Skip to main content
Michael Steven Clark
Avvo
Pro

Michael Clark’s Answers

38 total

  • How many first time dui offenders get more than mandatory jail time?

    I was arrested for dui with BAC 0.21 first offense in WA state no accident no speeding pulled over for supposedly not wearing a seatbelt. I have never been arrested before. Did all my stuff.. alcohol assessment dui victim panel etc. Have a lawye...

    Michael’s Answer

    Every case is different and it is impossible to tell you what is likely to happen in your case without being intimately familiar with all the facts. I have been defending people accused of DUI in Tacoma for 20 years and I have never had a situation like you describe where my client has been sentenced to 10 days in jail. Feel free to give my office a call for a free consultation. You can view our website at www.krupaclarklaw.com

    See question 
  • Need Urgent Help finding an Attorney in WA (Seattle) for an indecent exposure case.

    A friend is currently in jail after being arrested for indecent exposure (accused of masturbating). He has old (2006) prior record on indecent exposure, which he was stupid enough not to fight, reasoning that no jail time was upon him at that time...

    Michael’s Answer

    We have 20 years experience defending similar cases. Please feel free to visit our website or give me a call. Www.krupaclarklaw.com

    See question 
  • I have a theft in the third, can I buy a handgun?

    It's been 7 years with no problems but maybe a couple speeding tickets. I'm wanting to buy a handgun for both my wife and I, is this possible?

    Michael’s Answer

    A conviction for Theft in the third degree will make you ineligible to possess a firearm. However, you shoud condider trying to vacate this conviction. I think you may be eligible to have this vacated. Under Washington law, when a conviction is vacated, you can truthfully say that you have never been convicted of the offense. Please feel free to contace our office and we can assess whether you are eligible to have this charge vacated. http://www.krupaclarklaw.com/vacation-expungement-restoration-of-rights.html

    See question 
  • How does statute of limitations work in criminal cases in Washington State ? Trying to decide my chances ..

    I have so very old misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor charges which I havent responded to - yes I have some warrants. QUESTION: Shouldnt these be barred by the statute of limitations ? What does the SOL key off of ? What are the events which trigg...

    Michael’s Answer

    The previous answer is correct. I would recommend that you immediately contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your preparations for dealing with these accusations. Furthermore, it is important that you consult an attorney who is famiiar with the court where you are charged.

    See question 
  • 2nd D.U.I ten years apart

    Looking for an affordable lawyer in WA,state

    Michael’s Answer

    Please call our office for a free personal consultation and case evaluation. I strongly encourage you to meet with several lawyers in person before you choose a lawyer.

    See question 
  • I got into some trouble over ten years ago..theft 2 degree. How do I get this removed from my record?

    I live in Washington state. I had 30 days house arrest and no probation. I have not gotten into any trouble since, not even a parking ticket..how do I get this ugly mistake taken off my record? It has been over ten years since this occurred.

    Michael’s Answer

    You should be able to get this conviction vacated. I suggest you contact an attorney familiar with this process who is located in the county where this conviction occurred. Let me know if we can be of any further assistance. Michael Clark

    See question 
  • My husband was starting my car for me in our driveway he was going no where but got a physical contrl charge he had some drinks

    prior what is our defence? he has had DUI before

    Michael’s Answer

    Washington law provides that it can be a defense to the charge of physical control if before being apprehended by law enforcement the defendant has moved the vehicle "safely off the roadway". However, the application of this rule can be extremely complicated and if your husband has a prior DUI the prosecutor's office will probably go after him aggressively. It is critical that he contact an attorney as soon as possible to discuss the facts of his case and begin to prepare to defend this charge. Feel free to contact our office if you would like to schedule a free consultation. Good Luck.

    See question 
  • What would my charges be and what is the range of sentencing?

    I have an opiate addiction and because of that i stole 2 checks from my previous employer. I forged two checks and made them both out to myself. I cashed the checks at the bank a couple weeks apart from one another. One check was for $340.00 and t...

    Michael’s Answer

    Depending on where this occurred you probably have many options to deal with this situation to limit the impact to your life. At this point, the best advice I would give you is to hire an attorney who can contact the detective and tell him that you will not be making a statement. There is nothing to be gained by you speaking with the cops. They are not your freinds in this situation.

    See question 
  • Need advice

    I was arrested for dui and my bac was .180 I have no defense, so my public defender has given me my options But I am not sure what the best route would be. If I plead guilty the prosecutor has agreed to the minimum. My I Other option is to g...

    Michael’s Answer

    These are questions that you should be discussing with your lawyer. Only he or she is the best position to know all the details that would be needed to advise you in this situation. You can only do one deferred prosecution in a lifetime and with a deferred you must acknowledge that you are an alcoholic. Therefore, I generally advise people to think carefully before do a deferred on a first time DUI. The best advice is to speak with your attorney and get all your questions answered during that meeting. Good Luck.

    See question 
  • Can I get a charge dropped after I have already agreed to a plea bargain?

    I am on probation for two domestic violences. One of which is a dv-assault 4. I had a public defender and he said he couldn't get the charges dropped, so I agreed to a plea bargain. I should have gotten a private attorney, but I couldn't afford on...

    Michael’s Answer

    The answer to your questions depends on a couple of things. If you have already pleaded guilty in court then the only way to undo this would be to file a motion to withdraw your guilty plea. You would have to have a legally valid reason to withdraw your plea. Simply changing your mind would not be enough. You would definitely need to have a lawyer help you with this and even then , it could be difficult to withdraw your plea.

    On the other hand, if you have not entered your guilty plea in court, you are not obligated to go through with the plea bargain. However, if your public defender has already told the prosecutor that you will accept the offer, the prosecutor will not be very happy about your change of heart. You should definitely be ready to take the case to trial if you decide to reject this offer.

    The botton line is these are things you should be discussing with your current lawyer. If you don't have confidence in this lawyer, then you should try to hire your own lawyer. Good luck.

    See question