Tuella O Sykes’s Reviews

Tuella O Sykes

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Terrific Attorney

    Posted by O.Layne, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella 1-3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Tuella Sykes office came to me per recommendation from a previous client. He raved about her abilities and intelligence. I can agree that my Chapter 7 was handled in both great care by her and her staff and I was always updated during the process. If your looking for an Attorney that will get it done even on a moments notice she is the one I recommend you call.

  2. Review of Tuella O Sykes

    Posted by Dennis, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella more than 3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We first went with Phillip-Webster to handle out chapter 13 bankruptcy. Almost 6 months has gone by and they could not help us. We then went to Tuella O Sykes, on the spot she contacted Phillip-Webster, got the money that we payed them, and helped us right away. She works very fast and is highly recomended.

  3. Sleepless in Seattle

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella 1-3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tuella did an excellent on our case she is very knowledgeable and very profession able in her field our case just the way we hoped it would I would recomend her again .

  4. My experience with Tuella

    Posted by James, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella more than 3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    She was very instrunmental in keeping me informed on what to do concerning my bankruptcy. Keeping me out of fear and anxiety about the proceedure was the first order of business. Secondly, she was very professional, knowlegable, friendly, and she got me through the bankruptcy without any complications what-so-ever. I have recommended her to several of my friends. I would hire her again.

  5. Terrible Experience

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella 1-3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We retained Tuella in February of 2012 and paid a $1,000 retainer. Even though we provided all of the proper information relative to our previous bankruptcy, her office didn't inform us until after we paid the retainer the law had changed and it was eight years instead of seven. Because they cashed the check, we were stuck with her firm and had to wait for roughly four months before we could proceed. While the handling of the petition was very standard, I was a bit concerned about delays in communication and Tuella’s very “cold” disposition. She was not friendly by any means. I warned her about a particular group of malicious creditors and she told me she was willing to handle the case on contingency with another lawyer if something came up. At the 341 hearing, Tuella met us at the court house and I watched her surf celebrity gossip on her mobile device while the trustee went through other parties. When our turn arrived, the malicious group of creditors I warned her about sent a high paid lawyer to derail our proceedings. Tuella’s performance was abysmal as she completely mishandled properly representing and protecting us and even acted in a hostile fashion towards us during the hearing. After the hearing was concluded she took us into a private office and proceeded to berate me in a hostile and angry fashion, behaving in a completely unprofessional manner. I never raised my voice at her or got angry with her. I had to act passive just to calm her down. It took a month before she informed me she would need $5,000 up front in order to handle an upcoming exam (money she knew we didn't have). We informed her we didn't have the money and had no choice but to seek other counsel or act pro se. Tuella submitted a notice of withdrawal to the Court claiming I had not complied with the terms of our agreement. We also found out a Creditor had sent her a reaffirmation agreement more than a month before (which she didn't disclose to us until we ended our relationship), and she failed to file a change of address form I personally handed to her at the hearing.

    We were never comfortable with her, and our experience was a terrible one.

  6. Handled my unusual case very well

    Posted by John, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella more than 3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tuella and her staff handled my case very well. All of the necessary preparation needed was done very thoroughly which led to a very smooth process. No problems or difficulties or surprises except, perhaps, that I was surprised at how smoothly the proceeding went.
    Due to my constant travels some of the logistics were a challenge but Tuella and her staff helped me with solutions to all of the unusual situations I had to deal with. The process is done, I am no longer in a very difficult and ongoing situation and am very relieved. I can now look forward and get back on track thanks to Tuella, Travis and Danny.

  7. Highly recommended!

    Posted by Mike, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella more than 3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When life presents situations that you feel are very challenging and you don't know where to turn for advice, you can turn to Tuella O. Sykes! She has a very caring way of explaining your options and guiding you to the best choice for you. She is responsive to your needs and is always there to return calls as new questions arise. We would highly recommend Tuella O. Sykes!

  8. My experience with a bankruptcy case.

    Posted by Jerry, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella more than 3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From my first contact I was put at ease. After reviewing my circumstances Ms. Sykes was compassionate and helped me feel less guilty about not meeting my financial obligations. She explained how I fell into a trap that many others had fallen into as well. She went on to explain the process in great detail and kept me informed at every step. The case went exactly as I was told.
    If I ever have any legal issues in the future I would consult with Ms Sykes without hesitation.

  9. Great Atorney

    Posted by Nickie, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella more than 3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tuella is a great attorney. She helped us with our bankruptcy and she and her staff kept us up to date on the proceedings at all times. If I had a question all I had to do was call, and either Tuella or one of her staff would get back to me right away to answer. Tuella even meet us at our home in Mount Vernon, and sometimes we would meet somewhere in between to sign paper work, so that it would be more conveinient for us. I would highly reccomend Tuella and her staff for any legal needs you might need. She is very up to date on the law and how to help you. You will never be left in the dark about what is going on because she is always just a phone call away!

  10. A Pleasurable Experience

    Posted by James, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tuella Sykes.
    • I hired Tuella more than 3 years ago.
    • Tuella handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Working with Tuella was a pleasure for me. At the time I didn't quite know what to expect of my legal situation and was very nervous about it.
    Tuella on the other hand with her calm and joyous demeanor along with her professional know how, was informative enough to help me understand the proceedures so I didn't have to worry myself so much.

    In the end after the whole ordeal I could see clearly how smoothly she brought me through without any complications. Her caring for me as an individual also made me feel like I was working with a good friend.

    Thank you so much Tuella. I appreciate you and I have sent you one of my friends who is also very happy to have you as her guide. Keep up the good work
    JG in Federal Way