Katherine Laurie Schwinghammer’s Reviews

Katherine Laurie Schwinghammer

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Katherine was great and provided Excellent Representation!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.

    "Katherine was great and provided Excellent Representation! This is her passion and it showed from the moment I called her. She provided sound and straightforward advise to navigate the legal process. I really felt like she cared about me as her client and a person. Four months after my case was closed, she provided additional legal assistance on a DMV issue. She even appeared in court on my behalf to fix the arresting agency's error that was preventing me from obtaining my driver's license. This support was over and beyond, which she did for free. I value and admire her dedication! I'm Lucky to have met you.

    I selected Katherine because of the positive reviews I found. It's a pleasure to share my positive experience. Thanks for all your help and support!

  2. Nobody better!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.

    Katherine is a diamond in the rough! Its hard to find anyone you can truly trust, especially when you are in a bad situation that is stressful. That is what I found myself in recently. I had an unscrupulous business send a check to the district attorney despite having made arrangements to pay the check by payments. I had already paid several hundred dollars to them and they attempted to cash the original check I wrote. I had stopped payment on the check so it went back to them stopped. They turned it in but claimed it was non sufficient funds or account closed. They did not disclose the true nature of the situation. I got a scary letter in the mail from the District Attorney's office saying I needed to pay the full sum in less than a month or I could face jail time for a bad check. I called Katherine who immediately assured me she could at the very least set up payment arrangements with the district attorney. She asked me to send her any and all proof of what had happened including cancelled checks, etc. In less than 24 hours after doing so she called me to tell me that she had talked with the district attorneys bad check area and explained the situation and that the whole thing was being dismissed WITH an apology to me that they had accepted the case in the first place!!! This was more than I ever could have hoped for! The best part is that Katherine is responsive, understanding, fast and professional. She kept in touch with me through phone calls, texts and emails. Katherine allowed me to sleep at night rather than worry about what would happen. I would HIGHLY recommend her! There is nobody like her out there.

  3. Katherine Schwinhammer provided great legal representation

    Posted by Kate, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine 1-6 months ago.
    • Katherine handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Katherine Schwinghammer represented me in a DUI court case in San Luis Obispo county. Everything was clearly explained to me throughout the entire process; her representation of me in this case was exemplary. She went out of her way to make things as smooth as possible for me in this matter.

  4. Katherine is a truly caring and hard working attorney. I highly recommend her.

    Posted by Steve, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine 6-12 months ago.
    • Katherine handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I got a DUI, I was scared and frantic for help. Katherine responded to me right away and even before I hired her she was a calming and knowledgable source of information. Throughout the ensuing process, she was supportive, compassionate and non-judgemental. Several times she did what I considered to be "the extra mile" on my behalf. And I feel I got the best outcome possible. I highly recommend her for anyone who finds themselves in need of a good (great) attorney.

  5. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Katherine helped me during a very difficult time related to a DUI case. I first contacted Katherine after searching online and reading all her positive reviews. During our first conversation I immediately could tell she was very knowledgeable and someone you want fighting on your side. Throughout the entire process she kept me well informed and took the time to make sure I understood all the information I was provided. In the end, my DUI charge was dismissed and lowered to a less serious charge.

    Overall, I felt more at peace knowing Katherine was on my side fighting this case and looking out for the possible outcome. She's an excellent attorney and her professional and friendly personality just makes it that much more easier to work with her.

    I highly recommend her as a lawyer.

  6. Thank you Katherine, you rock!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Two months ago, I received a phone call from my little sister while I was out of town visiting my fiancé’s family near the Great Lakes. What do you know, at 4:00 in the morning, several police officers had shown up knocking on my door while my sister was house-sitting—looking for ME. I had no idea why they wanted to find me, but I was very concerned because I was planning to return to the Central Coast the following day, and I did NOT want to drive all the way home just to be thrown in jail and have to pony up cash to bail myself out for whatever they wanted to accuse me of. I have a rap sheet, and although the crimes I pled to occurred more than half a decade ago, I am still wary of the possibility that law enforcement might create turmoil in my life by filing groundless charges against me.
    Well, I searched around a bit for a competent Nipomo lawyer, and eventually called Katherine. She immediately agreed to help me, for a very reasonable rate, considering that I am a young professional and she could have charged me way more. Well, within 24 hours she had spoken with the Watch Commander, who had provided her with enough information to ascertain what the nature of the investigation being conducted was. As it turns out, somebody had burglarized my former employer’s workplace, and it had all been caught on camera. Evidently the perpetrator looked enough like me that my old boss—who is a good family friend—concluded that I was the culprit. I sent my dad out to talk to him, and my boss told my dad that he was “heartbroken,” and showed my dad the photos from the security camera. My dad told him that it wasn’t me, that I was thousands of miles away when it happened…but my old boss had made up his mind, and wouldn’t even look at a current photo of me with all my facial hair, and compare it to his photo of the guy in the security camera, who had no facial hair.
    Did I mention that it was Katherine who noticed in the first place that I had a full beard and moustache and the perpetrator didn’t? She turned out to be very astute and fact-sensitive, as well as persuasive enough to convince the police captain to admit that there was “overwhelming evidence” that I was not the perpetrator. When Katherine forwarded me an email—one day before I arrived back in California—from the sheriff, acknowledging that I was no longer a suspect, I was very comforted. Although my boss still believes that I stole from him, which is sad, I was still very thankful to be able to stop soliciting affidavits from the witnesses who had been with me near the Great Lakes, and to stop having to harvest my financial transaction data from my bank to show that I was using my debit card more than a thousand miles away from the location that was burglarized on the day before and after the incident occurred.
    Katherine was very professional and understanding throughout the whole process. In the past I have felt hesitant to trust a criminal defense attorney, or had questions regarding my lawyer’s competence. Not with Katherine. She understood my needs and concerns, she addressed them, and she investigated and advocated very effectively. I think that without her I might have been lost; I might have come back into California without knowing the nature of the charges against me, and I might have been arrested and jailed, had to pay a bail bondsman, and then I would have no idea what was going on when my boss walked into Court and testified that he was “99 percent” certain that I was the one in the security camera. Wow. It feels so great to have a smart, empathetic, thoughtful criminal defense lawyer who has my back. What this experience has taught me is that even when you’re innocent—perhaps especially when innocent—it is important to be communicative with my lawyer as soon as you know that you’ve come under suspicion for committing a crime. A lot of grief can be avoided through smart intervention early on in the process.

  7. Reputable Counsel

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Most of us believe that the call for a criminal defense lawyer in our lives will be rare but I assure you, circumstances prevail that leaves one perplexed and in a situation where counsel is suddenly needed. Kathy came highly recommended and was professional, direct, and responsive from the very first phone call to the last.

    I would highly recommend Kathy to anyone in need of a trusting hand to guide you through the legalize, court system, and options when you find yourself in a place where a knowledgeable & professional attorney needs to be by your side.

  8. Katherine is amazing.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was pulled over for speeding and had consumed a couple of drinks. When I blew at the scene and at the station, both were over. I called a couple of attorneys and was really turned off by thier aggresive approch, and was pretty much giving up on even using an attorney. After my first conversation with her she seemed like a straight shooter and trustworthy. I was not sure she could help but decided to hire her because her price was very fair. I was amazed at how positive and thorough she was. She was able to get my dui lessoned to a considerably lower offence and pretty much saved my job. She sat with the prosecutor and judge and was able to prove that I was actually under the legal limit when I was pulled over through an elaborate math equasion. Based on how she handled my case and the outcome I would highly recommend her to any of my friends and family.

  9. Katherine is the best! Very satisfied by her representation.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Before getting into trouble, serving on a jury was the most involvement I'd experienced with the legal system. I was very overwhelmed and frightened.

    It was my hope that the court would appoint a public defender, but I was so rattled that I didn't list my expenses properly. The court declined to fulfill my hope. After everything was over, I felt that the court had actually done me a favor by forcing me on a path that led to Katherine Schwinghammer.

    This website listed reviews for a number of lawyers who could handle my case, but none had as many positive reviews as Katherine. I contacted her and she agreed to represent me.

    Her representation made a huge difference. She listened attentively when I explained my situation and asked questions to clear up any potential misunderstandings. She listened to my concerns, answered my questions, gave me advice and even encouraged me not to worry. She outlined our ultimate goal and explained the more probable outcome. While I was still nervous, she knew what needed to be done and she took care of it. She kept me informed at every step.

    The outcome was as she predicted. I never had any reason to regret hiring her. While I have no intention of placing myself in such a situation again, if such an event did occur, I would seek to hire Katherine Schwinghammer without hesitation.

  10. If You Want Someone in Your Corner

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Schwinghammer.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Katherine was honest from the very beginning, identifying skillfully all aspects of the law process while being compassionate and taking an interest in my life. She wanted to know more than what but also why circumstances occurred as they did. Katherine was amazingly confident & intuitive about how to proceed with my situation. She helped to obtain the best possible outcome I could have hoped for. She turned my life around at a time when I was doing everything I could to sabotage it. I am extremely grateful and so lucky to have met her.

Call now for a free consultation. Katherine is ready to help you with your case.

805-448-9532