The other attorneys who have responded previously state you should contact your insurer, but I understand from your question that your car is "w/o" (without) insurance.
In the case that you are uninsured, you will have to defend yourself because no insurer has a duty to provide you with an attorney.
In order to be responsible for a civil tort such as an auto accident, you typically have to have done or not done some action "negligently." Negligence means that you had a duty to act in...
Washington's Pattern Jury Instructions are often very helpful in defining the elements a legal case. Washington's Pattern Jury Instructions are free through April 2010 at this website: http://government.westlaw.com/linkedslice/default.asp?SP=WCCJI-1000. I don't know what you're needing to define "fraud" or other items for, but both criminal and civil instructions are available. Each sets forth the burden of proof, what you need to prove, etc.
If you're asking if it is OK to ask your own PIP insurer to pay you the amount that remains from your $10,000 policy after payment if your medical expenses, the answer is that you can ask, but they won't do it. The limit on your policy is actually $10,000 for "reasonable, necessary and related" medical expenses incurred within three years of the accident date. This means that they are only going to pay for the medical bills you incur. They won't give the the remaining policy amount.
I am sorry that your mother is so ill.
It sounds like your mom is still lucid and thinking straight despite her serious illness. If so, it is not too late for her to make a will and to have it signed and witnessed in the her home, the hospital or hospice, wherever she is currently receiving care. The important thing is that you rmother must be of "sound mind" when signing a will or it may be declared invalid. This also means not under the influence of too many pain killers.
Because your question does not involve a personal injury caused by the negligence of someone other than possibly your employer or co-workers, you may get a better response by posting your question in the "Workers Compensation" section of Avvo instead. A Workers' Compensation Attorney focuses on the types of questions you are asking.
Yes, you can request the court limit the new partner's ability to communicate with you, especially since abusive communication is detrimental to the children. You may also want to include a declaration from your counselor.
I also think you should seriously consider having an attorney help you with your modification of the parenting plan. Sometimes in family law cases, the legal case itself just becomes another avenue for the abuser to be abusive. Having an attorney acting for you would...
"Washington New Americans" and "OneAmerica" have free resources on becoming a citizen on their webpage at http://www.wanewamericans.org/oneamerica under the "Become a Citizen" tab.
if you believe your friend to be at all complicated, you should consult with an immigration attorney. I know of a few in Seattle who will do a one-hour consultation for $150. It would be worth it to have the application checked by an expert before submitting it.
Good luck and my future congrats to your friend!
Typically, libel requires publication of a false statement to a third person. Plus, you'd have to show what damages you sustained from this being in your girlfriend's record in order to recover compensation.
I think a better avenue for you both is to have the healthcare record corrected. Fortunately, Washington State Law gives patients the right and the procedure for having the record corrected. See RCW 70.02.100 (http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.02.100) and RCW 70.02.110 (...
You may get a more specific answer to your question if you post it under the "workers compensation" section of Avvo since your injury is primarily an "workers compensation" (L&I) issue. I believe whether L&I will give you a settlement for injury depends on the severity and permanence of your injury. I recommend that you consult with a workers compensation attorney about your case before settling anything though to be sure that you are getting what you are entitled to.
Mr. Alexander is correct that you should rush to file a "Notice of Appearance" at the courthouse and then get your "Answer" filed ASAP.
The fact that you are over the 20 day deadline does not give the other side a "default judgment" against you automatically. Therefore, getting those two documents filed should protect you.
While you are at the courthouse, check the court file and make sure that the other side has not already filed a "Motion for Default" before you got your "Notice of...