Shawn Patrick Hammond’s Reviews

Shawn Patrick Hammond

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I highly recommend Mr. Hammond

    Posted by Mark, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-6 months ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My 22-year-old son was driving a friend home from a party one night in the friend's car because the friend had too much to drink. The car had a broken taillight and was stopped by police. The friend had a small amount of marijuana on him and in the car so both he and my son were arrested and charged with misdemeanor marijuana possession. I contacted the law office of Mr. Shawn Hammond and was able to meet with Mr. Hammond and his associate Mr. Schluter the following day. After I explained the situation, Mr. Hammond was confident in a positive outcome and clearly explained what their strategy would be, what we needed to do, and what our expectations should be. I was impressed with their legal knowledge and friendliness and hired them to represent my son. I especially liked that whenever I contacted their office with a question, they responded right away. Luckily my son's friend was willing to accept full responsibility for the marijuana. He even met with Mr. Schluter, who explained his options. Thanks to the friend's cooperation, Mr. Schluter was able to do the necessary work during the arraignment to get the marijuana charge against my son dismissed and even helped my son's friend to get a less severe punishment than he would have otherwise. I was very pleased with the job Mr. Hammond and his associate did on my son's case and highly recommend them to others.

  2. Hard working Hammond!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Child Custody matter.

    I hired Mr. Hammond to handle my child custody case. He and his assistant, Tabitha, are a great team. . Hammond is tough as nails and a bulldog in the courtroom. They always kept us up to date and made sure paperwork was handled quickly. I would absolutely hire them again!

  3. Fearless and Rock Solid Dependable

    Posted by Captain Buffalo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When I needed a lawyer last year I went to the only lawyer I have ever trusted - Shawn Hammond. He and I served together in Afghanistan where he was an Infantry officer assigned as an embedded tactical trainer (ETT) and a commander of a quick reaction force (QRF). During our deployment he proved himself to be a fearless and rock solid dependable leader. He always took care of his soldiers first and would, at times, put himself in harm’s way to protect them. He was admired and respected by his soldiers and by everyone else we served with.
    For my divorce, I had been married for several years and had 2 children with my wife. I suppose the strain of 3 deployments and being gone a lot crippled my marriage. During my marriage we had been apart longer than we had been together.
    My wife, after she decided to get a divorce, hired a lawyer who was extremely unreasonable and hateful. They complained to my commanders and other offices on post trying to cause as much trouble for me with the Army as they could. As an officer myself, this was starting to cause me a lot of embarrassment. They had said that I needed to give them what they wanted so they would go away. I was very stressed out about what was going on and it was starting to affect my ratings.
    However, as soon as I spoke with Mr. Hammond, almost all of that anxiety went away. He walked me through how a divorce is supposed to work and I began to understand the process. He immediately wrote a letter, had a conference with the Judge and all of the harassment instantly stopped. I was in awe of his ability to get things done.
    In court, Mr. Hammond was as fearless and decisive as I saw him during the war. When the case began he explained the case to the judge in a clear, concise and logical manner and just like that, the case was over. The other lawyer knew nothing about military benefits, military retirement or anything about the service and was left speechless. She just sat there mumbling and the Judge shut her down. It was a truly satisfying moment. Because of what they were doing and what they were demanding I had expected months and months of legal battles and to be wiped out financially. However, we were done in about 30 minutes with a fair and reasonable resolution.
    There is no doubt in my mind that because of his efforts, my wife and I are now friends again. If they had continued to do the things they were doing for much longer I would have hated her for life. Right now we work well together for our children and the tensions from the divorce are a distant memory.
    I strongly and absolutely recommend Shawn Hammond as the only lawyer you should use for a military divorce in the State of Georgia.

  4. Strong, Reliable and Dependable - The Only Lawyer To Use

    Posted by Tania, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Shawn Hammond and his law firm in my divorce case. My husband was very abusive and after I caught him cheating on me HE filed for divorce and tried to take custody of our child. My husband was in the Army and all of his commanders protected and supported him in what he was doing because he was lying. We had been married for 12 years and he was trying to leave me with nothing.

    I was very upset at how I was being treated and Mr. Hammond was one of several lawyers I spoke with at first. I was suprised how he took his time with me on the phone even before I hired him. He told me everything I needed to know, where I could get help on post and off post and how to protect myself. No other lawyer even came close to having his knowledge and experience and he gave it away for free. He even helped me get a restraining order for free through Safe Homes.

    When I was finally able to get the money together to hire an attorney I went only to him. His staff was incredible at listening to me and took away most of my fear. My husband boasted about how good his lawyer was, how much he paid him and promised that he was going to destory me. But when it came time for court Shawn was AMAZING. Not only did he take command of the courtroom in presenting my case, but by the end of the hearing the Judge was asking him for advice. He showed my husband and the other lawyer for what they were.

    In the end, the case turned out just like he said when I first met with him. I got custody, my husband pays child support, he got visitation, he pays alimony and the marital debts and I got a part of his military retirement. Despite my ex thinking he was cheated, the judge said the case was being settled along the guidelines. The case settled exactly as Shawn said it would 5 months earlier.

    Shawn did a great job for me and is the ONLY lawyer any military parent should use.

  5. Excellent Job

    Posted by Lloyd, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Adoption matter.

    Mr. Hammond did a great job in doing a step-parent adoption. He was very knowledgable about the law, was well respected by the Judge and did a great job explaining the process to us. He has a great staff who were very responsive and took care of all of our needs and kept us well informed. I would recommend him highly.

  6. "COLA is not something you drink"

    Posted by Dawson, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Hammond uses the phrase "most lawyers think COLA is something you drink." He represented me in a military divorce in Augusta, Georgia. I was exceptionally pleased with his knowledge of the military and how he protected my rights. He protected my rights, saved me a lot of money, and protected my military retirement. According to the judge in court, there is no other local attorney who knows more about the military. I cannot be thankful enough.

  7. I recommend Shawn Hammond

    Posted by Steve, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Hammond was very well prepared and very serious about helping me in and out of court. He prepared me well for court as well. I highly recommend him and his firm.

  8. Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When you are going through a divorce it is amazingly painful and you have no idea what to expect. I am truly happy that I choose Shawn P. Hammond and associates to help with me through this tough time. Mr. Hammond and his office manager made it a point to make sure that I understood the process and what to expect in each aspect. I was probably more needy than most people, but they were always available to answer my questions and hold my hand so to speak. Everything turned out like they prepared me for and I am moving on with my life. I highly recommend Mr. Hammond and his staff to help you with domestic matters. It made things a bit easier knowing what to expect instead of being blindsided.

  9. Rock Solid and Dependable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Mr. Hammond on a divorce case earlier this year and all I can say is that he and his staff were simply incredible. I had a lot of issues and concerns throughout the process and I found it amazing in the time they took with me and how they helped me through the case.

    Mr. Hammond has a firm of three lawyers and four secretaries. I was always able to call and have my concerns immediately answered. I was very stressed out about my case and Mr. Hammond and his staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and showed their concern about me as a person.

    In court, Mr. Hammond was methodical and precise. I was very pleased with how the Judge addressed him by his first name and he really had the respect of the Judge. When I first met Mr. Hammond he stated exactly how my case would turn out and when the judge ruled I received exactly what he promised. Although, Mr. Hammond is not cheap, he and his staff are worth every penny paid.

  10. This is the lawyer you want next to you in the courtroom

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Hammond.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Hammond came highly recommended to me by several people when I found out my wife was having multiple affairs and was endangering our children with her erratic behavior. Most people say that Dads don't get custody but that was not what happened when we went to court. Thanks to Mr. Hammond, we were able to show the Judge how my wife's actions were a danger to our children and I was granted primary custody of the children.

    During the most difficult time of my life, Mr. Hammond and his office were there to assist me and help me look out for the best interest of my children which was the first time I have ever seen a lawyer care about the children versus winning or losing.

    If you want someone who knows what they are doing and will fight for your children, you can't go wrong with Mr. Hammond. I will always be grateful to him and his staff!