Oregon's expungement law (ORS 137,225) allows convictions for assault in the 4th degree to be set aside provided that the following are true:
1. The person has fully complied with all requirements of the sentence,
2. More than 3 years have passed since the conviction,
3. No other convictions within the past 10 years, and
4. No pending criminal charges.
You should consult a criminal defense attorney to make sure you qualify. Many defense attorneys offer free and confidential...
We have had success in accomplishing early termination of probation in Oregon. If your probation officer supports early termination, that will be helpful. In order to accomplish early termination, it will be necessary to persuade the judge that you have complied with all requirements of probation, including any treatment or counseling, that you have not had contact with any person with whom you are prohibited from having contact, and that you are not a threat to the community or your family....
Oregon's expungement law is codified as 137.225. The statute is very clear that a person who is convicted of two offenses must wait a minimum of 10 years before filing an expungement motion. There are no exceptions. In order to remove these convictions from your record, you will have to wait until the 10th anniversary of your convictions. The only way this situation the alleviated will be if the legislature modifies the law. Over the years, Oregon's expungement law has been amended many times....
You are facing serious criminal charges. It is not wise for you to post information on the Internet about your situation. What you post online can be read by people who do not have your best interest at heart. You need to consult with a criminal defense attorney immediately. Many attorneys offer a free confidential initial consultation.
Unfortunately, Oregon's expungement law does not allow a motion to set aside an arrest or conviction when the person has been convicted of any other offense, other than a traffic violation, within the 10 year period prior to filing the motion. Therefore, you must wait until the 10th anniversary of your other conviction before you can get your earlier arrest removed from your record.
Your result will depend heavily on the court that will be considering your case. Some courts offer breaks for first time offenders for charges like this. Without knowing more, it is not possible to predict your outcome.
Any person facing a criminal charge would be smart to consult an attorney who defends clients on such matters. Many defense attorneys offer a free and confidential consultation.
One other important bit of advice. DO NOT POST ANYTHING ABOUT YOUR CASE ONLINE!
Cases like this are prosecuted very aggressively in Oregon. Your boyfriend is likely to face a charge of statutory rape.
We have defended many clients in this situation. The criminal charges your boyfriend is facing could damage his entire future.
The consequences include him being convicted of a felony which will never qualify for expungement, as well as jail.
Your boyfriend needs legal representation immediately. When he is contacted by the police, your boyfriend should only say...
Consult an attorney who handles DUII cases immediately. There is much that a good lawyer can do to assist in a situation like this. You need to be aware that there are actions which need to be taken immediately in order to protect your rights. For example, if you want to challenge the suspension of your driving privileges under Oregon's Implied Consent Law, you must file a written challenge to the proposed suspension within the first 10 days of your arrest. Do not expect to get answers to...
Any person who wishes to visit Canada must be aware that the Canadian government punishes the crime of driving under the influence much more severely than commonly encountered in the United States.
Even a person whose DUI case was dismissed may face problems entering Canada. If you are seeking to enter Canada and you had a DUI charge, you should be forewarned that you may encounter trouble at the border.
In the United States, we are frequently able to accomplish dismissal of a DUI charge...
Even though there is a procedure to restore gun rights under State law, a person who has a felony conviction has no way to restore his gun rights as a matter of Federal law.
In order to become legal to possess a firearm and ammunition under Federal law, the person must do one of the following 3 things:
1. Get an expungement of the conviction. Many crimes qualify for expungement in Oregon, but not any class A felony. Burglary in the first degree is a class A felony in Oregon. Therefore,...