Nicole B Chafetz’s Reviews

Nicole B Chafetz

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Listened and heard

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.

    Having a non-parental third party custody case with both original petitioners separating, most lawyers I talked to gave me the run around. They were interested in the case if I wanted to pay them for their time to research it, which obviously wasn't my focus and I didn't have time for. Luckily we found Nicki just in time!

    We picked Nicole Chafetz off AVVO because of her experience on such cases. After reading a bio that says she thrives on putting biological families back together I was a little concerned. This is anything but biological. I expressed my concerns to Nicki and she was polite and professional as she explained that she is here to put families of all different dimensions together. It put my mind at ease and made it easier for us to work together because I knew that she had my best interest at heart, as well as, my daughters. Up to this point I haven't had a lawyer and found that I felt out of control and this made me uncomfortable; however, being able to explain my feelings to someone who listened and heard what I was saying made all the difference. Nicki took notice of the way I felt and went out of her way to make sure I had and knew everything that I needed to in order to feel included.

    We've just won our first step and I look forward to continuing to work with Nicki for our permenant order!

    1. Nicole B Chafetz

      Nicole B Chafetz

      Lawyer Comment:

      I know how I lost that one star on this client and it makes me sad. She talked to me about it in the middle of the case. Sometimes I work hard on the legal part of a case but don't do enough of the "counseling" part. This client, despite having won and won big (being allowed to move out of state with her 3rd party custodian daughter, even though all of the biological ties were on the other side, she felt that I could have done more hand-holding and more communicating about my case strategy.

      I DO learn however! And I will keep this in mind for all future clients. It's not all about the law and winning, some of it is about bringing ease to the client's mind when that is warranted, especially when they tell you they want to be hands on.

      Posted 5 days ago. Flag

  2. Nicole's a go getter!

    Posted by Cindy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole 1-6 months ago.
    • Nicole handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Fighting for grandmothers rights and custody was only possible because of Nicole. I had a few moments where I was starting to doubt her, but she proved me wrong. She's tough and gets done what needs to be done. Her assistant Lew is also a great asset to her team.

  3. Non Parental Custody

    Posted by Christine, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole 1-6 months ago.
    • Nicole handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We were in an emergency situation and Nicole was very quick to respond to us. She was quick to put us at ease and make us feel comfortable. She was very knowledgeable in a Third Party Custody situation and had us in court in two days. It is an on going battle, but now we feel the system works and have all the faith in Nicole to see us to the end. If you need a lawyer that knows her stuff and who will fight with all she has for you, then you need to call Nicole.

  4. Recommed

    Posted by Betty, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole 6-12 months ago.
    • Nicole handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nicole is an outstanding attorney who helped me through a stressful domestic violence protection order case. Nicole is extremely quick and responsive regardless of the weekend and that was important to me. She is very knowledgeable, understanding , dedicated, aggressive and supportive meaning you don't feel alone. She instructed and kept me at ease when I was in panic. I was very impressed by her unique presentation in the court hearing . I had two hearings one as the petitioner and one as respondent. At the end, everything was successful and that is why I would continue to seek Nicole's service and encourage somebody else to do so. Nicole is excellent!

    1. Nicole B Chafetz

      Nicole B Chafetz

      Lawyer Comment:

      This case made me particularly happy.

      It was one of those cases where victim files a dvpo and abuser files one for the next day (in another county, nonetheless!)

      We won her protection order in King County and used the "discovery" obtained in the King County hearing to prove that since he paid for her airplane ticket in the old world he felt as though he owned her in the new world.

      Wonderfully fun cross examination!

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  5. A thanks to Nicole

    Posted by PHIL, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicole handled my Family matter.

    Hi, I just want to right a note of praise for our lawyer Nicole as she helped our family in protecting our grandson in getting custody for my son , she not only had great knowledge of the law but made us feel like she was part of our family through this , thank you Nicole for your hard work you did for us. We are now contacting Nicole in help for our family again as the mother is stirring up matters that we know will be handled contacting Nicole.

  6. fights for rights of men

    Posted by VICTOR, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • Nicole handled my Family matter.

    nicole chafetz was my lawyer for over 7 years during a very long, drawn out cps case involving drug addiction, military combat service and incarceration,among other things. she was outstanding in her defense of my case even while i was stationed overseas in iraq and back stateside. her respect towards clients and her focus on mens' rights makes her immensely qualified.

  7. Nicole Chafetz

    Posted by O, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicole handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nicole and her assistant Julie were incredibly helpful with my case. They informed me about what was going on with my case and exactly what my options were. She was quick about filing the proper paperwork i needed, and she helped me win back the right to see my daughter. She is a very polite and clear attorney. I am incredibly grateful to have her as my lawyer.

  8. Striving for Excellence

    Posted by newfoundation73, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicole handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms Chafetz showed professionalism throught my entire case. She was very clear in the path in which we took and was informative in all process of the ordeal from the very basics of documentation to the presentation in the courtroom. She is very through with verbage that need to be presented on paperwork and presents information to her clients that presents a sense of teamwork in the process. She was a major part of the process of getting things right in court. I would continue to seek out her services and would encourage other to seek out her services as well.

  9. Nicole B Chafetz

    Posted by Olivia, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicole handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have been involved in 2 dependency cases where my children were removed from my home. The first dependency was filed in 2006. I researched many lawyers before deciding to retain Nicole. She was very helpful in explaning how the system workes and figuring out my options. I decided to motion for a disposition hearing as to my childrens placement and the judge decided to return my children home to me. My kids were home much sooner than expected in your average dependency case. Then in 2010 I was faced with having to file two parenting plans and Nicole offered to help me with them free of charge. Nicole offered a great deal of information to me and she was always available to go over my case whenever I deemed necessicary. During the most confusing hopless time of my life I had a wonderful lawyer on my side.

  10. BEST ATTORNEY IN KING COUNTY!!!!!!!

    Posted by Robert, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicole Chafetz.
    • I hired Nicole more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicole handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nicole was absolutely awesome in my case with CPS. She did everything professionally, and was on the ball everytime and did nothing but present the facts and truths of the case.
    She was open to my input and research to help her, and didnt think i got in the way by helping sometimes. She is the best, and if you ever need an attorney, and need help in family law, NICOLE is the ONE you want, HANDS DOWN!

    1. Nicole B Chafetz

      Nicole B Chafetz

      Lawyer Comment:

      Robert is a former client and current friend.

      I am particularly proud of my work on his case since he is a man, and we fought to win custody for him of his girl child and we all know how hard that is in King County.

      He is still raising his daughter all these years later.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag