Philip J. Byers’s Reviews

Philip J. Byers

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exemplary!!

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Probate matter.

    I originally went to Attorney Byers for advice and representation on a probate matter. I was quite shaken up at the time and wasn’t sure there was even a case worth pursuing. He did an excellent job of putting my worries at ease and explaining all of my options. He took time to explain anything I didn’t understand. His compassion, advice and knowledge of the law were very impressive and the result he achieved for me was more than I ever expected. I have since used Attorney Byers for other legal matters and would highly recommend him.

  2. Top Notch Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Family matter.

    Attorney Byers represented me in a paternity matter and did an excellent job. He took time to explain the laws and what my rights were and was very patient with me during this difficult process. He is an extremely competent attorney and I personally feel he is the best family law attorney in the area and would highly recommend him to anyone seeking a paternity attorney.

  3. Excellent

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I cannot say enough good things about attorney Byers. He helped me and my family through a very difficult divorce case and we are forever grateful for his hard work and professionalism. His knowledge and experience shined in the court room and it was obvious how highly respected he is by the judges. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking a family law attorney.

  4. Horrible, Horrible, Horrible!!!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Child Support matter.

    He does nothing without first taking your money. I mentioned to Byers himself, of how unhappy I was with his results in my case, then he said, he would provide a service "at no cost". So I accepted what I thought was a nice gesture. But it was ultimately just a hustler's way of doing business, as he inevitably asked for more money..........WOW! How do we, as clients, know if a letter he, I mean, his office help, typed up takes 2 hours. Well we don't know, and he knows that to his advantage. He must have some really old people working for him.
    P.S...I only rate a 3 star above as He (his office help) kept me informed so as to charge more for his "Service." A "charge fee" is tacked on your bill for every move he makes. Tasks done on an average certainly do not amount to what has been indicated on my invoices.

  5. Terrible lawyer, in every aspect

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Byers represented me in my divorce case. He & his staff spoke about how influential and respected he was in the court system. I found the opposite to be true. The judge called him disingenuous when he wanted her to release money from the marital assets to pay his bill. All he & his staff cared about was getting paid. As a client, he did not communicate with me, nor did he seem interested in the issues pertaining to me or my children. He did some things that were unethical. I had to switch lawyers halfway through & was case went better from then on. If you care about your case, you will not hire him.

  6. I love this man. He is absolutely the best! I wish he could take care of all my legal needs.

    Posted by Dan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My girls were taken out of state by their mother. She said they were never coming back. I called around and spoke to other lawyers and they all kept saying how hard of a case this was going to be. And obviously concentrated on getting 5k to 10k retainer without giving me any hope what so ever. I spoke to Phil and he said to come on in so we can get the kids back to the Commonwealth ASAP. Phil said he would make her return and he did. She was in the process of getting a fraudulent restraining order against me in another state because I was not there to defend myself. Phil reached out to someone that is a member of a huge association he is a member of. The lawyer defended my position and served her the same day. The kids were back in Mass a few days later and we had our day in court! Needless to say it was a very good outcome. Living in a state that is notorious for favoring the mother, makes me feel lucky to have found Phil. I can't end this without mentioning Phil's staff. (Especially Valerie!) EVERYONE in the office is a joy to deal with. Bottom line is Phil gets results. Period.

    Side Note: After a while the ex and I started speaking on a somewhat civil manner. She told me that she had such a hard time getting a lawyer on such short notice. She said the lawyer she really wanted refused the case because she told him that Phil was my lawyer and he didn't want the case to affect his win loss ratio!

  7. Great result

    Posted by George, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Atty Byers did excellent work on 2 Modifications of Alimony, which I was paying $670.00 per week and I presently am not paying anything. I am a retired Atty.and this burden has been lifted. Phil was very efficent and always responsive to all calls etc.

  8. Divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Byers helped me through a very difficult divorce, while always keeping the best interest of my children in mind. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking a divorce.

  9. A good man, person and excellent attorney

    Posted by Niall, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Byers.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have know Atty. Philip Byers personally and professionally for many years. He handled my divorce proceedings in a most professional manner. During the preliminary proceedings, he had provided the opposing counsel with a separation agreement that was both reasonable and fair. The opposing counsel had not interest in any negotiations. The resulting judicial decision was virtually identical to his proposed settlement, after two years of delay and costly trial.
    I deeply respect his abilities and expertise in his area of concentration, Family law.