Schoen R Parnell’s Reviews

Schoen R Parnell

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Schoen Parnell - A DUI Attorney that has Integrity and is of Exceptional Value

    Posted by Jay, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen 1-3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In this 1st paragraph I want to summarize Schoen's level of excellence without making you read everything below. He is professional, confident, and thorough. . .but most of all he is personally vested in ensuring that his clients become better people. He takes the time to explain things to his clients because he has the heart of a teacher. If there were one word to describe him--I'd say it was "integrity." If I get two words--I'd describe what he offers as "exceptional value." In fact, I do not think our money could have been better spent. Schoen -- My family and I really can't thank you enough.

    After I was charged with a DUI I spent a good deal shopping around for many lawyers by word of mouth, on the web, and even this site. I considered very well known expensive options and also others who were rated a 10 on this site, and it was very tempting to go with them. My situation was also extra delicate since I had a significant conviction in my past--that I knew would be used in any way against me during the case.

    After about 3-4 weeks, I decided to hire Schoen (after much prayer and consulting with my family) to take my case since he had experience with Felony DUIs, he was calm, clear, and professional, and he genuinely cared about who I was. I wasn't just a job to him (which I have experienced with other attorneys before). Now that my case is over, I can't imagine walking through this process with anyone else.

    Many of the first meetings were to help us understand what we (my family and I) were up against. He listened and acknowledged how we felt. No punches were pulled. My wife and I are also armchair researchers -- and he was amazingly patient with us while we asked him many questions about the specifics. He followed up on everything he didn't immediately know the answers to. He also helped me to do everything I needed to in order to minimize the damage.

    He always set expectations well for me on what the next steps were, and followed up just before each of the court appearances to ensure we were ready (charging, discovery hearing, continuances, readiness, trial, and sentencing). He responded very quickly by phone, email, or texts. Usually he was able to get our case moved through quickly with the prosecution/judge so we didn't have to wait.

    During the build up, he was extraordinarily thorough. . .able to get the toxicology evidence suppressed. Also, he was able to get testimony from the arresting officer to bring into question damaging statements I had made against myself. He always came to the table with strategic suggestions, but was clear that I had to make key decisions that I was comfortable with. In fact, when the initial felony charge was reduced to a misdemeanor -- he refunded half of our original retainer-THAT'S INTEGRITY!

    Since we received no reasonable offer from the prosecution, we took this case to trial. Stating this as objectively as I can -- I felt we had a superior defense. There was little to no hard evidence admitted in the case that indicated I was guilty, other than the officer's testimony of my field sobriety test. Again, he was calm, collected, and thorough. My only complaint would be that maybe a couple of the arguments (examples) weren't as clear as they could be considering the ability of the jury to understand. However, a more polished argument wouldn't have helped. My sense is that the jury would have convicted no matter what.

    At sentencing, the prosecutor recommended 180-days due to my past conviction. Schoen ensured that he understood the elaborate specifics of my prior conviction, and had several folks testify on my behalf. Additionally, he prepared key information from my prior case to help temper the exaggerated character that was being described by the prosecutor. We won this hearing with only a month in Home Monitoring so I could continue to support my family without interruption.

    You won't be disappointed with Schoen.

  2. Great Experience with this attorney

    Posted by Seattle Client, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen 1-3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted Schoen after I was arrested for a DUI charge in the Seattle area. I had never even had an interaction with a police officer other than a speeding ticket in my life (> 40y). I have an executive level software job in the Seattle area so this whole episode was quite the shock to me. I am 100% responsible for not keeping track of my drinking that evening but on the cab ride home that night after being arrested and booked I thought my life was about over. I called Schoen the next morning and his calm demeanor and vast knowledge of the legal system was a huge relief to me. I met with him the following week to discuss my case. I could tell within 15m that I would hire him to represent me. I never felt judged by him even though I fully admit that I was guilty. He gave me good advice and explained in detail what would happen. If you call/email him he will get back to you right away and never makes you feel like your questions are rushed. Schoen also has a DOL expert who can answer questions about license suspension, ignition interlock devices, ORL, and how to get your license back. All of which I needed in my case. He even answered a few questions after officially he was not required to do so about my driving restrictions. In my case having a conviction was a serious career issue. Schoen went into detail about what was possible and talked to the prosecutor on multiple occassions. While I wished I could have had my entire case dismissed that was just not possible given the evidence the state had. Schoen got me the best possible deal and helped me understand each step of the way. I am grateful that I hired him to handle this case and would highly recommend him to any other people that get into a bad situation.

  3. Schoen Parnell is an exceptionally competent, responsive, professional attorney

    Posted by Rod, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen 1-3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    You received a letter from the Municipal Court charging you with a criminal act and now you’re scared because your back is against the wall and the real consequences of being convicted are loss of professional license, security clearance, job, promotional opportunity, future employment, time in jail and a fine. That was my position a few months ago; however it is not how things are now. Mr. Schoen Parnell worked successfully to get the charge “dismissed”.

    A dismissal was the best possible outcome and I am very grateful for Mr. Parnell’s efforts in this matter. Mr. Parnell filed a well written, well researched motion to dismiss based on exculpatory evidence. Sitting in the courtroom while the motion was presented, it was clear to me that I had hired an exceptional Trial Lawyer. The motion was denied by the judge, but the fact that the motion was filed provided a basis for appeal.

    Mr. Parnell deposed (questioned) the complainant in the presence of the prosecuting attorney and the prosecutor agreed that day to dismiss the case. My attorney did two very skillful things here. He asked the right questions in an effective way, and he effectively negotiated a dismissal.

    Now I can move on with my life. Thank you Schoen! I greatly appreciate your efforts in this matter.

  4. Schoen Parnell is everything you look for when hiring an attorney and more

    Posted by John, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen 1-3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had the pleasure of working with Mr. Parnell on a DOL stay hearing over the last six months. From the first time I contacted Scheon he has gone above and beyond all of my expectations. Mr Parnell worked this case with extreme due diligence and kept me informed every step of the way. He treated me with respect and handled my case as if it was the most important case of his career. There are many attorneys out there that could learn from Scheon on how to treat their clients. Mr. Parnell is everything a person is looking for in a great attorney, he knows the law and will handle your case both personally and professionally. I would recommend him to anyone who is looking for great legal representation.

  5. Very efficient

    Posted by Dino, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen more than 3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    hello, my name is Dino, from Vancouver British Columbia, Canada. because i am not familiar with the USA traffic and court system, i needed a good lawyer...And boy did i have one...Schoen - pronounced (Shane) Parnell was patient with me and my little knowledge of the systems...made it easy for me to understand what was up and helped me with the contact #'s i needed to helped me sort out all the frustrating confusion and finally end up with a "dismissed" case! I highly recommend him to anyone needing legal advise, Schoen is a loyal, honest and most of all, just a nice guy! Thank Schoen! looking forward to lunch when im pass thru the USA next!

  6. Professional and Thoughtful Throughout

    Posted by Gilbert, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen more than 3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Schoen defended me when I got myself into some trouble with a DUI. Having never run into trouble with the law before, I was lost on what to do next. Schoen walked me through the system step by step to a better than expected conclusion. He alleviated my concerns by answering my questions quickly and he is definitely an advocate for his clients. Would highly recommend to anyone facing a DUI or DWI (especially with WA's strict criminal laws and DOL process) though I have to admit I don't want to ever require his services again. :)

  7. Excellent!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen more than 3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dear Schöen,

    I wanted to thank you for a job well done. After our first meeting, I knew instantly you were the perfect lawyer to represent me and since then I never questioned my judgment. You have a tremendous amount of character. Your honesty and willingness to fight will not be forgotten. Every time I had a question or concern you promptly responded with a detailed answer. I am very pleased with the results you procured. God forbid if anyone I know needs a defense attorney, in a heart beat you will be highly recommended. I can't thank you enough. Seriously Thanks again!

  8. Dan Gettemy

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen more than 3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My nephew had a bad year, and had severl legal issues that he had to deal with. My niece had used Schoen before and was extremely satisfied. I called Schoen and we set up a meeting. I must say that end of all of the issues I was more than satisfied. Schoen had pulled off a few what I would classify as miracles, due to his knowledge of the legal system and his untiring committment to solving issues and seeing it all through. He continually guided us through all of the obstacles and was very communicative. I am in hopes that we would not have to deal with anymore legal issues, however If that ever does occur Schoen will be the first person I call. I would not hesitate in endorsing Schoen for any legal issue that you may have. He is tops in my book.

  9. DUI Assistance

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen more than 3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Parnell was my attorney for a DUI case. He was great to work with and always ready and willing to take the extra time and spend the extra energies to resolve my case. It turned out much better than expected, and I would recommend him to anyone that needs a knowledgeable and talented attorney.

  10. Ralph Rodriguez and Carol Sablan

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Schoen Parnell.
    • I hired Schoen more than 3 years ago.
    • Schoen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We live in Texas, and our son had an incident outside of Seattle that required attorney attention. We did some internet research and found a few attorneys that would qualify, but, after speaking with Mr. Parnell, determined he was the best fit for our situation.

    Mr. Parnell was timely, knowledgeable, and always answered his phone, or returned the call quickly. Being in another state, this was crucial. The outcome was certainly better than we expected, and his diligence is noteworthy. We feel very fortunate to have found Mr. Parnell, and would recommend him highly to anyone that needs legal assistance.

Call "Shane" for a free consultation.

206-619-2521