Denise S. Kuhlman’s Reviews

Denise S. Kuhlman

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Help and Guidance for Difficult Circumstances

    Posted by AJ,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have known Ms. Kuhlman for over 15 years. She works in a very difficult field of law, and yet she establishes an empathic relationship with her clients. One of her strengths is her ability to move clients along their dissolution path expertly in a reasonable amount of time to achieve the greatest benefits for clients. Ms. Kuhlman shows great compassion for her clients' personal and/or business circumstances. Ms. Kuhlman is well versed in her areas of law, and executes a custom tailored strategy for each client. I referred several friends and business clients to Ms. Kuhlman over the years, and I have received great thanks and accolades for making the introduction. I recommend her highly to personal and business clients who have a need for expert guidance in bankruptcy, foreclosure, and/or business dissolution.

  2. Superb Lawyer

    Posted by Ann, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 1-6 months ago.
    • Denise handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Denise was the best possible lawyer that I could have found for my case.

    I am a Canadian and was a defendant in a bankruptcy/litigation case in the US, and In order to find someone to help me, I did a google search for lawyers in WA and found Denise's name, among others. Several mentioned they gave a free consultation but on sending emails to a few, I had only 2 responses, Denise's being one of them.

    Denise called me and we had a lengthy first conversation after which she went over what she could do for me. She suggested the best way to proceed yet gave me some options, going over each one of them in detail. The amount of time involved was mentioned and the fee structure explained.

    At every stage along the way Denise was professional and knowledgeable. She was easy to speak with and was kind and understanding of the situation, making me feel very hopeful of a positive outcome. She is a great listener and I was able to share my fears and anxiety without feeling I was being judged. Every phone call I made to her and every email sent, was responded to, if not in minutes, then by the end of the day. I was kept abreast of what was happening at every stage.

    Denise managed to settle my case with huge success, something that would not have happened or been possible if I had continued on my own. I am extremely grateful and I would recommend Denise to anyone, without reservation.

  3. Outstanding!

    Posted by Jen, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Denise guided me through my bankruptcy with skill, responsiveness, and non-judgment. From the time of our first conversation, I knew I had someone on my side who not only had the expertise and experience to guide me through, but who would actually listen to what I had to say. Denise always made me feel that I was important to her and that she would be there for me. She responded promptly to my many questions, took the time to listen to my fears and concerns, and was able to explain the process to me in a way that I could understand. I never felt like I was alone, and I never felt like I was "just another client". I cannot thank her enough, and I cannot recommend her enough. She has what it takes to get the job done!

  4. My experience with Denise S. Kuhlman has been excellent

    Posted by Marsha,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Denise S Kuhlman is not only a highly intelligent, knowledegeable attorney, she is compassionate. She creates a safety net for a person who is unfamilar with the legalities of the issues at hand, one that allows a person to sleep better at night. I applaud her for her efficiency, knowledge as well as her humaness.

  5. Provided Competent, Professional Guidance and Services During Difficult Time

    Posted by Aloha, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It was difficult to face that I needed legal help and action with my financial matters. Fortunately I obtained the assistance of Denise Kuhlman. During an initial consultation we talked about options and cost. Denise made the process as uncomplicated as possible with many of the forms and documents transmitted electronically. She was available for my questions and I felt confident that she knew not only the legal process involved, but also understood how bankruptcy can cause uncertainties, fear and other emotions. Denise was there for me every step of the way . Based on my experience with her professional service, I highly recommend Deniser Kuhlman.

  6. Awesome Attorney

    Posted by Robert, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Denise is a very helpful lawyer who kept me informed and even worked with me, knowing that I didnt have money at times to make payments and let me pay when I did. She is very nice too.

  7. Level headed attorney with a great amount of knowlege

    Posted by a Banking client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Banking matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am having trouble with my bank going back on its promises. Having Ms. Kuhlman on my side has given me a lot of hope that the situation will be defused.

  8. Treated with dignity and respect.

    Posted by Sally Sue, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise 1-3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met with Denise Kuhlman to discuss the possibility of my filing a Chapter 13. Prior to our meeting she had researched for me the most current available options I may have to pay back my student loan debt. She provided me with a hard copy of that information at the time of our first visit. I appreciated her forthcoming information and knowledge about the process of filing for a Chapter 13.

  9. Short Sell-Densie Kuhlman, Esq. is highly recommended!

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Denise Kuhlman.
    • I hired Denise more than 3 years ago.
    • Denise handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    On my initial free consultation, Kuhlman, Esq. was able to give me pointers on my case and estimated my overall fee (which with her skills amounted to be a reasonable fee.) Since I was being harassed by a company, hired from my bank loan, I was harassed by telephone calls and knocks on my door from various representatives. Denise Kuhlman, Esq. recommended that I telephone and write a letter to the assigned company, stating the Consumer Protection Act in the state of Washington. This Act protects the rights of the consumer and I had the right not to receive telephone calls or visit from their representatives. I asked the representatives from the collection company to send all correspondence in the mail only. This immediately stopped all the harassment. The collection company could not respond in writing for each individual case. They only had form letters, which I did receive. This advice alone was worth meeting with Denise Kuhlman, Esq. and I knew that I selected the right attorney. Next, Denisse Kuhlman, Esq. arranged a neutral mediator via the Department of Commerce, to assist with a final agreement. This was the next major event in my case, was to have a mediation appointment with the collection company's attorney, myself, and Denise Kuhlman, Esq. Denise assisted me with preparting the proper documentation. Kuhlman, Esq. was thorough in contacting the collection agencies' attorney prior to the appointment in order to make sure they would attend the meeting. Even though numerous telephone calls and messages were left, the collection agencies' attorney did not arrive at the appointment and did not telephone with an explanation. Therefore, the mediator concluded that the agency had findings in reagard to the mediation. The mediator indicated that the auction date for my condo would be delayed due to their actions (or lack therof).
    Kuhlman, Esq. not only stopped my harrassing telephone calls; but, she handled the mediation with professionalism and expertise. It gave me two more months in my condo to make moving arrangements and find a new place to live. The agency did reveal an attorney who Kuhlman, Esq. negotiated with for a new closing date (two months past my original date) and agreed to forego my balance owing on the condo-which was approximately $191,000, and a HAFA agreement which gives me $3,000 in moving expenses. So, let me make this clear, I did not have to pay the balance owing on my condo, totaling approximately $191,000!! There was no money owing at the end of our appointments. There could not have been a better outcome. In addition, Kuhlman, Esq. is still negotiating with the agency's attorney to award an additional $1200 for loss of mediation fee of $200 on my part and $1000 for legal fees that I paid for the mediation. Also, I did not want to go through a bankruptcy and because of Kuhlman, Esq. that is the case. I want to say that some cases require a bankruptcy and there are facts that prove it is the best route. In my case, it was not necessary. Throughout my case, which took one year to complete, Kuhlman, Esq. maintained a professional demeanor, discussed my options along the way, negotiated effectively with the opposing attorney, coordinated discussions with my realestate agent, and achieved above and beyong the outcome that I expected. If you have any doubts about Denise Kuhlman, Esq., I recommend her skills, talent, and foresight to anyone undergoing a bankruptcy, a shortsell, a died-in-lieu, a consultation with credit card agencies, wills, etc.