Rachel M. Self’s Reviews

Rachel M. Self

Average Rating

Based on 39 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. "Professional and Dedicated"

    Posted by Joseph, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-6 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had an unfortunate event that happened which required legal representation. Attorney Self was the first individual to come to mind for several reasons. First, is her "Passion" for what she does. I find this characteristic the most compelling. In any field, people who display passion always do a better job. Second, is her calming ability. During that time, my family and I were very anxious. Attorney Self was able to provide comfort to us not false hopes. Her other attributes that I will highlight are wiithout question. Knowledge, experience, and professionalism.

  2. The most competent legal team

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-6 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    If you are a potential client of Attorney Self and you are reading these reviews, you will notice that all of her past clients make two observations. The first is to comment on her empathy. Attorney Self truly cares about the outcome of your case. Even the slightest detail about your case will not go unnoticed, because she is invested in the court's decision. This directly translates into a favorable outcome for you.
    These favorable outcomes also correlate with Attorney Self's protean fund of knowledge, which is the second attribute that all reviewers mention. No legal stone goes unturned. Highly relevant but totally arcane information is sometimes required to engineer positive decisions in a complex and intimidating legal system. Attorney Self and her team specialize in this brand of law, because they do it everyday, and no one is more grateful for that than me.
    It is certainly possible to spend more money on your legal defense. You will not be able to hire a more competent attorney. It is no surprise that Attorney Self has such a sterling reputation among her clients and in the legal community.

  3. Great Lawyer.

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-6 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Rachel was my lawyer recently for a restraining order hearing. She was so helpful through a very difficult time for me. She really seemed to listen to what I had to say and when we went before the judge she was extremely well prepared. Not only did she know the law, she was ready to do battle for me. She is amazing. I have no doubt that it is because of her everything turned out OK. I am so grateful to her. If you ever find yourself in the unfortunate situation of needing a lawyer, Rachel will fight for you and have your back. She is the best lawyer I ever had.

  4. Modern Day Perry Mason

    Posted by Dad & Mom, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 6-12 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rachael was our son's lawyer in a criminal defense case. She is the "best thing" that ever could have happened to our son. To say she is intelligent, compassionate ,knowledgeable and competent is simply not enough. She kept us informed every step along the way, which was very important to us as we were "virgins" when it came to the workings of the legal system. At times we were downright confused and could not understand why there were so many court appointments and delays,but she calmed our fears and addressed our concerns with her wisdom and insight and also her "wit" which was sometimes needed. We would wholeheartedly recommend Rachael as a lawyer, but more importantly as a compassionate, caring human being.

  5. The one who get the right results

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-6 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Not enough words to thank Rachel for her strong and in depth knowledge of the law. I will be forever in debt to her for helping me resolving my legal matters. Her guidance and planning to execute has total amazed me , Rachel’s support, answering my questions and just showing that she genuinely cares for me as a clients is awesome . She is a lawyer that simple got me the right results,
    The decision I made to obtain her services was one of the best decision I have made , I am very happy with the results .thanks

  6. Rachel Self: “Remarkable and Intelligent”

    Posted by Rigels, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Rachel’s capabilities go above your standard attorney. She is an extremely experienced, intelligent, and effective counselor, and I was proud to have selected her for my defense in a recent criminal case.
    At the beginning of my case, I panicked as I didn't know where to turn having been falsely accused of a crime I knew in my heart that I didn't commit, however, Rachel had the ability to ease some of my fears and always told me that all would be okay. There were many instances where the alleged plaintiff tried to rile things up and while the experience was frustrating, I knew that I shouldn't feed into the other person’s negativity.
    During the trial, there were many times where Rachel had to remind the judge how the laws worked. She was competent, steadfast, and held her ground throughout it all. Rachel defended me with wisdom, right gut instinct, and through everything, was always just overly positive about the outcome of my case.

    I can't think of a situation where I wouldn't be most comfortable with Attorney Self. I am so relieved that I selected Rachel as my attorney. If it had been any other way, I am not sure as to whether the outcome would have been the same. Ultimately, I was found Not Guilty on all charges, and I owe everything to Rachel… my life, my happiness, my freedom.
    You cannot go wrong by selecting Rachel Self as your legal representative. For me, she was worth her weight in gold.

  7. Most ideal attorney I could have ever found in Boston

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 6-12 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Rachel as highly competent as she is wise, effective, pleasant, persuasive, calm and collected. An example was when a city cop harassed me the day before our court day by repeatedly calling me several times in the span of fewer than 4 minutes - to a point where I was forced to turn off my phone. While I wasn't panicked, I was concerned that there was a warrant for me. Despite being in court for most of the day, she knew exactly what to do and it was a non-issue by the evening.

    I can't think of a situation where I wouldn't be most comfortable with Attorney Self, and am glad I landed in her office instead of another. She says she has a degree in economics, however I think she has one in psychology in addition to ec and law... on more than one occasion, my mind was read! There are not many people like this, but in my opinion, assume that whatever you're thinking is going across her mind too.

    The hearing ended with Rachel's last word, followed by the Judge throwing out my 10 day 258e.

    If your case fits her criminal defense and immigration areas, I would recommend emailing Rachel as soon as you can, and expect to hear from her within the day, even on weekends.

  8. Rachel Self

    Posted by Cinnamon, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    Rachel was available to us via text/phone call 24/7 for an entire year!!! She is detail oriented, organized, very knowledgeable and loves what she does! She made us feel confident & comfortable from the beginning throughout the year long green card process, her interest & optimism regarding our case never waning. I would recommend her services to any and all seeking help with the immigration process!!!

  9. Attorney Self... AMAZING!

    Posted by LIsa, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    I hire Attorney Self on a Good impulse; after finding her ad in local paper. In first interview I knew that I hit the jack pot. I had previously talk to other lawyers.They did not seem to grasp my case that was somewhat complicated. She did some researches even before I sign the contract. I eventually sign a contract last August. She told me that it would probably take time. Was very honest about the wait. Before I knew it, I had appointment with Biometrics two weeks later Interview to obtain Permanent Residency. I was scared to death about the interview. She actually made it pleasant. She came with me. got granted a green card right there.
    Miss Self is a competent and amazing human Being. She is king and is sincerely interest in your case. She change my life. What an Amazing Christmas Present. I will forever be in debt of her.

  10. Dismissing my immigration case.

    Posted by George, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    Rachel Self is an amazing lawyer. She is very determined and will fight until the end. My immigration case lasted about 2+ years and we beat the case recently. I felt very confident with Rachel as my lawyer throughout the whole process.

617-742-0191