Rod Firoozye’s Reviews

Rod Firoozye

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An excellent negotiator on my side

    Posted by Joe,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod more than 3 years ago.

    For me, Rod was the result of an exhaustive search for an attorney with strong negotiation skills and knowledge of the issues important to my situation. He did not disappoint. He knows the judges, other attorneys and family law well and uses that knowledge to get the best result possible. In my case he saved me from disaster. All this while his staff showed real compassion. Even recently, while re-visiting his office, I was treated as an old friend.

  2. Positive Experience

    Posted by Carrie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod 1-3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rod Firooze was recommended by my original divorce attorney, (who had retired) to represent me in my final divorce settlement hearing. Rod was very responsive to my partiiicular settlement issues and brought his wealth of experience and expertise to the proceedings. I was particularly impressed by his professionalism and his excellent paralegal Nesa. I feel very fortunate to having been represented by such a competent attorney.

  3. "Best there is in Bay Area"

    Posted by Homan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod more than 3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After 10+ years of marriage and having an 18 month old baby, my wife decided she wanted to move on with her life as a single woman. So she filed for divorce on December 21st and made sure I was served on Christmas eve which started this nasty 2 year divorce & custoday process. I went through two very incompitent lawyers within 3 months of the filing who couldn't measure up to this high profile, most expansive lawyer she could get her hands on. Finally I was referred to Rod through a friend and he meet with me right away. He started asking the right questions about my case on our very first meeting, questions that the other lawyers didn't even brought up in 3 months of handeling my case. He took on my case right away and was on top of everything throughout the whole procedure all the way to the very end (almost 2 years) with complete professionalism, attentive attention to details and utmost respect and responsiveness. What really stood out for me about Rod was his eye for the fine details that he would search up on my case and ask many questions about them as if my case was his only case and he was spending all his time on it. He always offered very constructive advises but never pressured me to go against what I wanted to do and where I wanted to go specially with my child's custoday setup. We ended up wining the case in a very favorable ruling.
    Even, five years later my Ex decided to take me to court again for many unreasonable requests and yet again I turned to Rod for his help and professional expertise. He took on my case again and six months later, with the same enthusiasm and hard work he won all the argument she had brought up against me in court.
    Rod is the best there is and I would certainly recommend him to anyone going through what I had. He is a very hard working, very Knowledgeable lawyer with a no non-sense kind of attitude.

  4. Rod helped save my future in a very aggressive divorce battle

    Posted by Armin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod 1-3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Rod represented me in my divorce - Kathleen Robertson and Abaas Hadjian were the opposing attorneys. They were suing me for 100% of all assets and huge and unreasonable support. My ex wife was committing fraud, but put up an incredible fight and very expensive. My defense cost a significant amount, but at the end I was able to prevail on each and every issue. Rod always maintained that I should be truthful and never lie - that worked for me in the long haul even though it was painful at times. He also helped me submit a 271a request against my ex-wife. Despite the fact that this is California and usually working me have to pay the non-working ex-wives most of their attorney fees, Rod was able to help me file a 271a claim against her and her attorneys. At the end I was able to receive $400,000 in sanctions against her. He also helped me get provisions in my final decision with Judge Zepeda that required my ex-wife to eventually become self-sufficient and work despite the fact that we were married over 10 years. He did his research and nailed it. Don't think that my ex-wife didn't fair well. She still became a multi-millionaire in the process and got 50% of the marital assets I earned. She just wasn't able to lie and cheat to get more than that. Rod helped me do that. The results were fair and I now have my life back along with my son.

    Rod partnered with me the entire time. He valued my judgement and provided me both guidance and worked with me cooperatively to develop a strategy. He nailed in court over three separate trials and 3 1/2 years of court time. With him, I got my freedom back and have 50% custody of my son. I thank him for his help, guidance and knowledge.

    I do recommend Rod. However, if you can find any way to avoid going to court, don't go. It is expensive, painful, and even when you win, you will pay a huge cost. DON'T go to court if you can help it.

  5. A Trustworthy and Reliable Lawyer.

    Posted by Patrick, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod more than 3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Firoozye help me to get primary custody of my children. I am a loving dad and I was willing to do whatever it took to have a fair trial. I would never want people to go through what I went through, but working with Mr. Firoozye was the best decision that I could've made. All through my custody trials, Mr. Firoozye was always attentive to my every needs and was always reassuring me about how the case was going. He offered advice whenever I needed it in person and even over the phone. I really felt at ease when he was in the court room with me. Mr. Firoozye's rate was alway very comparable to anyone else and with the level of dedication that he showed, this rate was well worth it. Even after my trial, I have given Mr. Firoozye's name to multiple people. I would recommend this lawyer to anyone so that they can meet their needs when it comes to a custody battle.

  6. Excellent attorney help with custody and divorce

    Posted by Newsha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod more than 3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Rod was invaluable to me during my divorce and custody battle with my ex husband. He was available, knowledgeable, attentive, and really saved my life. Thanks to him, I have my children and have been able to put my messy divorce behind me. His experience and knowledge of family law is beyond any other attorney I came across and his professionalism was invaluable in court. I would without reservation recommend him to anyone and have throughout the years.

  7. Outstanding Service

    Posted by Mimi, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod 1-3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was shocked to see the negative reviews written about Rod on this site. I later found out that there is no way to confirm who wrote these reviews, and I suspect they must have been written by a disgruntled opposing party. I also found out there is no way for Rod to respond to any of the negative reviews on this site either.

    Rod has done fantastic work for me in the past and I think of him as a very ethical and honest person. You would assume if there were any negative problems, there would be verified complaints with the State Bar. Instead Rod has been picked as a Superlawyer by San Francisco Magazine several times.

    1. John Michelet Mccrary

      John Mccrary

      Lawyer Comment:

      I worked closely with Rod Firoozye for two and 1/2 years. In my 36 years of practice Rod Foroozye is one of the finest attorneys I have encountered. Approaching retirement I am confident in referring my former clients to Rod.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. The wrong hearing

    Posted by Maria, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod more than 3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Attorney Firoozye showed up in court unprepared. His lack of presence and limited knowledge of my case caused losing the full custody awarded to me due to the other parent's drug and alcohol abuse, arrests, restraining orders, and domestic violence. 20K and 5 years later I am back in court representing myself and doing a damn good job.

  9. Avoid This Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Rod Firoozye.
    • I hired Rod more than 3 years ago.
    • Rod handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Rod is unprofessional. His fees are above market rate and most importantly he over bills. For a document that may have taken 2 hours he billed in excess of 10 hours. Thus, I rated him poor with regard to trustworthiness. Also, he rarely is in the office and runs a one man show.

    1. John Michelet Mccrary

      John Mccrary

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review of Rod is not based upon my direct experience. I have been 36 years of experience in Family law, and worked alongside of Rod Firoozye for 2.5 years.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. Nancy Maria Martinez

      Nancy Martinez

      Lawyer Comment:

      Rod is one of the most professional and knowledgeable attorneys I know. This is partly why he was asked long ago to act as a pro tem judge in Santa Clara County, and he continues to do so today. Rod is a Certified Family Law Specialist who really knows his stuff and it really shows in court, he is a GREAT trial lawyer! Regarding the over billing, this is probably a result of the client not knowing how much work exactly goes into a brief or other legal pleading. We as attorneys must research the ever-changing law constantly and pull facts together from so many sources to put together winning briefs. I just don't believe that Rod would ever cheat or overcharge anyone. Rod is a solo practitioner but he has a great, attentive staff who is there for his clients. I believe that this type of client who complains about Rod being in the office "rarely" is the type of high-maintenance client who is very demanding and needy regarding unimportant matters. I wholeheartedly endorse Rod as one of the best attorneys in California family law.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag