Tristen Une-Jeong Key’s Reviews

Tristen Une-Jeong Key

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. BEST Family Law Attorney you'll find in WA State

    Posted by Kara Blanchard, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen 6-12 months ago.
    • Tristen handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    There's not enough room here to speak about Tristen. She's been my attorney for over 5 years and is an AMAZING attorney. She's guided me through so much in the family law world of WA State. My 2 daughters and I are set-up and secure thanks to her. She's more than an attorney, she actually CARES about you, and it shows in her work. She's gone to battle for me and has been a TOUGH opponent. God truly blessed me by putting her in my path. I'd recommend her, and have recommended her, to everyone. You needn't look any further, she's the complete package.

  2. Awesome and caring lawyer

    Posted by Geoff, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen 6-12 months ago.
    • Tristen handled my Child Custody matter.

    I paid for consultations with several lawyers. Some of them had higher ratings on this site than Tristen. I chose Tristen and never once regretted my decision. Although she was the last attorney I consulted with she provided me with the most information and really took the time to discuss my legal issues. She educated me on various options and case strategies that none of the other lawyers took the time to discuss with me. I have very difficult facts in my child custody and child support case and a couple of the lawyers I consulted with had already given up on my case before being hired. Tristen didn't sugarcoat my case to me to get me to hire her. She was truthful and straightforward but never disrespectful. She printed off forms and walk me through them in case I didn't hire her. She only cared about arming me with as much information than about selling herself to me. She was the only lawyer to play devil's advocate and tell me what the other party would likely argue and how I could best counter the arguments. She is very intelligent. You can actually see her brain working all different angles. She doesn't treat every case the same. I felt understood and respected. I hired Tristen and she has never disappointed me. She is always thorough and one step ahead of the other side. My case is difficult and she has never given up. She almost always wins every time we have to go to court or threatening letters arrive from the other party's lawyer. She doesn't allow the other attorney to bully us. Tristen also is very reasonable in her fees. She tries to keep her fees down and does not do unnecessary work just to charge me. I highly recommend her as a lawyer.

  3. Endorsing Tristen Key

    Posted by Peter, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • Tristen handled my Family matter.

    I have been working with Tristen for nine months. I met with Tristen several times before actually hired her. It was not because I was "interviewing" her, instead I wanted to ask many questions, understanding the process. Tristen always answered my questions, and explained the process going forward. She was always patient, not pressuring me to hire her and move forward. Once I did hire Tristen, she has performed superbly. I feel that I always have gotten honest and straightforward answers and suggestions. Moreover; I can tell that Tristen is also looking our for my finances. She is always honest, and never try to bill for things that are not that important. My "case" are not yet settled, but I am extremely confident that the result will be to my satisfaction. I would recommend Tristen to anyone seeking a family lawyer.

  4. Bad Expierence

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen 1-3 years ago.
    • Tristen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tristen was absolutely horrible. She charged for conversations that never happened. She wouldn't respond to my questions, and she had a mediation set up day when my husband didn't even have a lawyer. She didn't recognize that the papers he submitted had not even gone through the court. I was disgusted and disappointed in her non professional ethics.

  5. a family lawyer that maks a diffrence

    Posted by Frank, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen 1-3 years ago.
    • Tristen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found Tristen through my company referral program and I have to tip my hat to Tristen as one of the best lawyers I've had the pleasure to meet.
    I find her straight shooting and honesty the single most valued perspective. I engaged Tristen in my divorce with simple goals be fair, and be quick. At this point I have to say she has diligently pursued a rapid, and fair process while protecting my interests in the matter.

    The complexity of divorce requires close attention to issues such as a fair parenting, and financial plan. And thanks to Tristen's hard work I believe I have both.

  6. if your case needs guardian ad litem, Tristen maybe will work for you

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen 1-3 years ago.
    • Tristen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I initially chose Tristen because of the good reviews she got on Avvo. She is a big advocate for guardian ad litem. She immediately told me that I need to get GAL involved. She told me that if I don’t get GAL involved, the court was very likely allow a week-on-week-off schedule for my two young kids (<3). I later attend the required parenting seminar and asked the two social workers who gave the seminar. Both of them told me definitively that court would not support such arrangement for kids at such young age.
    It also appears Tristen had limited experience in handling case that involves two working parents with equal financial roles. She told I either have to take all the financial obligations to stay in family residence so that I can have the kids (but bankrupt myself financially), or I have to move out and agree on week-on-week-off schedule which my soon-to-be-ex suggested.
    After spending thousands of dollars, I got nowhere and got extremely frustrated. I later hired a different lawyer, with many more years of experience (not more expensive though). Now my case is in the right direction.
    Looking back, I feel Tristen added unnecessary stress to my already stressful situation. If you know for sure you want to get GAL involved, then Tristen maybe the lawyer for you. In my case, she was not a good choice.

    1. Tristen Une-Jeong Key

      Tristen Key

      Lawyer Comment:

      Linda - I am very pleased to hear that you retained counsel you believe to be more suitable for your matter. I know that many attorneys have different case strategies. After you informed me that you had been following a week-on-week-off schedule for a long time and that you had serious concerns about your husband's parenting issues and domestic violence in the presence of the children, I recommended a GAL to provide the court with the necessary evidence to argue for you to be the primary residential parent. I am actually very experienced with clients that have significant wealth and two income households or clients with limited means. Because you asked me to take a back seat in your matter and allow you to manipulate your husband to posture in the litigation it became too difficult to continue my representation in your matter. Again, I am very pleased you were able to find counsel you are confident with and wish you the best of luck in your matter.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Knowledgable, hard working, and caring

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen 1-3 years ago.
    • Tristen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tristen was a perfect match for me. When I finally realized I couldn't manage my divorce alone an I needed an advocate, I met with several attorneys, but I could tell I was going to choose Tristen within minutes of meeting her.

    Because my ex was not being reasonable, I needed someone knowledgeable to educate me on my options. I was lost in all of the confusion of my separation, legal procedures, financial issues, and how to be able to get time with my children.

    Teisten squared me away on all of those things and have me excellent advice all te way around and at every step. She nudged me along when I needed the nudging and really cared about me as a person, father, client.

    As good as Tristen is at advice and support and knowledge of family and Divorce law, she really impressed me in the courtroom. Her presentation was precise, her rebuttals were quick and direct. She has a good rapport with the judge. She is very sharp and is a "rock star" in the courtroom.

    Tristen bills accurately and works very efficiently in my opinion with procedure and opposing counsel.

    She got me trough a long and very difficult mediation of which I was pleased with the outcome.

    As a side note, I have dealt with the other partners in her office when needed and they too are all very professional and knowledgable and quick with responses.

    There's no way I would be where I am at today without Tristen as my advocate.

  8. Smart, Tenacious, Caring, Experienced

    Posted by Gilbert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen more than 3 years ago.
    • Tristen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I interviewed five attorneys about handling my divorce and only one of them really conveyed an understanding of my situation and my concerns, but she turned out to be a county and a half away which I knew wouldn't work logistically or financially. Then I found Tristen. After a phone consultation I knew she was the attorney I needed. She understood my worries and the case, and she had worked with other clients in the same career field as mine so she understood the needs and difficulties related to the work. She was clearly positive that she could help me maintain joint custody of my kids, if not get me sole custody, and she was compassionate and non-judgemental with my emotional state.

    My divorce has been very contentious, very difficult and Tristen has been everything I described above in the title; I feel she has outwitted and out-played opposing council. She has recommended strong advocates for my position in mediation and in the Guardian ad Litum. Her years of experience in family law have been evident. Tristen has been considerate of my financial position as well and has offered help and suggestions to find ways through that maze. She has been supportive and positive throughout this process even when I felt things were hopeless. She has been smart, forceful and honest; pointing out the realities in the process, dispelling the myths, explaining what I don't understand and helping me to see the long view and the big picture when considering options.

    The short of it is, I'm glad Tristen is in my corner and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her to my friends.

  9. Knowledgeable, Confident, and Caring

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen more than 3 years ago.
    • Tristen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When my ex and I separated, we weren’t able to come to a fair agreement on a parenting plan. Years went by as she used my son against me to get what she wanted. I tried to file for divorce on my own, but her unwillingness to cooperate forced me to give up. Several more years went by as she continued to abuse my relationship with my son until I couldn’t take it anymore. I talked with three attorneys about my situation and they all said there was no way a man was going to win primary custody of a child who had been living with his mother and siblings for over 10 years. Then I met Tristen. She believed in me from day one and not only did I win primary custody, but now my ex has to pay me child support! Tristen did an amazing job telling my story and with the help of a guardian ad litem, she made sure my son’s story was told as well. One of her best assets is that she is very good at finding holes in the opposing side’s story and exposing the truth. This combined with great communication and a no fear attitude make her an amazing attorney.

  10. Excellent, Professional, and Compassionate

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tristen Key.
    • I hired Tristen more than 3 years ago.
    • Tristen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tristen has done a wonderful job at helping me through a very rough divorce. She Not only is Tristen honest and caring, but she seemed to know everything that was needed for my case. It was a very ugly situation, and while frustration was a weekly even due to the ex. Tristen was very empathetic to my situation, and always on top of the case and kept everything moving in a positive direction. I know she had other clients while working with me, but she always knew details and made me feel like her only client. She is very professional and knows how to get down to business. She was able to handle every curve ball my ex and her lawyer could throw at us. Not once did I ever feel like Tristen wasn't in complete control of the situation. I would recommend her to anyone with a family law problem. I hope I never need a lawyer again but if I do Tristen is the one I am calling.

425-776-1352