Mel L. Crawford’s Reviews

Mel L. Crawford

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Too bad there is not a six star rating

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.

    I feel extremely grateful that the first two attorneys I contacted for help with my ERISA long-term disability claim had just retired. Otherwise, I would not have found Mel. Easy to work with, personable, caring, time efficient, organized, and knows exactly what to do with regard to ERISA claims. My insurance company had been dragging their feet for months--neither approving nor disapproving my claim. Within one month of Mel coming into the picture the claim was approved. Mel is a true advocate for the injured or ill exactly when a person needs help the most.

  2. ERISA Disability Claim - Awesome Results!

    Posted by Greg, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel 6-12 months ago.
    • Mel handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I engaged Mel when I was unsuccessful with my long-term disability claim with my insurance company. My appeal was denied and they provided one more review of my claim. I decided it was time to find someone who knows the ins and outs of dealing with insurance company claims. I believed I had a legitimate claim, however getting them to approve it within the guidelines of the policy was a completely different game. Mel immediately went on the attack and completed the package for me and in the end they did approve my claim. So I received a good result and that might be the reason for my positive review. Not. Mel did exactly what needed to be done to achieve our objective and was very conscious of the cost and time spent to do so. I would definitely recommend him.

  3. Very skilled ERISA attorney.

    Posted by Christopher,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.

    Mel Crawford got exactly what was due me in my long term disability pay out. He is a very gifted negotiator. I was treated with great kindness and respect. Mr Crawford explained every aspect of the process during the settlement.
    Besides being a qualified ERISA attorney he is a very honest and ethical person. His fees were very reasonable and fair. I was surprised at how quickly he settled my case.

  4. Honest, kind, ethical, committed

    Posted by Wendy, a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel 1-3 years ago.
    • Mel handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mel is not only a great lawyer but a great human being. He is smart, knows ERISA in and out, and provides superior representation and responsiveness. I hired him when the corporation I worked for refused to pay health benefits. He was able to quickly cite to them the laws they were potentially in breach of, despite their refusal to provide any benefits documentation. I ended up being paid the benefits they had denied, thanks to Mel. When you feel powerless to help yourself, Mel's someone you can count on.

  5. Disability insurance/ERISA Mel Crawford is the BEST!

    Posted by a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel 1-3 years ago.
    • Mel handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mel is the BEST! My life changed for the better the moment I met him. I was diagnosed with a disabling condition, unable to work, overwhelmed at the prospect of dealing with insurance companies and ignorant of the law. In our fist meeting, Mel genuinely respected my personal experience, informed me about ERISA laws and procedures, and immediately defined a path to address my legal and financial concerns.

    Long story made short: Within one year (record time, perhaps!), with Mel's guidance and assistance, I successfully resolved issues with the insurance company and began receiving the benefits that are due to me.

    Mel's expertise with ERISA laws and procedures were critical to my moving ahead with my life. What made working with this attorney truly exceptional were Mel's insight, advice, availability, responsiveness and above all, his personal care . . all of which he consistently demonstrated throughout our work together.

    Today, I still have my disability, but I have my life back . . . in large part because I met Mel and followed his advice. I cannot sing his praises high or wide enough.

  6. Effective

    Posted by a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel 1-3 years ago.
    • Mel handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mel helped me with a complicated Accidental Death claim for my father. Mel was able to successfully argue that death from a diagnostic medical proceedure was an accident and the company paid the claim. Mel is an outstanding attorney

  7. everyone told me to give up. Mel worked harder than anyone

    Posted by a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel more than 3 years ago.
    • Mel handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was denied benefits for my LOA benefits for my LTD after being approved. My family and my husbands family told me to give up suck it up and go back to work. Mel worked with my psychology and we filled an appeal. Aetna declined our appeal, Mel fought and filled, worked and eventually settled our case. Couldn't have been happier and only wish more people would stand up for their rights. Mel Crawford is willing to go beyond what any any other lawyer I talked with.
    Stand up for your rights
    A quote paraphrased that he once told me was; they make you feel like you're secure with peanuts characters until you need what you paid for.

  8. My experience with Mel

    Posted by Pete, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel more than 3 years ago.
    • Mel handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was awarded disability benefits with my insurance company. After a short period of time they dropped my benefits, falsely accusing me. I hired a local lawyer from the yellow pages, and after several months I found out that he was doing very little to help me. The time deadline for my appeal was nearly up and I contacted several other lawyers who would not take my case because of the time limit. That is when I was given Mel's number. He not only took my case, but worked immediately to build my case quickly. His ability, commitment. and compassion to me was astonishing. He won the case for me. He has my highest rating.

  9. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by Jacqueline, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel more than 3 years ago.
    • Mel handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I met Mel by chance exactly when I was looking for a lawyer to help with an former employer pay issue. His professional demeanor and personal warmth put me immediately at ease in spite of my concern about what I imagined would be a painful process. Working with Mel, I discovered that my concerns about this process were completely unfounded. His extensive experience, methodical approach, patience and compassion contributed to an outcome that far exceeded my expectations. Beyond the settlement that he expertly negotiated, I came away with tremendous respect and admiration for both the man and his profession. I have and will continue to give my highest recommendation for Mel to anyone who is in need of expert legal counsel.

  10. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Lori, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mel Crawford.
    • I hired Mel more than 3 years ago.
    • Mel handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Crawford handled not one but 2 cases for us. I was so pleased with the 1st one that when we had another incident we needed help on he was the only lawyer that came to mind. He is caring, professional and will go to all ends of the earth to fight for you. In this day and age of Lawyers who will do anything for a dollar, Mr. Crawford still maintains his high level of character honesty and integrity. I would recommend him highly to anyone who needs an attorney!!!