Gary S Avratin’s Reviews

Gary S Avratin

Average Rating

Based on 34 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. More than Just a Great Attorney!

    Posted by Jason, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.
    • Gary handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met with Gary one morning before work. I did some research prior to setting up an appointment and wanted someone that I thought would listen to my situation. Gary not only was extremely accommodating through the course of our discussion he gave me some really good resources and said to me "you are not ready for a divorce". With his resources I was able to work on piecing my marriage back together. I never had an attorney talk in such a straight forward manner. I believe Gary really cares. We explored many options and at the end of our visit I realized this guy was interested in the human element too. I never got the divorce, but stay in touch with Gary. I would highly recommend him.

  2. Highly Recommended - The Best

    Posted by John, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Gary was recommended to me by an attorney who opposed him. That attorney told me that Gary was the only one he would recommend to me. And his recommendation was spot on. Gary took the largest case file most lawyers have ever seen, 8 open complaints with multiple partial judgments over a 6 year period, multiple aspects of legal and physical custody, finance, police reports, GAL reports, depositions, parent coordinator, psychologists, and split siblings. Gary, in only a few months, pulled together the entire case, organized it, applied a winning strategy, and executed the strategy and plan. Six years of open issues were solved in only a few months start to finish (3-day trial). Gary and his paralegal, Helene, are an amazing, organized, knowledgeable team that I have not seen rivaled in this local industry of divorce law. My children and I are grateful to Gary for setting the standard that other attorneys should aspire to.

  3. Great Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Katie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was referred to Gary Avratin by someone who had experience with Attorney Avratin because his former wife was represented by Attorney Avratin in their divorce. If you are looking for a divorce attorney with intelligence and compassion, Attorney Gary Avratin fits the bill! During this emotionally draining time, Gary and his paralegal Helene LoConte were there for me at every step of the way. Gary and Helene have an amazing ability to work diligently and efficiently as a team. They had a sincere concern for my financial security. I am truly grateful for the special treatment and results that I have received from Attorney Gary Avratin and Helene LoConte.

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.

    What I can tell you for sure is that this is an honest and hard-working man. When I was at the lowest point in my life, other attorneys were trying to get into my wallet, Gary (a complete stranger) was a straight shooter for me and I appreciate him for it very much. Have confidence with this guy!

  5. Highly recommend

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am profoundly grateful to Gary for his help. Throughout the divorce process, he has been a considerate, kind and affective lawyer. I was not only impressed by his knowledge but also by his humanity. I would highly recommend his services to anyone.

  6. Thank you

    Posted by beckyrobinson435, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gary Avratin was recommended to me by a friend. I have since recommended him 3 times. The divorce process is not easy. The legal process is long and can be incredibly frustrating. I think, Gary was a great lawyer and advocate for me as I moved along in the process. He listened and responded to me in a timely manner. He wants to do the right thing for his clients. Helene was a constant professional adding her insights as needed along the way. They make a great team. I am not advocate of divorce but if you find yourself in that position……interview a few people and put Att. Gary Avratin on the top of that list.

  7. Gary Avratin is a miracle worker!

    Posted by Meemee, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gary Avratin is a miracle worker! I highly recommend him to anyone who is going through the difficult process of a divorce. In five months, Gary brought an end to my legal nightmare that had been dragging on for almost three years. When I came into Gary’s office in April 2012, I felt discouraged, frustrated, and exhausted by the ineffective performance of my previous attorney. Gary’s integrity and compassion were immediately evident to me as I shared with him my legal problems. He and his paralegal, Helene LoConte, listened, asked questions, and took notes throughout our meeting. Gary’s high energy and Helene’s calm composure created an amazing dynamic that was exhilarating and uplifting. I left the office feeling hopeful for the first time since filing for my divorce in 2009. Gary and Helene made me feel like an essential part of their team. I felt empowered and enlightened whenever I came into the law office to study bank statements, legal documents, and correspondence from my case. Gary and Helene sifted through and organized stacks of mixed up files from my previous attorney. It became apparent that crucial documents were missing. They promptly took the necessary steps to obtain the needed documents. Gary went beyond my expectations and extensively researched aspects of my case that had gone unnoticed by my previous attorney. After years of litigation, I was able to avoid the cost and stress of going to trial because Gary had done such an incredible job preparing my case. Gary discussed all aspects of the settlement with me in great detail before I signed the agreement. He wanted to be sure that everything that was important to me was included in the document . By securing my divorce in a timely manner, Gary Avratin accomplished all that I had hoped for. I couldn’t be happier!

  8. The Best family lawyer

    Posted by Jaime, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I can not say enough about Gary. He took on my case at the last minute and treated it as if he had been there from the get go. Gary treated myself and my family like we were his family not someone who had hired him. When things were getting bad, he pushed me through and said "we" can do this, meaning I wasnt in this alone. Gary and his assistant helene gave me the courage to keep going when i thought i couldn't. They let me cry when i needed and gave me all the compassion in the world. My fight for my family became their fight for my family. They made sure I understood everything that was going on and when I didnt understand, they took the time to explain it again. I always had a bunch of questions and I never felt like I was a bother to them for calling......again. Everynight before a court date,Gary would take time out of his personal day to call an reassure me that "we" were ready, and after hard days at court ,he would call and make sure that we were ok. I can not say enough about Gary, I would recommend him to everyone. I will be forever in his debt.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Jack, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gary Avartin has been our lawyer for over a year. During that time we have worked together very closely, jointly developing strategies and dealing with all the issues that come up with divorce cases. We have been before the court for many emergency motions, a full trial and contempt charges (against the other party) after the trial. I have sat in the courthouse many days for several hours awaiting our case to be called, and watched many other lawyers represent their clients. I state in an unqualified manner that there is no other lawyer I would want to have than Gary Avartin. He is a gem! He connects with his clients in a personal way and becomes part of the case.

    Throughout the entire process he kept us informed and educated us on the workings of the probate court, which can be very confusing and frustrating. Gary can be depended upon to do the right and ethical thing. He is very documentation and proof oriented. No detail is missed in “proving” his assertions. He is also relentless in finding information that can be used to defend or assert his position.

    When speaking to the court, Gary is compelling. He passionately presents his points and leaves nothing out. He is appropriately aggressive and defends his clients to highest standards. A close friend of mine has referred several others to Gary and without exception their opinions and experiences are the same.

    I recommend Gary fully and without hesitation would refer any personal friend or family member to Gary.

  10. What a mistake!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Avratin.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Wow - what a mistake hiring this guy was! I should have known from the beginning.

    He said he was at the office ready to go at 5am. However, he constantly never had documents ready, I had to race around (seemingly at the last minute) gathering all the information, and at court he just put in a bad, dismal performance. Showed no integrity at all, and even sided with the opposition's lawyer at times, which meant that he was not advocating for me.

    Argumentative, thinks he's right all the time, when it is obvious he most definitely is not.

    Completely unprofessional. Avoid him.