Skip to main content
Nicholas George

Nicholas George’s Answers

10 total

  • I pled guilty to DUI. I have SR 22, an IID on my personal car, and paid the application fee.

    Can I drive a rental car for work? Do I need to put an IID on it?

    Nicholas’s Answer

    If you will rent a car, the ignition interlock requirement must be followed. A company owned car need not have an ignition interlock. If the company rents the car, you likely would not need an ignition interlock. However, your employer will be required to sign a document for the Dept. of Licensing to acknowledge that employer is aware of your ignition interlock device requirement

    See question 
  • Can Washington state count my Wet Reckless from California state as a DUI under WA state law?

    I got a DUI this year in Washington state. I am being charged as a 2nd DUI offender because WA state is treating my California Wet Reckless as a DUI. In CA state, a Wet Reckless is NOT considered a DUI. Is there any way I can use WA or CA state la...

    Nicholas’s Answer

    hi, I really empathize with you.WHAT THIS REALLY BOILS DOWN TO IS HOW YOU WROTE YOUR GUILTY STATEMENT. You need to get a copy of your statement of defendant on plea of guilty. If said statement says that you were intoxicated or seriously impaired, then it is highly likely that Washington will treat the California offense as the equivalent to a DUI. If said statement says that you had consumed alcohol prior to the offense, then there is a very good chance that the California offense would not be considered a prior DUI. Washington case law tends to support this analysis. I am always ready to help someone like you.

    See question 
  • I got a traffic ticket and wondering what to do to defer it so it won't go to my driving record?

    I went on the carpool lane where I am not supposed to.

    Nicholas’s Answer

    yOU need a record without infractions committed. You would ask the judge for a deferred finding. Then you would have to go 6 months or 1 year without an infraction. This state allows for a deferred finding every 7 years. You can obtain a deferred finding for a moving and a nonmoving violation. Be careful. sometimes, this distinction between the 2 offenses is not clear. Nick George attorney.

    See question 
  • So If my brother who is 17 and gets charged with Robbery 1 and assault. What is the difference sentencing with minor or adult?

    He has no priors.

    Nicholas’s Answer

    yOUR BROTHER WOULD BE FACED WITH MANY WEEKS IN CUSTODY INSTEAD OF MANY MONTHS AS AN ADULT. tHERE ARE OTHER CONSIDERATIONS-DEADLY WEAPON INVOLVED, LEVEL OF ASSAULT, NATURE OF HARM, AND VALUE OF ITEM IF PROPERTY IS INVOLVED- JUST TO NAME A FEW. tHIS IS nick george,attorney.

    See question 
  • If i have been ordered by the court not to drink, may i drink if i leave the country? Or does that court order still apply?

    I was ordered by the court not to drink or take any mood altering substances. Does that court order apply if I am out of the country? Also what is the consequence for driving while my kids are in the car when my license has been suspended due to...

    Nicholas’s Answer

    YOU SHOULD BE WARY IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY. fOR example,inEurope dui laws are even more severe than in washington state. Your vehicle could even made subject to forfeiture. As for driving with a pending dui, you are risking a great deal.You will be charged with driving while license suspended in the second degree. ADD the fact that minors are in the vehicle and you are looking at serious license suspensiontime and quite possibly jail.The best resolution to your dui case will likely go away.NICHOLAS GEORGE ATTORNEY

    See question 
  • What can I say at my husbands sentencing?

    My husband is getting sentenced and I would like speak. What things should I say and an I able to write the judge a letter instead of speaking?

    Nicholas’s Answer

    you have provided very little info.Right now, I can tell you that you should mention every possible and valid thing about your husband which can elicit sympathy, empathy, show indicators of being a good person and citizen,his sincere remorse, and determination to improve as well as rehabilitate himself. Good Luck. nick george,Kirkland criminal defense attorney.

    See question 
  • I know a man who was convicted of attempted murder on 'hearsay' eight years ago. I thought this was not possible

    Allegations made by an drunk woman in a small town that her daughters boyfriend had physically hurt her made for the man being senrtenced for 20+ years

    Nicholas’s Answer

    iT IS ALMOST VCERTAIN THAT WHAT YOU CALLED HEARSAY FIT INTO AN EXCEPTION SUCH AS EXCITED UTTERANCE OR PRESENT SENSE IMPRESSION. UNDER THESE EXCEPTIONS, IT WOULD BE ADMISSIBLE IN COURT. WITHOUT MORE INFORMATION, i CANNOT FURTHER ANALYZE THE SPECIFIC CASE GOOD LUCK. NICK GEORGE KIRKLAND DEFENSE ATTORNEY..

    See question 
  • Does my son have the right to view survailance of himself in a store that has accused him of theft.

    Can my son view the tape of him in a store that has accused him of theft under $20.00

    Nicholas’s Answer

    Your son does have a right to view surveilance of himself in a store that has accused him of theft. Please be advised that it is likely that he will meet with considerable resistance from the stores lost prevention department. Unless he secures an attorney, the request will likely be delayed considerably if not indefinitely. Once charges are filed, an attorney can submit a Notice of Appearance and Request for Discovery to the Prosecutor. Then, if the Prosecutor does not provide this information in a punctual manner, the attorney for your son can bring a motion forward in court and receive an order requiring the store to provide the video and/or audio of your son. I would be pleased to discuss this case in more detail with you. My name is Nicholas George and I can be reached at (425)823-1400.

    See question 
  • I was granted a deferred prosecution 12/08 in Washington State - My 2 year court date is coming up and I was curious what to

    expect at this court appearance - I paid my fines and went through the required 2 yr treatment program "I started treatment prior to the DP" I have not violated the terms of the agreement with the court so will this be a slam dunk or is the judge ...

    Nicholas’s Answer

    Given that you have successfully completed your two year treatment program, the court will likely spend more time commending you for your efforts. However, you must recall that three more years remain for you to satisfy the requirements fully. Specifically, you cannot have any criminal law violations during the three year period. Consequently, it takes five years total for a dismissal of a DUI vis-a-vis deferred prosecution. Also, please bear in mind that should you received a subsequent DUI, the DUI dealt with through the deferred prosecution becomes a prior offense again for purposes of mandatory sentencing of jail time and electronic home monitoring.

    See question