Ronald E Champoux’s Reviews

Ronald E Champoux

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review for Ronald Champoux

    Posted by Sharon Green, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald 6-12 months ago.
    • Ronald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ron Champoux is an excellent attorney. From the first time we met, I could tell I was in good hands. Ron explained every step in detail about the process, many times if necessary, all with patience and kindness.
    Over a year ago , I hired Ron to handle my divorce. His mastery of the law combined with his trustworthy
    character, insured I obtained the best settlement. I can recommend Ron to anyone.

  2. Hiring Ron Champoux Was An Excellent Business Decision

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald 1-6 months ago.
    • Ronald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ron Champoux was recommended to me by my business attorney to handle my divorce case. That was very fortunate. Ron clearly knows the law and better still what to expect from the court. He was able to predict with a high level of accuracy how the court might decide an issue, and develop a legal strategy around it. I respect that he never once spoke disparagingly of my ex-wife and did not foment friction. Unfortunately my ex-wife's attorney did the opposite. Ron Champoux was a step or two ahead of my ex-wife's attorney at every juncture. I could also see that Ron had garnered the respect of the court (Judge Beverly Wood) and was clearly liked by everyone, including opposing counsel. He's basically a nice guy who is very competent, treats everyone with respect and gets it back. I witnessed the value of having an attorney that the court respects. His personal integrity is a given in the courtroom and his representations carry weight. He makes honest statements and winning arguments.

    My case was very litigious because my ex-wife's attorney was money hungry, hostile and unethical. Ron was able to deftly thwart the other side's aggression and shady tactics. He also very importantly explained the court's attitude toward entitlement and hard work. The Marin County Family Court is dominated by successful women who have balanced career and family, and do not agree that a spouse is entitled to a free ride while the other works. Ron understood that basic concept and the court's propensity for it and I was better served.

    It makes a big difference having an ethical attorney who thinks well on his feet. Ronald Champoux saved me at least a half million dollars in settlement and perhaps over a million. So obviously I'm a big fan. Ron has mastered the nuances of managing a case, which means you are buying a high level of legal expertise and good sense. If you're looking for an attorney who will scorch the earth, then keep looking. But if you're looking for an attorney with class who knows how to win, then Ron Champoux is your guy.

  3. Ron Champoux Is A Stellar Attorney

    Posted by Susan, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald 1-3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have recently been a client of the Law Offices of Ronald Champoux. Ron, and his staff, are highly knowledgeable in the field of family law. I came to him with quite a difficult case, involving estate planning, divorce proceedings, premarital agreement, and inheritance rights all rolled into one extremely difficult puzzle. At the outset, Ron, who is very soft spoken and extremely polite and friendly, immediately put me at my ease. He researched my case with a mastery of family law. He cuts to the chase of what matters and what does not, saving time and money. I believe he is highly respected by his peers. His skill at negotiating for his clients' rights' is amazing. He is extremely reasonable, but can be tough if the need arises. I came out with a very fair and reasonable settlement. I am not sure my results would have been nearly as good if it weren't for Ron and his very experienced, friendly and caring staff. I cannot recommend The Law Offices of Ronald Champoux highly enough.

  4. Caring, intelligent family law attorney

    Posted by Jill S., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald 1-3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Ron is more sensitive and intelligent than the vast majority of family law attorneys. Of the seven family law attorneys with whom I have worked (on either side), none has even been comparable. His high-level guidance was invaluable as to what was worth pursuing and what was likely to be an expensive and draining exercise. His attention to detail was incredible. I trusted him explicitly during my difficult divorce. Having him on my side made me feel safe and glad that I wasn’t on the other side going against someone of his caliber. He cares about his clients, has a great deal of personal integrity and perspective, and is a pleasure to work with. Whichever side finds and hires Ron first in a divorce is the lucky side.

  5. I highly recommend Ron Champoux ....

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald 1-3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I can not say enough good things about Ron Champoux's abilities as an attorney! He was knowledgeable, conscientious and always on target with his advice. He made a terrible situation much more tolerable. The best part is that he was always available at a moments notice to take care of any necessary items that may come up.

  6. Excuse me, but your competence and expertise are showing...

    Posted by Dave, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald 1-3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ron and his associate Dan provided stellar representation. I don't give professional compliments easily, and I work with lawyers in my "day job," so I feel qualified and credible - I know what I'm talking about. On short notice, beginning during the holidays, and later while I was hundreds of miles away on business, Ron and especially Dan were able to provide competent, coherent, professional, and very reasonable services. We were working with some pretty tricky and nuanced child support add-ons. The written work product they gave me to review encapsulated my statements to them very eloquently - I literally couldn't have written it better myself. Although I was paying for expertise and legal counseling, what I received in addition, more than anything else, was peace of mind. They "get it." I recommend them without hesitation. I will continue to work with them if new issues arise and expect to refer new clients to them when the opportunities/needs arise. After my hearing date they received from me modest but heartfelt thank-you gifts. Hopefully that gives you some idea of how grateful I was to have them "in my corner."

  7. Excellent attorney in Marin

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald more than 3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ron was my divorce attorney and helped me with all the aspects of the divorce in the last 1.5 years.
    Like many other divorces mine was very stressful and complicated. Ron helped me through this difficult process patiently. He tried hard to avoid unnecessary escalations and tried to resolve issues in a fair way.
    He explained things to me well so I knew my options and could make informed decisions. When he had to escalate things and present it to the court he did an excellent job representing me and my case.
    He is very knowledgeable, approachable, organized and is a great negotiator. He returns calls and emails in a timely manner and keeps you informed at all times.
    Ron is an excellent attorney and I highly recommend him whether you have a complicated family issue or a simple one.

  8. Great Family Law Practice in San Rafael

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald more than 3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Ron represented me in my legal separation. My funds were very limited and he helped me to work within my budget. His non-confrontational but well-organized approach to doing business with the other attorneys involved in the case went a long way towards putting everyone at ease. As a result, we were able to work together to reach an agreement that was mutually acceptable and did not spend a great deal of time, effort, and money on adversarial behavior. I found Ron to be personable, persistent, well-informed, ethical, flexible and compassionate. I would recommend him without hesitation.
    Liked: Disliked:

  9. Recommended for family law

    Posted by Carol, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald more than 3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ron has handled family law questions for myself and for my mother. I have also recommended him to a friend who was very satisfied. We have found him to be knowledgeable and professional and always very able to assist us with all our questions. I will continue to recommend to anyone as an excellent resource for creating a will/living will.

  10. The Best Attorney in Marin

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ronald Champoux.
    • I hired Ronald more than 3 years ago.
    • Ronald handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ron represented me through my divorce 8 years ago, and has worked with me over the years with visitation and support issues (post-divorce). He is extremely knowledgeable in estate and family law, quick (helps keep attorney fees down), concise, presents clear legal perspective to both the client and the court, is very personable, has a high level of integrity, etc. Of the 15 or more attorneys I saw speak while in the courtroom, Ron was the most professional - confident, clear, persuasive, eloquent. It is evident his peers and superiors respect him as well.

    After my referral of Ron, five of my friends hired him as their attorney. I highly recommend Ron as your attorney.