Danielle G. Van Ess’s Reviews

Danielle G. Van Ess

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A gifted attorney with a personal touch!

    Posted by Barbie, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle 1-3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Estate Planning matter.

    I think people avoid estate planning because it is a humble reminder of our mortality. When my husband and I finally got the courage to make an appointment to take care of the most important things in our lives, we had no idea what to expect. Danielle far exceeded our expectations. Her thorough knowledge of estate planning coupled with a genuine warmth and caring demeanor was the perfect combination for such an intimate task. We felt at ease as we worked through some of the more delicate questions and together we made informed decisions about our final wishes. I have such a sense of peace and well-being knowing that things are in place for the future. We are so grateful to Danielle and truly think of her as a life long friend.

  2. Taking care of business!

    Posted by Tricia Powers, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I refer clients to Danielle for real estate transactions. She is responsive at all hours and takes care of the client. She does high quality, customized work. I highly recommend hiring Danielle to take care of your estate planning and real estate needs!

  3. Watts-DeCastro

    Posted by Lydia and Michael, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Danielle made the entire process of estate planning so easy and comfortable. She is incredibly warm, accepting, knowledgable and helpful. What seemed so scary and hard was set out in easy to follow steps and even became FUN!

  4. Danielle Van Ess - Highly Recommend

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently went through an emotional personal legal issue, resulting from complications surrounding my deceased father's will. Danielle was incredibly helpful, giving me trustworthy advice based on her extensive experience. In addition to being knowledgeable, Danielle was tremendously compassionate, understanding that this situation was fraught with emotion and that I was upset, confused and unfamiliar with the complicated legal process. In contrast, I had to work with another attorney in my father's home state, who turned out to be the complete OPPOSITE of Danielle. His first questions were about how much money I had to cover his fees. The next words out of his mouth were about how I had to send a huge retainer up front before he'd even consider taking the case. He was clearly more interested in the money than he was in helping me through a tense, difficult situation. My conversations with him just spotlighted how unique and special Danielle is. It's rare, I think, to find a smart, savvy, experienced attorney who is also nice, personable and compassionate. I would enthusiastically recommend Danielle Van Ess.

  5. Estate Planning Made Easy!

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Danielle assisted us with our Estate Plan, which was long over-due. Danielle made the process quick, easy and painless! We truly appreciated all the tips and advice to help us choose guardians for our children. Since Danielle is a mom, she knows how hard it is to choose an appropriate guardian! Her advice really helped!
    Danielle was very accomodating in setting up conference calls and meeting places! I am so glad we found her! I would, and have already, reccomended her to friends!

  6. Estate Planning Made Easy!

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After years of putting it off, Danielle came to us like an angel and made planning our estate EASY! A few forms to give the information needed and every question we had answered, and it was practically done! Danielle eduated us about aspects we did not know about...which helped us make better descisions.
    I am so relieved that we now know we have a solid estate plan, especially guardianship for our kids!! Thank you!

  7. Laura Donnelly

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have never come upon an attorney who is as approachable, responsive, client-focused, thorough and thoughtful as Ms. Van Ess. She explicitly explained all of her work to us and ensured our understanding of every action she took and every document she executed. I highly recommend her.

  8. Residential Real Estate

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We needed a lawyer to represent us in the sale of our house in a for-sale-by-owner situation. As a homeowner that had no experience with real estate transfers, we depended heavily on her legal knowledge as well as her leadership and follow-through leading up to the closing. We credit her representation for being the reason the sale went smoothly and our main relief in the stressful process of selling our home.

  9. Estate planning

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Danielle Van Ess.
    • I hired Danielle more than 3 years ago.
    • Danielle handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Danielle is very knowledgeable & professional. She worked with us to set up our family's will documents to appropriately provide for our childrens' care. She met with us at times & places convenient to us & got back to us on every question we had. She researched & explained clearly the issues in our estate plan. I recommend her for your family's estate planning needs.