John Michael Goralka’s Reviews

John Michael Goralka

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Service!

    Posted by Heather, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John < 1 month ago.
    • John handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I received excellent service and much needed advice as I went through the process of creating my Trust. I highly recommend John Goralka for your Trust and Estate Tax Planning needs! You won't be disappointed.

  2. Excellent, detail oriented Lawyer

    Posted by Jim & Linda, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Goralka handled a restatment of our trust for us. He, as well as his staff were excellent to work with. John impressed us with his knowledge and attention to detail as well as his desire to end up with a product that would address the issues we were concerned with and be current with the laws as well as provide protection if those laws should change. He addressed our questions and concerns with respect and a willingness to spend time to explain and help us make decisions. We would recommend John Goralka to anyone seeking excellent legal assistance.

  3. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by Jeff, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Goralka Law Firm is a great asset to any business. They are well informed on any business matters that may arise, and very helpful in making the right decisions Very knowledgeable, polite, kind, and takes the time to really get to know you and your needs. John has a very responsive team and they also add working with Goralka Law Firm a very pleasant experience. John has helped me in setting up my business over 5 years ago, guided me in other ventures I have, he set up trust for my kids, a will for myself, and very importantly dealing with issues that came about with my wife passing a few years ago. He really went out of his way to take the business items and addressed them himself, leaving me time to grieve and not deal with legality stuff. You cannot go wrong working with this law firm.

  4. He really help us! Big time!

    Posted by Steve, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a retired insurance agency owner for 25 years. I thought I had everything figured out for my estate. Boy was I wrong! Things have changed and John sure put our estate in a lot better situation than I had set up years ago in my old trust. I highly recommend John and his staff.

  5. A positive experience!

    Posted by Alan, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Like most people we have put off writing our trust for years and have checked out many lawyers over that period of time until we went to a presentation by John. It was clear by his presentation that he knew trusts and he knew taxes. John also knew how to explain the entire process and consequences in understandable terms that also showed that he enjoyed what he was doing and took pride in the outcome. The office staff, like John were professional in a very friendly way and handled our trust in a very timely manner. Because of a upcoming trip out of the country, John went above and beyond when he met us on a Sunday for almost 4 hours in order to complete our trust prior to our departure date. A positive experience with a positive outcome!

  6. Estate planning

    Posted by Christine, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We just got our will, trust and IRA trust finalized. The process was not as daunting as I expected. John was very patient with us and answered each and everyone of our questions in detail. Alyssa helped us through the signing process and was excellent as well. I'm glad we picked John Goralka for our living trust/estate planning. What a blessing.

  7. A job well done

    Posted by Richard and Robina, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From beginning (a group presentation) to end (signing an updated Living Trust) we were very sure we had made the right decision in choosing John ( and his staff) to guide us through many important decisions for us and our family.

  8. Difficult tax case and tax audit

    Posted by Mike, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    While representing me during a very long and difficult tax case with the State of California and audit with the IRS, John was always very professional, thorough and competent in the areas of State and Federal tax law and procedures. He put all his expertise and energy into my case to affect a positive outcome. In addition, Mr. Goralka always represented himself with the utmost integrity and honesty whether with other counsel, judges, or with outside experts and witnesses.
    While a tax audit and tax court case can also be emotionally challenging, John did a very fine job of assisting with the practical aspects of managing my disposition and emotions through some otherwise difficult times. In the end, he was able to reach a favorable settlement for me, often knowing what was best for me, even if I was not always aware what was best for myself.
    I would recommend Mr. Goralka and am available to speak to any prospective client that would like more information.

  9. Living Trust

    Posted by Jane,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Goralka.

    Needed our trust reviewed and updated. With changes we had made in our personal assests and health decisions, we needed help in our options and a better understanding of our trust.

  10. How to pick a good attorney? It's difficult to know how "good" an attorney is...

    Posted by Steve, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    • I recommend John Goralka.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My brother found John and he had all the qualifications "on paper". Still you don't really know how "good" an attorney is until you use them to compare with other attorneys. Most people will not use more than one in their life. Picking a good attorney is difficult so I am writing this review to help. We have no personal connection with John. In 2006, we looked at several attorneys on paper and picked John. His office was downtown above a mexican restaurant. He has since moved into his current location and appears to be growing.

    We just updated our estate plan and John updated our plan to take advantage of the latest tax law changes. John met with us first to explain what the changes were and how they might benefit us. We are very happy with John and feel that we have the best plan for our family and the future.

    What makes a good estate plan attorney? In my opinion…
    *Knowledge of the specific area of law - You don't have to pay for him to research (he knows).
    *Knowledge of tax laws - All decisions should include tax implications.
    *Experience in the specific area of law - He has been through it - recording deeds, filing forms, buy/sell agreements, real estate issues, partnership agreements and working with the local jurisdictions.
    *Not too old or too young - experienced but young enough to be around when you need him.
    *Keeps you informed of changes in the law but not pushing you to update when not needed.

    John meets the above criteria…

    We have a large family and John has assisted with seven estate plans and several partnerships.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

916-440-8036