other reason other than he cares? Any attorney you choose will technically be qualified, but not all will show that you matter and that they really care. When going through a very challenging and scary time of your life, wouldn't you like someone who is not only very intelligent and capable, but one that truly cares for you and takes a personal interest in you and your case? To you, the case could feel like it's your life. To attorneys, it's another job and one of dozens of cases they're probably working on. If you want someone who's not only qualified, but someone who will take a personal interest in you and add that "personal touch", I HIGHLY recommend you consider Attorney Tom McCabe. You won't be disappointed.

  6. Highly recommended

    Posted by Audra, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.

    Attorney McCabe has exceeded all my expectations. He is not only professional and extremely knowledgeable, he cares about his clients and their needs. I have never met an attorney like him. I guarantee he will not only get the job done but will go above and beyond in his job responsibilities. Highly recommended, the best I have worked with!

  7. Security Deposit

    Posted by Kathy, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I desperately needed some legal advice about my security deposit and an ex landlord harassing us...after leaving my questions on AVVO this attorney Thomas E. Mccabe, replied immediately ..he also took the time to call us in our stressful time of need to reassure us that he'd take care of everything he was so friendly, funny, very polite, so professional so concerned with how we felt, was so quick to explain slowly and listened to every single word finally giving us the best results.Wish every attorney could learn a thing or two from Thomas he gets 1,000 GOLD stars!

    Thank You so much attorney Thomas!

    God bless You!
    -From the Perez family!

  8. I could not have found a better attorney!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Custody matter.

    Attorney McCabe is a highly intelligent attorney as well as an individual. I was looking for an attorney who was well educated, compassionate, but someone who was a shark in the court room. Attorney McCabe has all those qualities, but more important to me, is that he is a good human being. I know that he has my best interest in mind. I do not feel like just another source of income.

    He constantly sees a positive outlook in every situation that I have contacted him for. I am currently involved in a custody matter which limits me from going into details of how Attorney McCabe works, but I can tell you that I am not at a loss.

    Attorney McCabe responds quickly to emails, telephone calls and any other form of communication that was used. I have never felt that my concerns were too petty or r too insignificant for him to respond to. He has made this process much easier and less painful than the previous attorney had. I would recommend Attorney McCabe for any legal matter, but especially Family Law and Divorce.

  9. integrity, honesty, professionalism!

    Posted by R. Marks, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Business matter.

    Tom has been an asset both, personally, and professionally. Tom's legal advice has been essential in my future planning. He is well respected among his peers, and among community, widely known as a man of integrity, sobriety, morality, and many charitable causes! Yes I do recommend Tom McCabe! R. Marks

  10. I needed help with dealing with my mortage company and possible foreclosure

    Posted by Barb, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Mccabe.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was at a total loss and had no idea what I was going to do. I posted a question on Avvo and honestly figured it would lead to yet another dead end. Much to my surprise Atty. Mccabe not only answered that very day..... BUT he has been the best thing that has happened for me in years!!!! Atty. Mccabe answered all my questions, we spoke on the phone and via email several times and I was not charged for any of his time or advice. I have retained Atty. Mccabe to help me through this ordeal. I felt confident from the very first time I spoke with him. He is very knowledgeable, kind, and understanding. He answers every phone call and email on the day I send or call him. Atty Mccabe has worked with me on his fees!!! which is a big concern of mine as I had been out of work for nearly a year. The truth is I slept through the night for the first time in months after the very first time we talked, as he was so kind and reasured me that this situation can and will be resolved. I am happy I found Avvo and posted my question..... BUT
    Honestly and at the risk of sounding a bit dorkey I feel as though I have been sent an Angel from above! I would recomend Atty. Mccabe to everyone, he really cares, he is kind, funny, down to earth, and really wants to help. I have the utmost respect and trust in him and the work he is doing for me. I can't Thank him enough!

Contact Attorney McCabe to discuss and formulate a specific approach to your matter

203-377-4111