David John Holcomb’s Reviews

David John Holcomb

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Mr. Holcomb is one of the most compassionate people I have ever met. Even since out first consultative phone interview, he was and continued to be able to quickly identify ways to enhance the success of my divorce-on my behalf. Divorce is very difficult for the entire family, Mom, and the kids-no matter how old they are-and Mr. Holcomb was very sensitive to the emotions and needs of the persons he represented-me as the mom and my children.
    He has up-to-date knowledge of the California Divorce Codes and Family Law, and uses this knowledge to really fight for his client. He is very quick to reply to emails and phone calls and ensures that the client is well informed as to each phase of the Divorce.
    He doesn't hide a thing and is trustworthy in all his actions. If there is a deadline, Mr. Holcomb manages to stay abreast of these and takes action in a timely manner. In relation to costs, there are regular invoices to avoid any last minute surprises.
    When you think that your world is falling apart, he is emotionally supportive. At times I thought he was more of a friend than an attorney. I highly recommend David Holcomb as your Divorce Attorney.

  2. My divorce a few years ago

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Thanks to David, the divorce was done in a very short time. All to my satisfaction. Thanks to David my ex and I are on good speaking terms now.

  3. Excellent mediator, handled our divorce with ease

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    David helped us with our divorce mediation, and saved us a lot of money and headache. By mediating rather than using separate attorneys we made a much better deal and avoided a lot of fighting. David is very fair, calm, and grounded. I have recommended him to a few people in my social circles already.

  4. Respected Attorney

    Posted by David,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.

    I have known David for almost 20 years, both professionally and personally. We have referred clients to each other and I have found that he is responsive and gives a great level of personal attention to clients. He has built a niche in family law with his emphasis on a collaborative approach to resolving the dispute.

  5. A most capable attorney.

    Posted by Ken, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    David helped me achieve very ambitious and perhaps unorthodox goals in what can only be called a very high conflict divorce. In more colorful terms, he saved the divorce from being a complete washout not only for me, but for my family.

    Before I met David, my wife had successfully outmaneuvered me on nearly every front, originally leading me to believe she shared my vision of our divorce as a process of finding win-win solutions, avoiding court and dissolving our marriage thanks to independent, collaborative mediation. By the time I realized her duplicity, I was homeless, stripped of custody of our kids, on the verge of having to quit my graduate training program due to fraudulent charges of domestic violence, and facing the likelihood of having to pay child support. I was reeling, and my initial reflex was to seek a ruthless attorney with a thirst for annihilation who would help me strike back harder than anything my wife could imagine. I knew that would come at a huge cost, primarily in terms of immense suffering for our kids, but I reasoned that their suffering was guaranteed in the zero-sum game my wife was clearly intending to win in a quick rout. When I spoke with a couple of attorneys who seemed to fit the bill, I realized I might not have the belly for it. I was torn and had almost no prior experience to draw from.

    David was clearly a different breed. He strongly applauded my original collaborative goals and insisted they were noble and worth fighting for. More importantly, he had a well argued plan of action that promised to negate my wife's aggression before matching it. As we began our work, David patiently helped me stay focused on our human decency, on our children's best interest, and on the all important financial bottom line, though he rarely hesitated to suggest ways of striking back with a vengeance if I felt such tactics might be necessary. They almost never were, regardless of how inflamed the issues became, no matter how wrathful my wife became, no matter how deeply my anxiety ran.

    The outcome? In less than a year David and I got all terms resolved favorably, with everything, including legal AND physical custody, being split 50/50 and zero support due either party. Getting the final settlement and divorce in less than 12 months was pretty remarkable. It was the most difficult fight I've ever known, and it took nearly a complete overhaul of what I thought I knew of courage, but David's sense of my family's ability to surmount obstacles, with deft application of legal skills, was inspiring. I wish more divorcing families had the benefit of counsel such as his.

  6. a competent sensitive lawyer

    Posted by Lyn, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.

    David has helped me with a couple of real estate issues over the past few years. He is easy to work with and seems to quickly understand the issues and what needs to be done. He was great at discussing the issues with me and delineating the pros and cons of different options. He was very responsive to the time constraints and had a sensitivity to the whole process that made everything much easier. I would definitely recommend him is you are looking for a competent sensitive lawyer.

  7. David Holcomb recommendation

    Posted by Dan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    David handled my divorce about 6 years ago. He was extremely knowlegeable and sensitive to my needs. I would recommend him highly.

  8. Trusted Advocate for Civil Issues

    Posted by Leonard, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Personal Injury matter.

    David Holcomb is highly effective and completely trustworthy. He is the rare attorney whose results exceed his fees. He's helped me on a couple of civil matters, one involving personal injury and one involving a business dispute, and gotten excellent results for me. He's also a nice guy and a pleasure to work with. I will not hesitate to engage him again for any legal issue, large or small.

  9. Hard Money Lender document review

    Posted by Shawn, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.

    I needed a review of legal documents from a hard money lender. I needed a quick turn around, Mr. Holcomb worked through the weekend so I could respond to the lender with changes by Monday. I would expect any attorney to make recommend changes that benefit their client.

    The challenge is knowing how to word the changes so they are accepted by the other party. The lender had some issues with the proposed changes and David helped get those changes accepted during a conference call. This was the portion of his work that was really valuable.

    He also did a great explaining his reasons for his changes that helped me understand the potential risks and pitfalls of the documents as they were originally presented by the lender.

    Thanks again!

  10. Helpful advice regarding a small claims issue

    Posted by Harmony, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend David Holcomb.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I phoned David for advice as a Small Claims defendant. Even though he was very busy with other work at the time, he took time to help me understand the charges and my options. He did this for me without charging me for his time. He seemed knowledgable about the issues and was helpful and reassuring.