Howard Michael Van Elgort’s Reviews

Howard Michael Van Elgort

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Happy with Mr. Van Elgort's handling of my case.

    Posted by Victor, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    What stands out in our mind for my wife and myself, is how patient
    Mr. Van Elgort was in explaining every detail about my case to us,
    and how we felt we could ask questions as many times as we needed to until we understood. The way he handled my case, made me feel as if I was his only client, and doing his best for me was his main focus. I would return to him if I needed to consult an attorney, and I highly recommend him. We interviewed a couple of other attorneys who offered a free hour, before we decided on Mr. Van Elgort, because he seemed so experienced and knowledgeable. His demeanor made us feel like the outcome of my case, was in good hands.

  2. Extremely Reasonable and Sincere Legal Counsel

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I felt like I was in quite a bind and didn't see any foreseeable positive outcome from my case. Howard got 5 of my 7 charges dropped and it was all for an extremely low price. He saved me 10X the money that I would have spent if I had been charged. He's also trustworthy, honest, and reliable. Kudos!

  3. ABOVE AND BEYOND!

    Posted by NICOLE, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    MR. VAN ELGORT NOT ONLY PROVIDED ME WITH PROFESSIONAL AND COMPLETELY HONEST, ACCURATE LEGAL ADVICE; HE ALSO WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND BY BEING A SOURCE OF ASSISTANCE EVEN AFTER MY LEGAL MATTERS WERE TAKEN CARE OF. HE IS A MAN WITH EXTREME KNOWLEDGE, A MAN OF INTEGRITY, &SOMEONE WHO HAS YOUR BEST INTERESTS AT HEART. HIS FEES ARE EXTREMELY REASONABLE ESP FOR SOMEONE WITH HIS EXPERIENCE AND HE ALWAYS KEPT ME UP TO DATE RE:MY CASE AS WELL AS NEVER MAKING ME FEEL THAT ANY OF MY CONCERNS/QUESTIONS WERE TOO SMALL. I NEVER HAD TO WORRY ABOUT HIM NOT GETTING BACK TO ME OR RETURNING CALLS/EMAILS. I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT MR VAN ELGORT. I RECOMMEND HIM HIGHLY!

  4. Van Elgort Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a small matter that needed to be cleared up and Howard was able to resolve the matter quickly and effectively, and for a very reasonable fee.

  5. Howard M. Van Elgort - The best lawyer I could have hoped for

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After being arrested for a DUI this year, I spent a significant amount of time researching legal representation, sitting down to review my case with various lawyers and talking to people who had been in my position previously in order to find the absolute best lawyer possible. Mr. Van Elgort was by the far the most knowledgeable about my case; he asked questions that other lawyers hadn’t asked and that wound up benefiting my case. He was honest about the potential outcomes of my case. His fees were straightforward and more than fair. He really knew the system—which judges to get my case in front of, which not to. With his help, I got as best a sentence as any I could have hoped for—better than anyone else I’ve known in a comparable situation. Were anything like this ever to happen again I would rehire him without thinking twice.

  6. Mr. Van Elgort

    Posted by Justin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Van Elgort was always there to answer any questions and worked very hard for me. He is also a very nice man to boot.

  7. Howard

    Posted by Frank, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I offered him more money if he won the case to try and meep the motivation fresh. He declined my bonus and won the case on a motion to suppress. He costs himself 5 + grand for his honesty, hard work and integrity.... And he saved my ass.

  8. DUI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great results!!! 2nd DUI with .11BAC was dropped to a wet and reckless. He handled everything for me, and I never even had to appear at court.

  9. Good attorney

    Posted by Greg, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Van Elgort.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend this attorney. In my case, he did the best job possible under the quite complicated circumstances. He devoted a significant attention to my case, and did a job above my expectations.