Robert Charles Kaufman’s Reviews

Robert Charles Kaufman

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent family law lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I came to Mr. Kaufman 6 months ago for my divoce case. During the whole process, I am very impressed by his knowledge and expericence in the the area of family law. My divoce case was settled in a little longer than 3 months with my interests well represented and meet. Without Bob's help, I can not imagine it will go so smoothly. I strongly recomment him.

  2. Mr. Kaufman: Outstanding Attorney with Experience, Talent, Proven Record of Success (& Soul!). Valiantly Fights for YOUR Rights!

    Posted by Aliya, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Family matter.

    I was raised in a conservative culture. My marriage was wrought with abuse; and the saga continued, for over a decade, post-divorce. My naivety during the divorce cost me dearly. There were a multitude of problems relating to child support, residential schedules, property settlements, and other matters. Despite the overt hostility of my ex-spouse, I tried to resolve the issues amicably – but it fell on deaf ears. As a last resort, I finally agreed to approaching an attorney for help. I was referred to attorney extraordinaire, Mr. Robert Kaufman, by a friend who lost a case to him. My friend was highly impressed with Mr. Kaufman; and recognized his innate talent.

    When I first met Mr. Kaufman, I expressed fear of retaliation from my ex-spouse. Mr. Kaufman was empathetic, evinced cultural sensitivity, and vested himself in fighting for the our legal rights. Mr. Kaufman went the extra mile to comprehend the complexities of my culture. He went above and beyond to protect and ensure the safety of my children and me. I cannot emphasize enough the importance of having a outstanding attorney, like Mr. Kaufman, who unafraid for to fight for the rights of people from different walks of life. He is caring, compassionate, extraordinarily talented, and works hard for his clients. I appreciated his approach to placating familial issues on amicable terms. Mr. Kaufman’s stately and tacit demeanor is one of his greatest strengths. Do not mistake his calm trait for compliance. He dauntlessly fends for the rights of his clients in litigation matters - and has a long track record of successes to prove his mettle. As in my case, my ex-spouse retorted, with the aid of an unscrupulous attorney, to false allegations and character assassination. Mr. Kaufman deftly defied and halted the disgraceful antics. I have worked with Mr. Kaufman for nearly two years (the legal issues pertaining to my divorce were complex and tedious). He championed all of the aforementioned litigation matters ACING every case in our favor!

    Mr. Kaufman's technical veracity while upholding the dignity of his client is remarkable. He always kept me up-to-date about the proceedings during each litigation. He always made time to explain legalese, recommended options, and inspired me to be in control of my legal rights. Communication was seamless and timely. I was grateful for not having to deal with sticker shock because he does not nickel and dime clients. Mr. Kaufman could charge astronomical rates and still run a roaring business. However, he has made it his mission to crusade for those who are in dire need of legal help– he is dedicated to his art (i.e., Family Law).

    Mr. Kaufman's talent is undeniable (and supported by 35+ years of experience). Needless to say, because of Mr. Kaufman's unwavering support, extensive knowledge, experience in with working with people from all walks of life, we WON every single case. I will forever remain in his debt for protecting my children. I am indebted to Mr. Kaufman for his guidance, patience and support through the prolix journey.

    I unequivocally recommend Mr. Kaufman to those seeking an elite warrior to tide them through legal battles!

  3. Supportive of my divorce needs within cost constraints

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Handled my long-distance divorce in a professional manner, carefully explained my options and filed appropriate paperwork. Considered my finances and circumstances and made suggestions suitable to my situation, weighing reward vs. expenses to help me make informed decisions about my case. Negotiated with opposing counsel to reach an agreement suitable to both parties without protracted court battles. Bob treated me like a friend and showed genuine concern, helping me protect my rights and get through a difficult time. His experience and compassion were evident from our first conversation and I am glad to have had him looking out for me. I recommend him wholeheartedly to anyone in need of a good divorce lawyer.

  4. Knowlegeable Partner for my Divorce

    Posted by Katie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Bob Kaufman upon the recommendation of a contract law attorney I know. Throughout the process, Bob kept me informed and helped me get my divorce settled. There was a long time where my ex-husband would not respond to the service by mail that I had requested to try to keep things more amicable, and Bob helped me move the case forward to a successful resolution by advising me on doing formal process service, and working with my ex-husband's first attorney and then his second attorney when he changed representation to get the case back on track. When my ex husband's lawyer kept trying to postpone the trial date by a year, even though we should have been working on a settlement out of court, Bob worked with the opposing attorney and the judge to postpone only by one month. When it came time to mediate the settlement for both finances as well as custody of our kids, Bob gave me a detailed rundown of how the process would work from a mechanics and legal perspective. I felt well-prepared when we reached the mediation office, and as a result, we were able to agree on everything in less than 6 hours. As the major breadwinner who had most of the assets (retirement and stock), I felt I reached a fair deal with my ex-husband and that something that could have been fairly contentious went as painlessly as possible, due in large part by Bob's preparations and experience. I am grateful for Bob's steady presence, his respect for my wishes in remaining as amicable as possible with my ex, even when my ex and his attorney were trying to slow things down, and his knowledge for how to get the case moving and settled. I must also say that Bob's patience with me since I travel frequently for work was also a great help, and the fact that I could trust everything in his capable hands was one less major stress for me to contend with in the already-messy situation that one finds oneself in when a marriage is ending and there are children involved. My divorce was finalized yesterday, and even then, Bob was noting that the quit claim deed notary seal was outside the borders of the document, and so he sent a fresh one for my ex-husband to sign. That level of attention to detail in getting everything in order, even after the case is supposedly closed, is just one example of how great Bob was to have in my corner. It is clear that he takes pride in his work, and his experience was reassuring to me at every step from the initial filing, to the various developments in the case, all the way to the final filing. My first marriage ended with divorce in another state, so I have experience with other lawyers who are not nearly as good or as dedicated and professional. Not that I'm interested in getting married a third time, but if I do, I will ask Bob to write my pre-nup for me, whether or not I am still living in Washington. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Bob Kaufman to anyone getting a divorce.

  5. A great attorney for a tough time

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Kaufman was recommended to me by a colleague and I am grateful for that reference. Beyond his expert knowledge of the law, Bob was an even better counselor. There were many times during my divorce where I became "fired up" about something, ready to send a salvo in the direction of my ex. Bob would take the time to understand the point of contention, then offer very sage advice about how to best handle the situation to achieve the ultimate outcome I desired.

    The other thing I really appreciated about Bob was his willingness to accommodate my style of working..which is to use a lot of email and occasional phone calls. I cannot be sure if this was easier or harder for him to handle, but it didn't matter - he adapted to me, not the other way around. I haven't dealt with a lot of attorneys, but I feel pretty certain that this adaptability is somewhat unique.

    Finally, and most importantly, he is very knowledgeable and experienced in the area of family law. While my divorce was not particularly contentious, there were several troublesome areas of disagreement. Each of these were resolved satisfactorily from my perspective, with a minimum amount of fuss (read: less $ spent on lawyers).

  6. Tough Attorney for a Tough Situation

    Posted by Dave, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a male in my thirties and was going through a very contentious 17 month divorce and needed to retain an attorney that I could trust. I was looking for an individual that knew the law, was aggressive and competent in front of a judge/commissioner. I came across Mr. Kaufman and he proved to be just that. Divorce is a tough time in one's life and Robert helped reassure me throughout this challenging time. His knowledge of the law (all the ins and outs and trust me, there are a lot) helped me secure my two young children in my custody. Thanks to Robert, my 5 and 7 year old boys live with me 80% of the time, I am the primary parent in their lives and have the pleasure of waking up with them under my roof every morning. There is no monetary value that can be put on top of that. Thank you Robert!

  7. Great attorney

    Posted by rk, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bob is a great attoreny who is not only an expert with a sound legal knowledge but he also helped me kept perspective throughout the case holistically. He is a very good listener and also does not hesitate to ask tough questions which really helps one to look things through a different lens especially when you are going through a difficult phase throughout the divorce. He is very accessible and responds in a timely manner. I will highly recommend him to anyone who is looking to hire an expert attorney with good listening ears and a great human being.

  8. Exceptionally Capable, Insightful, Experienced, and is Simply A Good Human

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It's hard to express credibly in writing just how positive my experience was with Bob. Like so many clients, I was totally ignorant to the legal process around divorce and (inadvertently) made some decisions that weren't helpful to Bob. In the end, he always had a great attitude and point for point resolved my case in my benefit to a greater degree than I had hoped.

    Looking back, I can see that Bob has a great feel for timing and nuance. Still he's not a mind reader. It is important regardless who your attorney is to provide clear and organized information/documents pertaining to your case. A concise summary never hurts, either...

    Here's the crazy part...I retained Bob under a legal insurance plan that pays extremely low. At no point, did I sense that my case was less of a priority than any other. As a matter of fact at this point, I know he applies himself fully for every client. In this regard, I applaud his integrity and commitment to providing top-notch legal services to the community.

    I would recommend Bob for any family law case without hesitation.

  9. Good Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bob Kaufman was recommended to me through my work benefits. I found him to be very knowledgeable, caring and compassionate. My separation/divorce was amicable, so I mostly just needed Mr. Kaufman for advice and reviewing/filing the paperwork. He kept me very informed via email and answered any questions I had promptly. He worked well with the other attorney. He did exactly as I wanted and made sure that my best interests were represented. I would use him again and would recommend him to others for their separation/divorce.

  10. The Finest Attorney I Have Ever Worked With!

    Posted by Joseph, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Kaufman.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I consider myself extremely lucky that I was able to hire Robert Kaufman to represent me halfway through an extremely contentious divorce. My first attorney resigned after one year and no progress at all on the case. Mr. Kaufman took control of the case and brought it to an excellent conclusion, while protecting, defending, advising, and helping me through the worst experience of my life. He is an exceptional attorney, has a complete and comprehensive knowledge of the law, is a bulldog in court and arbitration, and an extremely nice man. (I was amazed at his abilities in court and arbitration!) With Bob's assistance, I made it through this horrible event in my life and came out the other side with an extremely fair settlement that will enable me to live my life and enhance the lives of my children.

    Just for the record, my ex-wife and her attorney did not want me to spend time with my children, wanted everything I own and everything I earn, were full of accusations, and would not discuss or negotiate anything at all with my first attorney for almost a year. They fabricated issues and they were not remotely interested in being fair....they only wanted to win. There was no basis for any of this and my first attorney made zero headway with the case. No mediation, no arbitration...nothing...just arguments, obfuscation, delays, poor advice, and huge attorney bills. With the clarity that only comes from retrospect, I can now see that my case was totally mismanaged. I felt totally and completely abused by the legal system and the divorce industry....and I still believe that was what happened.

    Once Bob became involved, we were able to move forward and settle the case within a few months with a 50-50 parenting plan (which is what I always wanted) and a financial settlement that was extremely fair to both sides. I would have never believed it, but now...my ex-wife and I are speaking to each other, getting along, and co-parenting our children...although she is terrible at that. :) I am convinced that without Bob, I would have ended up at trial, taking my chances at the whim of the judge, and it would not have turned out nearly as well as it did. Being a man, in King County, Washington seems to be a real disadvantage in a divorce. It is not an experience I would force on my worst enemy, yet Bob was able to guide me through it, protect my rights, and help me protect my children and their lives.

    Bob is an excellent attorney and an outstanding advocate. He is personable, kind, understanding, patient, and always followed up on the many, many details of a very complicated, drawn-out, and contentious case. His advice was always good and well thought out. He helped me through this more than anyone else in my life and I would be honored to actually call him my friend. I intend to utilize Bob for any future legal issue or question I may encounter.

    I would highly recommend Bob Kaufman and you should consider yourself lucky if you are able to hire him to handle your case. You will never find a finer attorney, a better advocate, or a nicer man.