Desiree S Hosannah’s Reviews

Desiree S Hosannah

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If you hire her you will loose money and your case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree 1-3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    What I find sad is that Desiree has to defend herself from her own clients! Why is that? If you are a good attorney than your record would speak for itself vs you, but records also speak for bad attorneys like in this case. If you are reading this think twice before hiring Desiree. She will throw in there how she was a judge blah blah blah, but have you ever heard of a judge going back to a lawyer??? She talks very well and leading up to hiring her you will think you have a great attorney. Unfortunately that is FAR from the TRUTH!

    I hired Desiree for my case where it was a pretty easy case. I was not asking for anything less than to get my divorce finalized and to see my child and pay a respectable child support amount. By the time Desiree was finished I ended up giving my ex-wife 100% everything we owned, and ended up paying a $1,000 child support payment on 40k a year salary, even though I had 2 children living with me full time. Desiree never gave me updates and never even sent me a break down of what she "was doing for my case", why? Because she did nothing, she is a very lazy attorney that will get away with doing nothing if you let her. Which is sad, because you shouldn't have to babysit your attorney. When dealing with a situation that concerns your well being you want to be with someone knowledgeable and someone that roars like a lion when needed vs a kitty. I wouldn't recommend her to anyone including my enemies, because it wouldn't be ethically right.

    I fired her and handled my own case the rest of the way and ended up getting my child support down to $374. The judge even asked me, "what did you attorney do for you when you had one???" Wow thanks Desiree for nothing! If I knew I had a better chance by myself I would have NEVER gone with her. DON'T USE HER IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR CASE!!!

  2. Horrible Lawyer!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree 1-3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Child Custody matter.

    Thanks but no thanks. Support staff was incompetent and Mrs. Hosannah rarely communicated with me about my divorce. She took my retainer and left me high and dry. Don't hire, this attorney has in unethical and shady.

    1. Desiree S Hosannah

      Desiree Hosannah

      Lawyer Comment:

      Comments made by unidentified individuals are highly suspect. The behavior alleged here is untrue. Our office strives to handle each case effectively and efficiently, although specific results cannot be guaranteed. At a minimum, if this person has a problem with any services that may have been rendered, then they are welcomed and encouraged to contact our office or another appropriate agency so that all parties have a fair opportunity to respond effectively to complaints. Anonymous complaints provide persons with questionable motives to make false complaints without any responsibility or accountability. To the extent that this person is claiming that any applicable RPC's were violated, I vigorously dispute such claims as well as any claims that my staff members are incompetent.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  3. Amazing, brilliant and compassionate! Desiree is a game changer and a soldier! Five stars isn't enough.

    Posted by Marie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree 1-3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Child Custody matter.

    Family law cases are miserable and exhausting to endure. Desiree is a master at her craft. She is an absolutely amazing attorney and person. Desiree has fought for me with extrodinary success, and I had significant vulnerabilities in my case.

    She is passionate, effective, fierce and sincere. Her litigation abilities were extraordinary and protective. Desiree will not only guide you legally but personally; I trust her implicitly. She always has myself and my daughter's best interest at heart. This case has been profoundly emotional for my family and Desiree's expertise, support and compassion has been invaluable. Desiree's affect and ability has made me feel incredibly safe in this difficult time.

    She is brilliant and strategic. She always listens and is shockingly easy to get ahold of for an attorney. She has always made time for me even on very short notice. She has worked with me financially and I feel so fortunate to have had her as my council.

    If you are looking for an ethical, adept and tenacious attorney to fight for you, Desiree is your girl. She is no nonsense and will do what is right for your family. Desiree was straight forward and will tell you how it is, she does not mince words or placate. She does what she does because she believes in justice and was my rock in my case...I respect her more than I can express. She has been a source of inspiration in the courtroom and my life. As a woman, she has inspired to to chase my dreams. The world would be a better place with more attorneys and people like Desiree Hosannah. Five stars isn't enough. 10 STARS!!!!!

  4. An amazing Lawyer.

    Posted by Jeff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree more than 3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired her when I was going through a divorce and child custody for my 2 boys. She was very knowledgeable while explaining things to me, as well as patient with me when I didn't understand something. All of her hard work paid off because I am a male in a "woman's state" but I got custody and child support from my ex. It's hard to believe someone as amazing as her could have any negative reviews. She reminds me of a 'momma bear', and her clients are her babies. You don't mess with the momma bear, and if you do, you have to deal with her. She put so much work into my case and it really shows in the outcome of my case. She was willing to work with me when it came to payments for her representation, and she was reasonable and understanding when it came to the amount I was able to pay a month.

    I recommend her to anyone looking for a hard working attorney who will try her best to do good for her client.

  5. Bad Juju here

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree more than 3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    This attorney was hired to defend me in a child dependency case. I tried to fire her but she refused to go. I did not like her, she refused to file a 1983 against the state and said she would sue the other lawyer but denied that too. Every time I asked her to do something she refused. It seemed the other attorney involved in my spouses part did all the work and she just went along with it. The part that bothers me the most is she allowed witnesses we did not know testify against us and did not object or direct the court to limit to what the witness could talk about,

    DO NOT HIRE THIS ATTORNEY !!!

    1. Desiree S Hosannah

      Desiree Hosannah

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dependency cases are those cases where parents have lost physical custody of their children due to allegations of abuse or neglect. Comments made by unidentified individuals are highly suspect. The behavior alleged here is untrue. Our office strives to handle each case effectively and efficiently, although specific results cannot be guaranteed. At a minimum, if this person has a problem with any services that may have been rendered, then they are welcomed and encouraged to contact our office or another appropriate agency so that all parties have a fair opportunity to respond effectively to complaints. Anonymous complaints provide persons with questionable motives to make false complaints without any responsibility or accountability. To the extent that this person is claiming that any applicable RPC's were violated, I vigorously dispute such claims as well as any claims that either I or my staff members are incompetent.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  6. Don't hire!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree more than 3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She'll take your money in a heartbeat but take forever to do anything in your case and her secretary couldn't even spell my name right, the paperwork was shotty to say the least. I saw her one time when she took my money and after that I never saw her again, she wouldn't even take my calls. Thanks for nothing.

    1. Desiree S Hosannah

      Desiree Hosannah

      Lawyer Comment:

      Comments made by unidentified individuals are highly suspect. The behavior alleged here is untrue. Our office strives to handle each case effectively and efficiently, although specific results cannot be guaranteed. At a minimum, if this person has a problem with any services that may have been rendered, then they are welcomed and encouraged to contact our office or another appropriate agency so that all parties have a fair opportunity to respond effectively to complaints. Anonymous complaints provide persons with questionable motives to make false complaints without any responsibility or accountability. To the extent that this person is claiming that any applicable RPC's were violated, I vigorously dispute such claims as well as any claims that my staff members are incompetent.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  7. AWESOME!!!!!

    Posted by Chamber, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree 1-3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This lady is a cracker jack lawyer! She is not afraid to work hard and to tell it like it is in a professional way. My now EX tried to take our kids and all of our property and she kicked butt. My case was handled well, very professionally and I highly recommend her. I will be back!!!

  8. Respectful and Knowledgeble

    Posted by Thomas, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree 1-3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My child's mother removed my son from our home and was on her way out of state. I was really stressed and needed help immediately - Desiree was there and immediately filed the needed papers and worked extremely hard. It was expensive but very much worth it even with lots of depositions. We had our hearing and we WON! My son was returned and I eventually got full custody - even in WA state...the "Mother's Rights" state - I was very pleased and will only use her for my legal needs in future.

  9. Do not hire!

    Posted by Chris, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree 1-3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I first contacted Ms. Hosannah, I was facing a pretty significant issue and she seemed poised to help. Getting the contract signed and paid was something her staff moved along pretty quickly, but after that, I heard virtually nothing from Ms. Hosannah...and was forced to rely almost exclusively on a paralegal in her office. Everything that was filed on my behalf was a cut and paste from information I provided (with some very minor exceptions) and later proved to be too wordy and missing the key points...something I would have expected my attorney to correct and clarify. When the day of my hearing finally arrived, I met Ms. Hosannah for the first time and noted that she was preparing her arguments while we waited for my case to be heard. After investing 5 minutes in that exercise, she decided it would be more interesting to follow the details of the cases before mine and proceeded to look them up on the internal legal system.

    Needless to say, I lost...and it was a case that should have been a slamdunk. I chose to drop her representation (and she filed that paperwork so fast it made my head spin) and demanded a breakdown of the billable time. Getting that information took nearly two months and surprise, surprise, her staff was able to claim just enough time to justify the retainer I had paid...including charging 15 minutes to supply one sentence replies to e-mails.

    My strong recommendation is to avoid her at all costs. I certainly wish I had...in fact, I would have been much better off representing myself.

    1. Desiree S Hosannah

      Desiree Hosannah

      Lawyer Comment:

      Because I am prevented from discussing any of the specifics of this case, I can only say that these comments are not accurate in any way from my legal perspective. The behavior alleged here is untrue. Our office strives to handle each case effectively and efficiently, although specific results cannot be guaranteed. At a minimum, if this person has a problem with any services that may have been rendered, then they are welcomed and encouraged to contact our office or another appropriate agency so that all parties have a fair opportunity to respond effectively to complaints. In general, anonymous and factually unspecific complaints provide persons with questionable motives with the opportunity to make false complaints without any responsibility or accountability. To the extent that a claim is being made that any applicable RPC's were violated, I vigorously dispute such claims as well as any claims that my staff members handle cases unprofessionally.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  10. Child Support

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Desiree Hosannah.
    • I hired Desiree more than 3 years ago.
    • Desiree handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This young lady helped me when I needed it the most. She was very knowledgeable and laid my cards on the table EVERY step of the way. She acted as if she was a family member in explaining my choices to me. I dont know what my financial situation would be if if werent for her. God Bless Her!