Joan Marie Grimes’s Reviews

Joan Marie Grimes

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Joan Grimes - is a Miracles lawyer for me and my family

    Posted by Thary,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.

    Mrs. Grimes, Thank you so much for your excellent expertise and you can make miracles happend with your hard and determined work for us. We felt so warm and trust you 100%. We had a BK lawyer before you but he screwed us. Thanks to your team and your great works we are all good now. I would recommend you to anyone that's out there looking for a trusted/warm hearted person to represent you and your family.

  2. 5 Star Rating for Joan !

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joan is spot on with her legal advise. If you want an attorney who tells you how it is--she speaks her mind and does not hold back. I interviewed several BK Attorneys until I found Joan. Her best interest is the client, not her fat paycheck. Most attorneys don't provide any extra info unless you ask. Joan tells you everything, including the questions you would more than likely forget to ask. You cannot go wrong with choosing Joan as your BK Attorney.

  3. Fantastic lawyer, wonderful person

    Posted by Joan, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Joan was recommended to me by another attorney that I trust. I came to her after having a less than satisfactory brief encounter with another bankruptcy attorney who advised me to incur more debt, saying I would not qualify without it. I didn't want to take bankruptcy but I felt I had no choice. Still, I was very ashamed at the mess I had gotten myself into. From the first meeting with Joan she gave me hope that I could soon be out this nightmare, and she gave me back my self-respect. I found her knowledgeable and easy to work with. She walked every step of this ordeal with me. I'm still sorry that I had to go that route, but meeting and working with Joan was the best experience of my life. If you're like me and have too much pride to accept help, take my advice, swallow that pride and run, don't walk, to see Joan. It is obvious she cares about the welfare of every client and I will always be grateful for what she did for me. I am now debt-free and more aware of the pitfalls that go along with credit cards. Never again.

  4. Best there is !

    Posted by Ray, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joan is a fantastic attorney with a wonderfully knowledgeable staff----I recommend her highly.

  5. Recommendation for an excellent attorney

    Posted by Bob, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Found Joan and her staff to be very professional and compassionate.
    It was a pleasure for my wife and I to have them representing us and
    our case. Words could never justify our thanks for the work and guidance by Joan and her staff.

  6. Ch 13 client

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    She did a good job getting us through the bankruptcy. She was somewhat disorganized, and would tell us something during a meeting, then when we met again, it would be something completely different. We did get confused a lot, because the specifics of our case kept changing. She played hardball with our creditors, which may have made a couple of them dig their heels in and not compromise. In that respect, she could have done a better job. Her secretary is not a nice person, and puts us on the defensive a lot. She will not communicate by e-mail, which makes it difficult to communicate with her office.

  7. Just What We Needed!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We are your typical people who were worried and unsure about anything to do with debt counseling or bankruptcy. We wanted to do what was right, but we needed a professional to help us make tough choices. Joan was so much more than we expected, she was thorough and informative, and her confidence and expertise was so encouraging that she transformed our fear into relief. We highly recommend Joan and her fantastic staff to anyone who is dealing with the difficulties of debt counseling or the possibility of bankruptcy.

  8. Very professional, knowledgeable, and caring!

    Posted by Tammy, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Nobody wants to go through a bankruptcy - she made us feel less anxious with her vast amount of knowledge, professionalism and caring. She answered all of our questions upfront. We were referred to Joan by an awesome real estate agent. I definately recommend Joan Grimes services to anyone that is unfortunate enough to have to go through a bankruptcy. Thank you, Joan, for being so awesome at what you do. YOU DO MAKE A DIFFERENCE!

  9. Would use her again. LOL

    Posted by Tony, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joan was wonderful. We were reluctant to call her because we didn't want to file for bankruptcy! After we met with Joan we felt very relieved. She was patient, made us feel comfortable and assured us that everything would be okay after reviewing our case and deciding to move forward. We highly recommend Joan and have referred others to her with no hesitation.

  10. Professionalism At Its Best

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Grimes.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Professional woman with excellent skills, experience and knowledge in her profession. Compassionate and understanding. Takes the time to listen and responds with professional and caring advice. A person feels the immediate relief they need regarding their fears and concerns about bankruptcy. Joan wrties articles every week in the Brentwood Times Newspaper which I could hardly wait for each week to come so I read the next article. I do not know of any attorney in my 30 years of paralegal experience that offers the professionalism that I received when I made my call for help. I highly endorse this attorney.