Liza E. Burke’s Reviews

Liza E. Burke

Average Rating

Based on 36 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. No Contact Order Revoked - Domestic Violence Case dismissed

    Posted by Yaw, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-6 months ago.
    • Liza handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Liza was extremely knowledgeable of my domestic violence case. She worked well with my wife's lawyer to successfully revoke the no contact order and then fully dismiss the case. She kept me well informed of the case and there were no surprises. Everything she said would occur happened. My wife and I are extremely satisfied with the results of the case and Liza was a big part of it.

  2. Professional, compassionate, knowledgable

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-6 months ago.
    • Liza handled my Child Abuse matter.

    I contacted Liza Burke after CPS began investigating our family based on a false allegation of child abuse. I am a lawyer and my husband is an engineer; nothing in our education or experience prepared us for the shock and horror we felt while under investigation by CPS. Feeling like we had been caught in the Twilight Zone, Liza immediately put us at ease with her professionalism, compassion, knowledge, and rock solid sanity. Liza explained her experience with CPS, which completely validated our own experience. Her advice regarding what to expect during the investigation, neglect determination, and appeals process proved spot on. Ultimately, our case resolved expeditiously and favorably. I can't thank Liza enough for the guidance and peace of mind she gave us during a very difficult time. I wholeheartedly recommend Liza Burke. She is a tremendous asset to our community.

  3. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 6-12 months ago.
    • Liza handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Liza recently helped me successfully resolve a complicated domestic violence protection order. Her strong history working as a defense attorney in domestic violence cases assured me that she would understand all aspects with my situation. She has an excellent understanding of the law, a history of credibility and integrity with many local judges and she is compassionate in when dealing with these difficult topics. If you are needing any help with a protection order or a domestic violence issue, I strongly recommend Liza.

  4. Perfect result achieved thanks to Liza

    Posted by Katie, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • Liza handled my Child Abuse matter.

    When my son was one month old we took him to his primary care physician because he had been very irritable the night before. At the Dr around 2 pm we were told he looked perfect and he was likely coming into a colicky stage. At around 530 pm we noticed his leg was swollen and we took him to the ER. The dr there notified us our sweet baby had a broken femur. We were told by that hospital that they suspected genetic causes and discharge papers expressed that our baby appeared well taken care of and asked the Children's hospital to look for genetic causes. The Children's hospital alerted CPS and law enforcement to our situation. Our child was removed from the care of my husband and myself.

    Liza was very effective at guiding me through a very tumultuous and upsetting nightmare. Having our son taken was beyond my imagination. Liza was able to locate multiple physicians around the country to dispute the Children's hospital findings. I believe she was able to do this because of her experience, dedication and expertise in cases such as this. Liza worked very hard on our case- although it moved slowly because of the system- she was able to assuage my concerns about the timeline and to help me understand that in many ways time was on our side. Liza regularly made herself available to hear my concerns and help me understand what the process would be like.

    Liza was not only was thoroughly prepared, she was also impressive in the courtroom. I have no prior experience but during our trial I saw her line of questioning discredit a physician testifying against our case. Her line of questioning also led to our CPS case worker admitting that we seemed to be fit parents and that the state would require no further services. This courtroom expertise, along with the expert witnesses that Liza found on our behalf, are what I believe led to our case's success.

    In the end our case was dismissed and our son was returned to us. Liza was able to negotiate our CPS findings as well. I hope that your family never finds yourself in a situation like ours, but if you do, I highly recommend Liza for her expertise, dedication, experience and compassion!

  5. Thank you Liza!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-3 years ago.
    • Liza handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Liza helped me with a DV assault in the 4th degree charge that was filed against me in May 2013. Having no previous experience with such a case, and having gone to jail for the first time I was pretty freaked out. I found Liza's information on avvo and reading her positive recommendations decided to go with her... There were multiple things that were amazing about her -

    1. Timely Responses - regardless of whether it was the weekend, or whether I texted/emailed/called her, she was always willing to respond to my questions. This was super important to me since I was pretty freaked out about the whole incident
    2. Thorough - she patiently listened to the entire incident and explained to me the entire legal procedure that we would go through and what I could expect at every court hearing
    3. Proactive - she had a fairly good idea of where my case would end up and proactively recommended that I do a few thing such as register for DV intervention classes, see a counselor, etc. so that we could get the desired outcome for our case.

    My case took a couple months before I was offered a stipulated order of continuance which was pretty decent. So I jumped on that offer from the prosecutor and am doing the rightful things to ensure that the DV case against me gets dismissed.

    Overall, the past 3 months have been pretty freaky and some of the worst in my life... I really appreciate having Liza represent me for the legal aspect of the DV case and help me go through these 3 months with some confidence.

    If you are facing a DV charge -

    1. please dont freak out - in hindsight, I have come to realize that I freaked out a lot more than I should have. The law is written taking into account the most serious DV crimes and even a small shove or expression of anger is treated as seriously as a murder by the law enforcement officers. This is pretty ridiculous, but that is how it works. Over time, you will come to understand and realize that things get better and at the end apart from being an inconvenience and an expense (of time & money), the DV charges wont last long. So keep the faith and go on with confidence.
    2. Hire Liza without an iota of doubt - she will do a fabulous job representing you

  6. Thank you Liza for giving me my life back!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-3 years ago.
    • Liza handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I was faced with a domestic violence charge, I found myself lost and confused and didn’t know where to turn. I feel so blessed that I found Liza. Liza took action and put me at ease immediately, which couldn’t have been easy with me being a complete nervous wreck. She was extremely responsive and always returned my phone calls and emails even when she was out of town. I was amazed with her level of professionalism and how quickly we began sorting out the intricacies of my case. She asked me what I wanted to see happen and in what order. I told her I didn’t want jail time, I wanted the no contact order dropped, and in the end for my case to be dismissed. One by one she got me everything I asked for. When it came time for my court date, she was nothing short of amazing! The case charges were dismissed and I was free to go with no stipulations. She is by far the best lawyer I’ve ever worked with, and I strongly recommend her to anyone that needs legal advice or counsel. Thank you Liza for being the advocate that I needed and allowing me to get back to my life. You have no idea the impact you have had on my family and I!

  7. Strong advocate and dedicated attorney

    Posted by Jane, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-3 years ago.
    • Liza handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Liza Burke is an outstanding domestic violence attorney. She helped defend me in a very stressful domestic violence protection order case and was extremely responsive, dedicated and aggressive. She responded quickly to all of my questions, even when on vacation. She was very transparent with me and provided great counsel and advice for my case. Her advocacy in court was great; I was impressed with her dialogue with the judge in court. She is very passionate, funny and assertive. Overall, I would highly recommend her to anyone involved in any domestic violence or protection order cases.

  8. I highly recommend Liza!

    Posted by Elisabeth, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-3 years ago.
    • Liza handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Liza was my defense lawyer for both criminal and civil cases that my own husband filed against me. We had an argument, he assaulted me, and when I reacted, he called the police and I was arrested. He accused me of domestic violence against him and my children. He then filed for divorce two days before our 25th wedding anniversary, and served me the papers at the courthouse the day after! Liza was right there when it happened. So, I had three cases to fight. He ended up terminating the Civil DV order after I signed the Agreed Temporary Order for the family law case. My husband had been living a seedy, double life, and with all the evidence of that, Liza influenced the Prosecutor to dismiss my criminal case! Liza is a consummate attorney, is level-headed, personable, and has a sense of humor that disarms opposing counsel. I highly recommend Liza Burke!

  9. Personable and results-driven. Extremely grateful Liza was on my side.

    Posted by Ryan, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-3 years ago.
    • Liza handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I found myself in unfamiliar waters, dealing with domestic violence accusations and going up against a system that isn't real favorable to males, I was comforted knowing Liza was there to ensure my case was dealt with fairly — and more importantly — with integrity.

    I had consulted with three other attorneys, and something always seemed a little "off" with them. Perhaps it was the fact that every other attorney I spoke with was more interested in telling me about their process, how cases typically get resolved under a Stipulated Order of Continuance (plea bargain) or how they were going to "rip" the other side. Liza was the only attorney who actually asked me what I wanted and what was important to me — which, in my case, was nothing short of a complete dismissal.

    Liza saw that my case was dismissed, all while being personable and knowing when to infuse a bit of humor into the process to lighten the mood. In an environment full of negativity, Liza was a positive force and one whom I highly recommend should you find yourself needing representation.

  10. Professional, highly competent, and effective counsel. Highly recommend her!

    Posted by a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Liza Burke.
    • I hired Liza 1-3 years ago.
    • Liza handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Liza represented me in a very complicated case that involved serious consequences for my future. She was an ally when I really needed it. She was able to handle my case in a professional and very effective manner that ultimately resulted in a ruling in my favor. She put me at ease during the entire process. If you need a defense attorney, then you couldn't ask for a better attorney than Liza. Truly the best there is at what she does. Highly recommend her!

Contact us today for an appointment or consultation.

206-933-2414