Rachel M. Self’s Reviews

Rachel M. Self

Average Rating

Based on 34 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Rachel Self: “Remarkable and Intelligent”

    Posted by Rigels, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Rachel’s capabilities go above your standard attorney. She is an extremely experienced, intelligent, and effective counselor, and I was proud to have selected her for my defense in a recent criminal case.
    At the beginning of my case, I panicked as I didn't know where to turn having been falsely accused of a crime I knew in my heart that I didn't commit, however, Rachel had the ability to ease some of my fears and always told me that all would be okay. There were many instances where the alleged plaintiff tried to rile things up and while the experience was frustrating, I knew that I shouldn't feed into the other person’s negativity.
    During the trial, there were many times where Rachel had to remind the judge how the laws worked. She was competent, steadfast, and held her ground throughout it all. Rachel defended me with wisdom, right gut instinct, and through everything, was always just overly positive about the outcome of my case.

    I can't think of a situation where I wouldn't be most comfortable with Attorney Self. I am so relieved that I selected Rachel as my attorney. If it had been any other way, I am not sure as to whether the outcome would have been the same. Ultimately, I was found Not Guilty on all charges, and I owe everything to Rachel… my life, my happiness, my freedom.
    You cannot go wrong by selecting Rachel Self as your legal representative. For me, she was worth her weight in gold.

  2. Most ideal attorney I could have ever found in Boston

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-6 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Rachel as highly competent as she is wise, effective, pleasant, persuasive, calm and collected. An example was when a city cop harassed me the day before our court day by repeatedly calling me several times in the span of fewer than 4 minutes - to a point where I was forced to turn off my phone. While I wasn't panicked, I was concerned that there was a warrant for me. Despite being in court for most of the day, she knew exactly what to do and it was a non-issue by the evening.

    I can't think of a situation where I wouldn't be most comfortable with Attorney Self, and am glad I landed in her office instead of another. She says she has a degree in economics, however I think she has one in psychology in addition to ec and law... on more than one occasion, my mind was read! There are not many people like this, but in my opinion, assume that whatever you're thinking is going across her mind too.

    The hearing ended with Rachel's last word, followed by the Judge throwing out my 10 day 258e.

    If your case fits her criminal defense and immigration areas, I would recommend emailing Rachel as soon as you can, and expect to hear from her within the day, even on weekends.

  3. Rachel Self

    Posted by Cinnamon, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    Rachel was available to us via text/phone call 24/7 for an entire year!!! She is detail oriented, organized, very knowledgeable and loves what she does! She made us feel confident & comfortable from the beginning throughout the year long green card process, her interest & optimism regarding our case never waning. I would recommend her services to any and all seeking help with the immigration process!!!

  4. Attorney Self... AMAZING!

    Posted by LIsa, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 6-12 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    I hire Attorney Self on a Good impulse; after finding her ad in local paper. In first interview I knew that I hit the jack pot. I had previously talk to other lawyers.They did not seem to grasp my case that was somewhat complicated. She did some researches even before I sign the contract. I eventually sign a contract last August. She told me that it would probably take time. Was very honest about the wait. Before I knew it, I had appointment with Biometrics two weeks later Interview to obtain Permanent Residency. I was scared to death about the interview. She actually made it pleasant. She came with me. got granted a green card right there.
    Miss Self is a competent and amazing human Being. She is king and is sincerely interest in your case. She change my life. What an Amazing Christmas Present. I will forever be in debt of her.

  5. Dismissing my immigration case.

    Posted by George, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    Rachel Self is an amazing lawyer. She is very determined and will fight until the end. My immigration case lasted about 2+ years and we beat the case recently. I felt very confident with Rachel as my lawyer throughout the whole process.

  6. Hardworking and compassionate

    Posted by Annette,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.

    Rachel worked on a case for my husband, she always answered all our questions always called me back when I needed answers and felt that she was always there for us. The case involved immigration issues and she always gave me the good and the bad never sugar coated anything which I respected her for that. Hardworking in a way that she really looked into the laws and how it can work for us. I would recommend her to all my family and friends never disappointed.

  7. Immigration Representation

    Posted by Marco & Dave, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    Attorney Self was a referral from another law firm. From the initial contact she was nothing but professional with such positive attitude and energy towards our sensitive case. Rachel is not your typical attorney. She is very knowledgeable and generally seems to take a real interest in her clients. At our initial meeting she explained in layman terms the process and the time-line. She was accurated with both without any unpleasant surprises. We would highly recommend Rachel in cases similar to ours involving Immigration, without any hesitation.

  8. Made a Difficult Process Not So Daunting

    Posted by Danielle, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 6-12 months ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.

    Rachel did a fantastic job in helping us understand what our options were; she was direct and factual. She was very responsive to any questions or concerns we had and always got back to us in a timely manner. She really put us at ease during a very difficult process and made it as painless as possible for us. With so many options out there for immigration attorneys, there are few that match her combination of expertise, trustworthiness, and affability.

  9. She is the best!

    Posted by Lou, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I don't usually take part in these "review" forums, maybe because I just don't seem to ever receive what I would call "great service". People today seem to want to do just enough to get by. Well, there apparently is an exception to every rule, and Rachel Self is just that when it comes to attorneys! While ours was not the "biggest" case she'll ever take on, she made us feel as though it was the most important! She kept us informed every step of the way so that we knew what the possible outcomes could be. She was immediately available to answer any questions we had along the way and most importantly of all, she was prepared! Watching her in court, I got the feeling she was actually teaching the judge a few things about the law! During a time of considerable anxiety for our family, it was extremely comforting to know that Rachel was working for us! If you unfortunately find yourself in need of an attorney, I strongly suggest you call Rachel Self!!

  10. Expeditious, Honest and Trustworthy

    Posted by Brenda, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rachel Self.
    • I hired Rachel 1-3 years ago.
    • Rachel handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Self represented my mother on a criminal/immigration case from over 10 years ago. My mother had been represented by a previous lawyer who had collected $4000 and told her he could not do anything for her until immigration contacted her directly, in the meantime he held the $4000. for 5 years. After receiving a 2nd opinion from Attorney Self, she not only helped my mom collect back a portion of the money the lawyer had taken to "represent her" she gave us hope that my mothers case could possibly be dismissed based on the facts presented.
    Court date after court date, Attorney Self remained dynamic with her personality not only with us but also with the the process in the courts. She continued to show her proficiency about criminal/immigration laws at time even educating the DA and the acutal judge and always with a smile.
    Not being proficient in the english language and not knowing the complex laws could put fear in an individual and Attorney Self does a great job translating from english to spanish when needed, which is a plus!
    I can tell in the court room that Attorney Self presence is felt and she is respected by her peers.
    I highly recommend Attorney Rachel Self and have already referred a client.

617-742-0191