William Paul Burns Jr’s Reviews

William Paul Burns Jr

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. When Family MATTERS...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Bill Burns and his staff did an incredible job of advising and counselling me throughout my divorce process. While the circumstances for such an action could never be optimal, Bill and his team were supportive, responsive, collaborative, flexible and creative throughout the process. I would recommend Bartlett Burns LLC for any Husband or Father in their search for a solid and trustworthy family matters lawyer, especially if parental rights and the children's best interests are of paramount importance.

  2. Do not hire this attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.

    my brother hired him, and he didn't represent him in court properly. He was disrespectful and his representation inn court was less than desirable. I will never recommend this attorney to anyone. His claims that he is knowledgeable on men and father issues are false.

  3. Thank you Bill Burns

    Posted by chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.

    Bill and his staff were very professional and knowledgeable. He helped me with getting my son back after almost 60 days without seeing him. I found Bill very easy to talk to and he put everything into language that was easy to understand. He and his associates were very friendly and courteous. They all made a very tough time a whole lot easier for me. I felt from day one that I was in good hands, and that everything would be taken care of and I would get my son back.

  4. Fantastic Fathers Rights Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Bill Burns represented me in my divorce case. He was extremely knowledgeable and easy to work with. While being busy, as any worthwhile lawyer would be, he always managed to get back to me in a timely manner and treated me as if I was his most important client. He stated his objectives clearly and was honest about what my expectations should be. He was able to broker the exact deal I was hoping for even though I never thought it was possible. I couldn't be happier with the result. Despite the divorce being finalized, most importantly, the process taught me and my ex that our child comes first and we're able to move forward raising our child 'together' in separate residences. I strongly recommend consulting Bill Burns. Additionally, him team is awesome and easy to work with.

  5. Still Waiting for Attention

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    So far, I'm $10,000 into the firm and have yet to see any results or even any advocation on my behalf. It typically takes 3-5 emails to get an answer to a simple question, and they have no problem billing you to read and respond each time, though you don't get an answer. Basic discovery has taken months, and had to be driven by me. 99% of my case has been through email with a paralegal, and if you actually question how your case is going, they threaten to drop you as a client while sending emails filled with personal insults. Then you find that the promised made during the consultation may not be achievable.

    If you hire this firm, be prepared to be frustrated, be prepared to proactively drive your case, and be prepared to pay and pay and pay.

    With any lawyer, get a second and third opinion. I trusted Bill Burns and he has failed to earn that trust.

  6. Great Lawyer That You Can Trust

    Posted by Robert, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bill has been a great lawyer for our family. He has helped us with the adoption process and our wills and we know we can count on him on to be there for us. My wife and I are in the process of adopting a child; Bill has been instrumental in getting us through the piles of legal documents helping us to make sense of them and putting us more at ease. The adoption process is financially and emotionally stressful but knowing we have a great lawyer helps to lessen some of that stress. We have always found him professional, respectful and compassionate. I have and will continue to recommend Bill to anyone looking for a great lawyer.

  7. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by Tim,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Attorney Burns to anyone looking for an honest and trustworthy lawyer. He is willing to go the extra mile for his clients and fights for what is right. He is the only lawyer I will ever use.

  8. Excellent Family Attorney

    Posted by James, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Burns is a great asset to the legal community. While I was a client, Mr. Burns was extremely attentive to our needs and provided direct, accurate guidance in a very efficient manner. It was clear from the first time we met that his experience, not only as a lawyer but as a loving family man, made him the best candidate to represent our interests. Above that, Bill was able to explain the legal issues and long term implications of the decisions we made in a very straight forward manner - so that even I could understand them. Overall, working with Bill was a positive experience and I will definitely use his firm in the future.

  9. Help with a sticky situation

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A few years ago, I found myself in an unexpected and difficult legal situation. A situation that I, nor anyone I had known, had ever experienced before. I was completely unsure of what my rights were, where to go, what to do, or how to proceed. William Burns helped me through the process and was extremely professional. He guided me every step of the way and made sure that I understood the choices and legal jargon that were presented to me. He helped me find a swift and satisfying resolution.

  10. Wills/Adoption/Personal Attorney client

    Posted by Karen, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Burns.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Mr. William Burns as an attorney. He was excellent throughout our wills process ... very communicative and explained all our options every step of the way. He made what was a very important issue extremely easy by answering all our questions and concerns. We were so impressed with his service that he is now our personal attorney handling all our family matters including an adoption. We clearly value his experience as we've placed our most important matters in his extremely capable hands.

203-439-7717