Janel K Ostrem’s Reviews

Janel K Ostrem

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. super efficient in handling my easy divorce

    Posted by Sarah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel 6-12 months ago.
    • Janel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had a very easy, uncontested divorce and Janel did a wonderful job in handling everything for me efficiently so that the cost to me was kept as low as possible. She was very quick with drafting up the paperwork, getting signatures, and getting everything filed. I highly recommend Janel.

  2. highly recommend!

    Posted by Melissa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel 1-3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Janel was always on top of my case and kept me informed. She always explained what would come up next and was prepared. My divorce was ugly and long, janel did her best to move things along while not nickel and diming me. She will fight for you when you need her to, and knows when to wait things out. She was a great advocate to have. I highly recommend her, and have to anyone that asks.

  3. Solid Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel 1-3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Child Custody matter.

    Janel was given my case after I became upset with the way it had been handled by a partner at her old firm. Janel did an adequate job. She did goof up my numbers when it went to court, but she made up for it by handling herself well in court. She also does a good job personalizing and making you feel like she cares. She was way overpriced in her old firm but did little things to soften the blow (like letting me do some of the grunt work). I'm not sure what she charges now.

  4. Best legal experience ever!

    Posted by Duree, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel 1-3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Janel gives excellent and calm advice during what is a stressful challanging time. It was refreshing to have her as my lawyer. She knows the challange faced by her clients and knows how to guide you through the legal process, making sure you understand all your options.

  5. Fabulous Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Tina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel more than 3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Janel as my divorce attorney on a recommendation from my teacher's union. My case was incredibly emotional and filled with more drama than I wanted. I felt hopeless and truthfully, as though I didn't have much of a leg to stand on in court. My ex husband made quite a bit more money than I did, was somewhat ruthless in his decisions and pushback, and we had one child together and more so, we were a mid term marriage.
    Through the process, Janel was knowledgeable, kind, and quick to respond to my questions. She worked with me to provide me options and how to handle the unfolding saga of my life. It truly was a nasty ordeal that, in the end I was able to walk out with my head held high, my dignity in tact, and a new life to unfold in front of me.
    In my first meeting with Janel, she told me she prefers to be amicable when possible, however, in the event that things were not going our way, she had no problem to go in for the fight. She proved that as my divorce was nasty at the end and even through mediation, she did not back down in order to ensure I was taken care of and not taken advantage of.
    I have recommended Janel several times to both friends and acquaintances. In the event I need legal counsel or representation again, she is my first choice.

  6. If you want to win your case I would not recommend working Janel.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel 1-3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was not impressed with the way my case was handled. I did not feel Janel knew all the facts of my case. Although, she was pleasant to work with if you want to win your case I would recommend you hire someone with more hutzpah.

  7. Janel K Ostrem and My WILL

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel more than 3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My only complaint I have is she took 6 weeks to write up my WILL
    I was told 2 weeks for the draft instead took 3 weeks.. Made a few changes and Finally after 6 weeks had an Apt to sign Doc.

    If u have lots of time and dont need it done in a hurry.. She has the skills to write up a Will. Cost was $670ish

  8. Divorce? Hire Janel Ostrem!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel more than 3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Divorce is a really difficult process to go through and Janel has an ability to keep you focused and as black and white as possible while getting you to remove the emotionality that sometimes negatively affects your decisions. Each time I would panic or go through yet another shock, I always felt better after talking with her.

  9. Divorce Process/Settlement

    Posted by Tom, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel more than 3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Janel provided a clear understanding of the process steps that we would be dealing with under a normal divorce proceeding. She worked for and supported me in areas that I was not willing to accept the usual outcomes. She listen to and tested many of my settlement expectations and worked with me to come up with aggressive, but reasonable positions we used in mediation and court. She provided very good research that she used in case preparation. The third party resources that she had available for use regarding 401k, pension and real estate settlement calculations where great to work with and very knowledgeable. They provided positions that reflected what could be expected under normal conditions and using assertive positions under our strategies. The results we were able to come up with using facts and data supportable by case history, reasonableness and creditable third party calculations benefited me significantly when analyzing the final settlement results.

    I found the value of her legal services (professional rates) to be reasonable. For each dollar I spent for her support to fight for more value ($ and personal property) staying on my side of the balance sheet, I gained a significant positive multiplier in the end. In a state where process and laws do not favor a man like me, Janel fought and got more than what would be considered a common outcome.

    Janel also was willing to use technologies such as email, electronic Microsoft Office and Adobe PDF files and electronic transmissions that allowed for reduction in traditional costs of copying, mailing, facsimile transmissions, physical filing and face to face meetings. Use of these tools also allowed for a reduced cycle time. We were able to show that we had responded with electronic date stamps on many of our documents in a significantly more timely and professional way than the opposing counsel. This not only save me money, but the electronic trail was very beneficial in mediation and court.

  10. Janel

    Posted by Leo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janel Ostrem.
    • I hired Janel more than 3 years ago.
    • Janel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Janel was very good in keeping me informed with my divorce legal proceedings and had provided the much needed information to help me understand the process. She and her staff had been great in responding back to my inquiries.