Michelle Carmody Kaplan’s Reviews

Michelle Carmody Kaplan

Average Rating

Based on 42 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very effective statrt to finish

    Posted by Jeff,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.

    Michelle helped us relax and find out all our options in a very stressful time. We were dealing with a very aggressive unresponsive loan servicer and finally needed to find a lawyer to clarify how to approach our difficulty. Michelle was always quick to answer our many questions in a way we could clearly under stand.
    She was professional and friendly and helped us to come to a successful conclusion in our case.

  2. A gift from above.... Thank you is not enough Michelle.

    Posted by Heather,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.

    Michelle was literally a gift from above... I had been in a toxic relationship for 7 years. I was afraid to leave for more then one reason, but the biggest was I had a ton of credit card debt in my name and my boyfriend at the time was the one who made the money in the relationship while I stayed home and took care of our two young girls... I had finally reached a point where I knew I had to do something. I had seen Michelle's ad on AVVO and made the decision to contact her through her website. I was contacted by Michelle personally via email that same day.. I met with Michelle the following week. Michelle was so personable; friendly, and knowledgeable. I just knew, you know that gut feeling you get where you go; "This is right." I knew I didn't need to go see anyone else, I knew that with Michelle's help I was going to be okay... So I took the jump and I trusted her to be my lifesaver, and she was. Michelle was always quick to answer any questions or concerns. She made sure everything was done correctly so that there would be no hiccups or anything for the courts to question.

    I had tried to repair my broken relationship. When I finally decided that it was non-repairable, I no longer had the debt holding me hostage... I am now debt free, and it's the best feeling. I only have a small income right now since I just began working part time a few months ago, and it's so nice to know that I am able to actually save money! I have more money saved then I ever have my whole life. It's great to feel like a FREE, responsible adult and mother.
    Thank you Michelle, you literally are one of the key players of people who helped save my life, in helping me find happiness.
    I recommend her to ANYONE! (And now I'm crying :) )

  3. Excellent - Highly Recommend

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Michelle is thorough, sharp, organized, and professional. We interviewed three attorneys before hiring Michelle, and we are so glad we hired her. Michelle demonstrated not only an incredible amount of knowledge, but also practical experience. We are very pleased with the outcome of our case and thankful to Michelle for her expertise.

  4. I wasn't nervous.

    Posted by Mark, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm in the last year of my twenties and I had pennies to my name and more debt that I could imagine. I knew that if I ever wanted to build a future for myself I would need to file bankruptcy. I came across Avvo and found Michelle and it was the best experience of my life from a legal standpoint. Michelle is simply excellent. Excellent in her communications, her legal advice, and she defines trust in the legal industry. I highly recommend Michelle Kaplan for your bankrtupcy lawyer. She is the Roles Royce of bankruptcy attorneys and I can't thank her enough for making my Chapter 7 file filing a breeze.

  5. endorsement of Michelle Kaplan

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michelle is a very personable, helpful and capable attorney who helped make an unpleasant situation not so bad. My experience with her was only positive and I would definitely recommend her to anyone. She would certainly be my chioice if I should ever need legal advice in the future .

  6. Exceptional Lawyer!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We never thought bankruptcy would be a reality for us and it was a very difficult time in our lives. While exploring what bankruptcy would mean for us, my husband and I spoke to several bankruptcy lawyers and were told Chapter 13 was our only option. Then we met Michelle...she took the time to look at the details of our situation and determined that we qualified for Chapter 7. We truly felt that Michelle had compassion for what we were going through. She was always responsive to any questions we had and consistently gave us clear answers. We highly recommend Michelle Carmody Kaplan to anyone that is faced with bankruptcy.

  7. Kaplan Law get's the job done!

    Posted by Michael, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 6-12 months ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Awesome Lawyer! I would surely recommend Michelle Carmody Laplan services, she was outstanding and excellent in every way possible from start to finish. I never knew about the possibilities afforded to me by the law and Michelle had a thorough knowledge and the know how to make it happen. I received all the optoins and counselling in a timely, professsional and in top notch fashion to complete my case to my ulitimate satisfaction!!!

  8. Excellent bankruptcy attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I am so pleased with Michelle's work and would gladly recommend her to friends and family as I know she would take good care of them. She was a terrific listener and asked questions in a compassionate and understanding manner, all while working to get us the best possible arrangement for our bankruptcy. She knows the system, the people, the trustees, and was ready to share that knowledge to help us know what to expect. She showed us that we qualified for chapter 7 when other lawyers had told us we wouldn't. I will certainly contact her again for any legal issues I have.

  9. Recommendation for Michelle Carmody Kaplan

    Posted by Nancy, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Having to file bankruptcy is one of the most difficult decisions I have ever had to make. I met with Michelle not knowing what to expect. Michelle was the most professional and yet caring attorney I have ever met. She is so knowledgeable and gave me all the facts before I made a decision. Once the decision was made to file bankruptcy, she kept me informed and explained everything that would happen. She took the fear out of the process. She was always available by phone or email when I had questions or felt overwhelmed. I cannot say enough good things about Michelle. If you are in a financial crisis, I would recommend talking to a professional and Michelle Kaplan is by far the best attorney. I feel so lucky to have had Michelle in my corner representing me during this most difficult time in my life. Thank you Michelle!!

  10. Knowledgeable & Responsive

    Posted by Lynn & Greg, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michelle Kaplan.
    • I hired Michelle 1-3 years ago.
    • Michelle handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Michelle was very knowledgeable and explain the process in a way that was understandable to a lay person and made it as smooth as possible. We appreciated her telling us exactly what would happen in court so we weren't as nervous. Michelle and her assistant were very responsive in getting back to us with answers to our questions or issues with debtors. She was very sensitive to us in a difficult time.

425-818-4818