David Martin Newman’s Reviews

David Martin Newman

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Gun Rights Restoration

    Posted by Rick, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend David Newman to anyone who has their gun rights revoked. (in fact I already have) At our first meeting he outlined in detail the procedure, timeline and different scenarios that may effect the outcome. His retainer was more than fair and he accomplished my restoration rights well within the timeline he had originally proposed, There were left over funds from the restoration retainer which was promptly returned. He kept me very informed throughout the process and answered all my questions as they arose. He knows the procedure very well and had every answer to any questions I had asked. His billing was concise and very detailed and very easy to understand. I saw where all my retainer funds went and had no questions. I have hired several attorneys in the past and I was leery that if I had a question I had would be billed for his answer. Not the case here. He is what all attorneys should be. Fair, honest, trustworthy, professional and extremely qualified. If anyone needs their gun rights restored, David Newman is the one. Highly recommended. If needed I would without doubt hire him again.
    rw

  2. The go-to firm for Second Amendment legal issues!

    Posted by Kerrigan, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Civil Rights matter.

    David Newman accomplished the near-impossible task of getting my firearms rights restored after 20 years of trying with other attorneys, all of which failed to perform.
    The Rainier Law Group is completely professional with a no-nonsense approach, a complete knowledge of firearms rights laws, and the legal system in Washington. I highly recommend David Newman!!

  3. Accomplished what we set out to do

    Posted by Norm,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had what I think was sort of an odd problem, a 40 year old marijuana possession charge that became a felony in 2001 when the records were computerized and my firearms rights were suddenly denied. I'd been battling this for 10 years, including a full pardon from the Governor of Nebraska. Firearms purchases were still denied. Mr. Newman presented me with choices based on cost, worked with me to minimize the cost of my representation and ultimately had my rights restored at less than the estimated cost.

  4. David Newman is a hard worker!

    Posted by Keith,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I came in contact with Mr. David Newman through the Washington Arms Collectors association. I needed his help in having my sons firearms rights restored. Our first hurdle was in dealing with the King County Prosecutors office who incorrectly denied the firearms restoration based on flawed legal interpretation. This was followed by a flawed decision by King County Superior Court Judge Jean Rietschel. Our next move was to the Washington State Court of Appeals where King County Proecutors office conceded they were wrong to deny the restoration. The Court of Appeals agreed and remanded it back to Judge Rietschel who finally restored the firearms rights. This entire process took almost 8 months and Mr. Newman never faltered, persevering on, each and every time. Mr. Newman kept us informed at each and every turn with emails or phone calls.

    I have been a law enforcement officer since 1977 and I have never met such a hard working attorney in my life. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Newman if you need an excellent, knowledgable attorney.

  5. Foreclosure Defense

    Posted by Jim, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    David helped me avoid an imminent trustees sale of my home. With his help, I'm still here and he is still helping me. There is so much fraud and deception going on in the mortgage servicing business that it's difficult to decide how to fight back; or if to fight back. David is a smart and inquisitive guy who will help you to figure that out. Don't expect unrealistic promises from this guy. Honest and practical. No fee gouging. No arrogance. The only reason I rated him "good" rather than "excellent" as knowledgeable is because these loan servicer attorneys are tough opponents who know every trick in the book, legal and illegal, to take your home. And some of those tricks seem to be trade secrets. This foreclosure business is not a level playing field but David holds his own just fine. No receptionist politics to get through to him on the phone. He answers it himself. Prompt e-mail responses too. I recommed David with no hesitation at all.

  6. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Bruce, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have used David's professional services four or five times over the past fifteen years. I have never been disappointed, which is quite remarkable since the issues involved potential litigation.

    David is very skilled in the courtroom and thinks extremely well on his feet. His Toastmaster experience may have something to do with that. As a former investigative reporter with the Spokesman-Review, he writes clearly and concisely. David presents his client's interest persuasively.

  7. Smart, trustworthy, and practical

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have known Dave Newman for decades. He is extremely intelligent and articulate and is one of the most trustworthy people I know. Among my personal friends and acquaintences I count at least a dozen attorneys, but among all of them Dave is the one I trusted to draft my personal will and related documents. He has also given me fast, practical, and reliable advice on how to handle landlord-tentant issues. His billing rate appears to be very low for an attorney of his experience and competence.

    Another quality that distinguishes Dave is that he speaks and writes in English rather than legalistic gobbeldygook. For many years before becoming an attorney, Dave was a newspaper reporter and editor. He knows how to translate legalese into plain English, and he knows how to draft a document that's not only legally precise and effective but also understandable.

    Professionally, I work with legal documents many times in any given month. It is rare to encounter a document drafted by another attorney that's as well-written as the doucments Dave has drafted for me.

    One of the most important attributes of a good attorney is personal integrity. Having known him for literally decades -- since long before he took up the practice of law -- I can vouch that Dave's integrity is of the highest caliber.

    Dave drafted my will and advised me on estate planning and the legalities of how my assets are divided up after I pass away. He quickly and concisely explained the rules and helped me to avoid pitfalls.

    Dave also has advised me several times on questions having to do with landlord-tenant law. He not only explained the law, but also gave good, practical advice on how to solve problems without incurring a lot of legal fees. He seemed ever-mindful of minimizing my legal bills. The advice he gave was not only legal but highly practical -- and very timely.

  8. Most helpful in personal legal issues

    Posted by Steve, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David assisted in the drafting of personal estate documents. My wife and I were quite pleased with the work. It was completed promptly and communication was excellent throughout the process. Several issues were uncovered during the work which David was able to resolve and explain quite well.

  9. A Godsend for Special Needs Child Education

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Newman.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We had a "dispute" with a local school district over our autistic son's educational placement, and constant bullying by other students. The distric wouldn't listen to a word we said. It was a classic David v. Goliath situation. Despite the districts' empty promises, things were only getting worse. We hired David Newman, and he proved to be more than a great attorney, he was also a sympathetic ear. Always available, and very knowledgeable; after years of fighting alone, we finally had someone in our corner and only then did they began to take us seriously.
    We worked out an agreement to our satisfaction within a few weeks, and our son greatly benefited from the action.
    There are very few Education Law attornys in this area, so help can be hard to come by. He really listens. I highly recommed Mr. Newman; he did a wonderful job for us.