Skip to main content
Lynn Gorelick

Lynn Gorelick’s Answers

56 total


  • My boyfriend got a DUI in California and is still living there. He is considering moving to texas soon but does not know if he

    my boyfriend got a DUI in California and is still living there. He is considering moving to texas soon but does not know if he can take care of everything while living over here. He got assigned to enroll into AA classes and also pay a fine. Can h...

    Lynn’s Answer

    Your friend should check to make certain that the terms and conditions of the probation that the non-transferable terms and conditions of his probation have been completed before changing residence. If possible, he should complete the DUI school in California and make certain all community service hours and jail time have been done in full. I would assume that AA could be attended anywhere, but he should speak with the attorney who handled the case for him originally.

    See question 
  • Got dui in wyoming now california has suspended lic.

    got dui in wyoming california has suspended lic and wants me to atted classes for 18 months work out of state dui case was cleared in wyoming any way out of this

    Lynn’s Answer

    I agree with the advice given by both Mr. Marshall and Ms. Morell. When you contact the DMV Mandatory Action Division, and you are now a resident of another state (not a California resident at this time), you may be able to get California to lift it's requirements of the 18 month class so you can apply for a license in your current state of residence.

    See question 
  • Got dui in wyoming now california has suspended lic.

    got dui in wyoming california has suspended lic and wants me to atted classes for 18 months work out of state dui case was cleared in wyoming any way out of this

    Lynn’s Answer

    I agree with the advice given by both Mr. Marshall and Ms. Morell. When you contact the DMV Mandatory Action Division, and you are now a resident of another state (not a California resident at this time), you may be able to get California to lift it's requirements of the 18 month class so you can apply for a license in your current state of residence.

    See question 
  • In feb. '09 i was arrested for a dui. in march i had my court appearance.

    when the judge called me up, he said "there is no complaint in the matter, you are free to go." Am i free of this charge, or do i have to worry about this coming back to me. it's been four months since the court appearance.

    Lynn’s Answer

    You should contact an attorney in your area to discuss the statute of limitations on a DUI case. It is possible that the prosecutor wasn't prepared to go forward with you case at your date in March, but still has an opportunity to file charges against you before the statute expires. In California, the prosecutor has one year from the date of the offense to file charges.
    It is also possible, that the prosecutor has decided not to file charges. However, you mayt still be facing ramifications with your driving privilege. An attorney in your area should be able to give you a clear answers to these questions.

    See question 
  • With a DUI am i able to get a student visa to study for a master's in London for a year?

    I have been charged with a DUI. the STUPIDEST thing i have ever done.i regret it every morning i wake up. i even thought about killing myself because i felt so guilty and i've never done anything so horrible. no parking tickets not even detention ...

    Lynn’s Answer

    Generally, a misdemeanor DUI offense will not preclude travel to the UK. There are other countries, such as Canda, that have more restrictions. To make certain, you can contact an immigration attorney in your area or the embassy.

    See question 
  • I'm required to complete a second offender DUI class to get my driver's license back. Can I get a restricted license now?

    My offense was in 2004. I haven't taken the class yet because I was out of state and didn't need the license. I'm back in California now 5 years later and it is quite difficult to get employment with no transportation. I was told I had to complete...

    Lynn’s Answer

    You will have to complete the program if you wish to be licensed in California. If you are just here temporarily. you may want to consider other alternatives. You can contact DMV Mandatory Action at (916) 657-6525 to get advice directly from DMV.

    See question 
  • Time for third DUI

    I just picked up my third DUI in 8 years and am still on probation from the last one Feb 07. From what I've read so far it appears that I am facing 120 days in county jail and a three year revocation of my license, fees and fines. Is this correct?

    Lynn’s Answer

    Mr. Mueller's answer was most thorough and includes all possible penalties. If you are still on probation, you may be subject to further penalties and jail time based on a violation of probation. You must, immediately, consult with an attorney familiar with DUI laws in your area.

    See question 
  • CA DUI - no license - can I travel to Aruba?

    Just got my license taken away and am awaiting blood test results. Can I still travel to Aruba w/ just my passport and will I be able to get in/come back?

    Lynn’s Answer

    Generally, if you were released on your own recognizance and you are a US citizen, you should have no difficulty traveling. However, some countries, such as Canda, have restrictions on people entering with pending alcohol related events. You can contac the embassy and ask if these restrictions apply to your travel. A passport is the best form of identification for travel these days, so I wounldn't worry about not having your driver's license.

    See question 
  • If sentenced to 1 year in county jail how much time will i need to do??

    i was sentenced to do a year in the county jail for a dwi and i was woundering if the time is cut in half or is it 85% and since i already completed 110 days could i file for probation??

    Lynn’s Answer

    The answer to your question will be governed by the laws of your state. In California, there are different criteria for credits depending on a number of issues, such as, where you will be incarcerated and the nature of the offense.

    You should contact an attorney in your area, or the attorney who represented you, to ge accurate answer to your questions.

    See question 
  • What are the penalties for DUI with accident while on probation for prior DUI in state of California

    In California what are the penalties for DUI with accident (hit a parked car - no injuries) while on probation for a prior DUI

    Lynn’s Answer

    The answer to your question truly depends on where you will be going to court. In the areas that I practice, Alameda and Contra Costa County, you would be looking at a range of 10 days to 30 days in a work alternative to jail program. However, this can vary from court to court and judge to judge.

    Find a DUI specialist in your area to help you. California DUI Lawyers is a valuable resource.

    See question