Michael J. Crowley’s Reviews

Michael J. Crowley

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Michael Crowley exceeded my expectations

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I was injured on the beach from a dog attack and severely fractured my ankle which required surgery and hardware. Michael Crowley offered insight and support through one the most difficult and painful experiences of my life. My recovery was slow and strenuous. Having Michael on my side was the light at the end of a long dark tunnel. Every conversation and meeting I had with him left me feeling confident and optimistic about my case. Michael's knowledge and assertive tactics were very impressive and the end result was a fair and generous settlement. I have no doubt in my mind that I could not have chosen a better lawyer.

  2. SEASONED KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERTISE

    Posted by Rae, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I was hit by a pickup truck as I was walking across a supermarket's parking lot. Even though the police report said it was the truck driver's fault, I knew I was in no condition to deal with insurance or medical companies. I turned to my daughter, who is a lawyer in another state, for advice on which Personal Injury attorney I should choose to represent me. She thoroughly researched lawyers in the surrounding area including San Francisco and felt the best one to handle my case was Michael Crowley.

    She could not have given me better advice. From the start to its successful conclusion a year later, Michael Crowley handled my case with ease and expertise. He was responsive to all my queries, actually listened to what I had to say and discussed all matters with me thoroughly before proceeding. The result was that he procured the maximum award available to me.

    I wholeheartedly recommend Michael Crowley and his seasoned and efficient legal staff.

  3. Amazing Lawyer- Very Helpful!

    Posted by Ehlana, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    Michael was a great lawyer. I honestly can say that I would of not wanted anyone else to handle my case. Michael made sure that I knew at all times what was going on, and I mean he made sure I understand why things were being done a certain way. He never once made a decision, I did. He would explain what was going on and the options for our next plan of action were going to be and the decision was up to me. Michael was great with checking in with me. If I hadnt heard from him in a week or two, he would just shoot me an email to let me know how things were going. Michael was very motivated to get exactly what I deserved to get due to the extent of my injury.
    There wasnt one time that Michael wasnt willing to answer any questions of mine or even explain something again if I didnt understand the first time.
    I highly recommend Michael Crowley. He is very dedicated to his clients and motivated to help them. He also handle my case in a timely matter.

  4. Auto Accident

    Posted by Kathi, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    After dealing with the insurance company of the man who hit me head on, and being totally overwhelmed and totally emotional about my situation - I found Michael Crowley. What a blessing. After our initial contact I handed over my stack of documents and walked out of the office feeling relieved and that I was going to be taken care of. I was. He is an amazing man, so knowledgeable and caring, he put me at ease and made me feel like I was in the right place.

    We went through the process of a deposition, which was much easier having him sitting by my side. He was able to negotiate a settlement three times what was originally offered. I was thrilled with the outcome. I want to add that he has an amazing Paralegal, Connie, I can't say enough about her, so efficient and helpful and caring.

    I never thought I would be in a situation where I would need a lawyer, but now I know if I ever need help I have someone who will be in my corner fighting for me. Feels good.

  5. Review of Michael J. Crowley

    Posted by Graham, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was injured in a car accident. My truck was rolled, and totaled. I was taken to the er. I needed to heal from the physical pain, and did not want to have to deal with the mental stress of dealing with insurance companies. I felt like every one was against me. Thats when I hired Michael. He was on my side. He dealt with everything for me, so I could focus on getting better. The outcome was quick, and better than expected. He was professional, and knows the laws. I couldnt imagine having to deal with this on my own. Im so glad I found someone to help me through all of this. I would hire Michael Crowley again in a heartbeat. I highly reccomend him.

  6. Good Lawyer

    Posted by Joseph, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Crowley did an awesome job with my case. His technical knowledge and know how is amazing. He kept me informed every step of the way and always had my best interest in mind.

  7. Michael Crowley

    Posted by Susan, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I can't say enough good things about Mr. Crowley. He took on my case about three years ago and it is finally winding down. I was rear-ended in November 2007 and my car was totaled. I sustained a right shoulder injury because of the accident. After months of physical therapy, cortisone injections, etc. etc. I finally had subacromial decompression surgery in March 2011, since there were no other options left for me. Throughout the entire ordeal, Mr. Crowley has been there for me. He is very down-to-earth and takes the time to make you feel like you are the only client he has. We had some difficulties with the insurance carrier dragging their feet, including a mediation conference in November 2010, in which nothing was resolved. Michael stuck with it and we never gave up. We had a court date set for mid November 2011 and the case was settled out of court just a couple of weeks ago for almost what we were asking for. I can't recommend him enough for anyone who needs an excellent, knowledgeable attorney. I'm glad my case didn't go to trial--really glad---but I would love to watch him in action in the courtroom. The man doesn't give up. We're very fortunate in Humboldt County to have him practicing here. I actually picked him out of the phone book because I had no one to ask for a recommendation who had experienced what I had. I couldn't have picked better. His staff is absolutely wonderful too.

  8. Michael Crowley

    Posted by Mark, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Most would agree to a set of Universal Truths: Life is NOT fair; bad things happen to good people; and the "system" may not always be depended upon to provide favorable results. My experience has led me to add one more to that set: when life appears bleakest, you better have a trustworthy, responsive, and knowledgeable Advocate who believes in you. You will find no better Advocate than Michael Crowley.
    I was involved in a head on collision w/ an oversized commercial pickup truck while occupying a center turn lane. Air bags deployed in my compact import pick up, the collision knocked me unconscious, totaling my truck. EMT arrived some time latter, helped me out of my truck and took me by ambulance to a local hospital with knee, neck, back and shoulder injuries. The shoulder injury would require surgery to repair a torn rotator cuff and impingement, requiring long, arduous physical therapy. Additionally, to add insult to injury, the police officer made numerous mistakes in filing the accident report, including that I was at fault (the defendant provided most of the "one sided" narrative to the officer). An attorney that I had worked with over the years in various business matters, recommended without reservation, Michael Crowley. At that very moment, the tide turned, and my outlook on life improved greatly. Michael listened to my account of the collision with great intensity and interest, believing in what I had to say. Michael vigorously executed a well planned strategy that included securing the very best accident reconstruction expert, vocational/economic damage experts, greatly strengthening my case against the defendant. I had the honor of sitting in on the pretrial deposition of the defendant, and read the deposition of the police officer. In a respectful yet tactically blistering series of inquiries, Michael uncovered the truth and had both the defendant and the police officer admit to facts that did not support their assertions that I was at fault. Talk about a game changer! "Long story-short, my case was settled for very near the defendants liability limit, and Michael advocated successfully on my behalf regarding my medical pay reimbursement to my insurer, greatly
    exceeding my expectations. Michael vigorously prepared for trial, and in doing so, prevented one. I would hope that one would never have the need for a personal injury attorney. When your life seems to be crumbling around you, you will not find a better advocate than Michael Crowley. To say that I am grateful to Michael and his firm, would be a great understatement. Without reservation, I wholeheartedly recommend Michael Crowley, an outstanding personal injury attorney, and an all around genuinely nice, caring man.

  9. Went Above and Beyond

    Posted by Richard, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came to Crowley after I was injured on the job. My hand was crushed by a log from a loading operater. I had nerve damage and was off the job for over three years. During this time, the company who employed the loader operator as well as my employer took no blame. I went to Crowley who believed and fought for my rights. It was a constant battle whether we were going to settle the case or if the opposing side wanted to go to trial but the entire time Crowley fought and defended me. He took a risk on my case finanically but nethertheless he took on my case because that is the type of person he is. He fights for people's rights.

    I would highly recommend Michael Crowley and use him again if needed. He is the type of lawyer who keeps you informed, is always honest, and it is very knowledgeable on all legal matters.

    At the end of my case I was amazed and pleased with the results Michael was able to perform. We ended up settling for over double the amount the opposing side had initially offered. I have no one other than Michael Crowley to thank.

  10. Exceptional and Trustworthy

    Posted by Benjamin,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Crowley.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael is an exceptional attorney. He help my girlfriend and I through a very, very difficult period in our lives with great intelligence, experience and empathy. We were hit head on by a semi truck on the freeway. The driver had fallen asleep at the wheel and crossed over the grass median. Needless to say we were both almost killed and left badly injured. Michael constantly made himself available to us throughout the entire process. He settled our case far beyond expectation both in magnitude and duration. He made this very difficult period of our lives as brief as possible and left us protected against the potential pitfalls of the future. He was kind and upfront, willing to explain anything to us in a respectful and clear manner. When this process finally finished, I felt as if he were a member of the extended family or a close friend. He is man I put my faith into and so can you.