Michelle Carmody Kaplan’s Reviews

Michelle Carmody Kaplan

Average Rating

Based on 40 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent - Highly Recommend

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 1-6 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Michelle is thorough, sharp, organized, and professional. We interviewed three attorneys before hiring Michelle, and we are so glad we hired her. Michelle demonstrated not only an incredible amount of knowledge, but also practical experience. We are very pleased with the outcome of our case and thankful to Michelle for her expertise.

  2. I wasn't nervous.

    Posted by Mark, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm in the last year of my twenties and I had pennies to my name and more debt that I could imagine. I knew that if I ever wanted to build a future for myself I would need to file bankruptcy. I came across Avvo and found Michelle and it was the best experience of my life from a legal standpoint. Michelle is simply excellent. Excellent in her communications, her legal advice, and she defines trust in the legal industry. I highly recommend Michelle Kaplan for your bankrtupcy lawyer. She is the Roles Royce of bankruptcy attorneys and I can't thank her enough for making my Chapter 7 file filing a breeze.

  3. endorsement of Michelle Kaplan

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michelle is a very personable, helpful and capable attorney who helped make an unpleasant situation not so bad. My experience with her was only positive and I would definitely recommend her to anyone. She would certainly be my chioice if I should ever need legal advice in the future .

  4. Exceptional Lawyer!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We never thought bankruptcy would be a reality for us and it was a very difficult time in our lives. While exploring what bankruptcy would mean for us, my husband and I spoke to several bankruptcy lawyers and were told Chapter 13 was our only option. Then we met Michelle...she took the time to look at the details of our situation and determined that we qualified for Chapter 7. We truly felt that Michelle had compassion for what we were going through. She was always responsive to any questions we had and consistently gave us clear answers. We highly recommend Michelle Carmody Kaplan to anyone that is faced with bankruptcy.

  5. Kaplan Law get's the job done!

    Posted by Michael, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Awesome Lawyer! I would surely recommend Michelle Carmody Laplan services, she was outstanding and excellent in every way possible from start to finish. I never knew about the possibilities afforded to me by the law and Michelle had a thorough knowledge and the know how to make it happen. I received all the optoins and counselling in a timely, professsional and in top notch fashion to complete my case to my ulitimate satisfaction!!!

  6. Excellent bankruptcy attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I am so pleased with Michelle's work and would gladly recommend her to friends and family as I know she would take good care of them. She was a terrific listener and asked questions in a compassionate and understanding manner, all while working to get us the best possible arrangement for our bankruptcy. She knows the system, the people, the trustees, and was ready to share that knowledge to help us know what to expect. She showed us that we qualified for chapter 7 when other lawyers had told us we wouldn't. I will certainly contact her again for any legal issues I have.

  7. Recommendation for Michelle Carmody Kaplan

    Posted by Nancy, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Having to file bankruptcy is one of the most difficult decisions I have ever had to make. I met with Michelle not knowing what to expect. Michelle was the most professional and yet caring attorney I have ever met. She is so knowledgeable and gave me all the facts before I made a decision. Once the decision was made to file bankruptcy, she kept me informed and explained everything that would happen. She took the fear out of the process. She was always available by phone or email when I had questions or felt overwhelmed. I cannot say enough good things about Michelle. If you are in a financial crisis, I would recommend talking to a professional and Michelle Kaplan is by far the best attorney. I feel so lucky to have had Michelle in my corner representing me during this most difficult time in my life. Thank you Michelle!!

  8. Knowledgeable & Responsive

    Posted by Lynn & Greg, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Michelle was very knowledgeable and explain the process in a way that was understandable to a lay person and made it as smooth as possible. We appreciated her telling us exactly what would happen in court so we weren't as nervous. Michelle and her assistant were very responsive in getting back to us with answers to our questions or issues with debtors. She was very sensitive to us in a difficult time.

  9. Unparalleled Service

    Posted by Beau, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I have had more than the average persons fair share of legal council and most were good, but none compared to the service I got from Michelle and her team, they were simply amazing. At any point in the 3 1/2 months my wife & I worked w/ Michelle on our Bankruptcy, it never felt like I was ever going thru one because they handled everything and just notified me weekly on where we were.. My normal life never had to change or have more stress piled on, simply because of the excellent work they did. There confidence and know-how kept my family & me from having to worry or stress about anything. I could not be any more pleased w/ how everything turned out and how my life is now. I would work w/ them in a heartbeat. Thank you Michelle

  10. Highly recommend

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Very helpful and knowledgeable in guiding you through the processes and keeps you informed as to what is happening - your role/her role etc. Have recommended her to others.

425-818-4818