Bernie Johannes Kempen’s Reviews

Bernie Johannes Kempen

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exceptional Consultation and Knowledge of the Law

    Posted by David, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie 1-6 months ago.
    • Bernie handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I went to Bernie with a dilema regarding my ex wife which could have cost me $5,000 or more. She was trying to extort money from me before she complied with the judges order to sign over the house deed to me. I was in closing in my refinance and the timing was very important to get this done.

    In any case, I had spoken with 3 other attorneys before Bernie, and it wasnt until after our conversation that I felt confident enough to send her a letter. In this letter, I mentioned how this could go down for her if i took it to court. ...ie how much it would cost her, and how I could potentially sue her for the injuries caused by her actions. All of this information was gathered in one conversation with Bernie.

    I offerred her $900 only, and she accepted, knowing if we went to court she would get nothing, I would win, and then I would sue her for damages.

    Bernie knows his stuff. His office is pleasnt, as is his staff. It feels like you are dealing with a friend, not an attornerny. I am very happy with his services and would recomend him highly.

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you David. I am pleased you were able to resolve your issue in a cost effective manner without hiring an attorney to litigate the issue for you. Family issues should be resolved around the kitchen table or over coffee at a coffee shop. Court intervention should always be the last resort. When family are able able to come together and make an agreement, they are generally more satisfied because they are invested in the outcome, rather than having a robed individual make choices for them instead.

      Posted 12 days ago. Flag

  2. Ace of Attorneys.

    Posted by Emmitt, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie 1-3 years ago.
    • Bernie handled my Child Custody matter.

    From the first phone conversation alone Bernie made me feel I have a shot at being with my children again. Now I will not say he made a promise that we will succeed but the initial concern for my situation from himself and his assistant gave me the courage to stand up for what I believe.

    When meeting with Bernie and Liz I was a little reserved an didn't know how to express the hurt I had endured from not being able to have a relationship with my two children. Even still they were ready to fight by my side for what is right and for the effort alone I am eternally grateful. Thank you in advance Bernie though the fight has yet to begin I know you will give it the best shot you've got.

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Emmitt. We're getting there! It's always easier when we have a solid professional working relationship.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  3. Grateful, Grateful, Grateful

    Posted by Christine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie more than 3 years ago.
    • Bernie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used Bernie and his staff during my first divorce over 10 years ago. I will be ever grateful for the guidance he gave me, as I was completely lost.

    The other parent was a complete snake and used my own friends and family members to gain inside information during our divorce proceedings, even setting me up in unusual situations to make it appear that I was someone that I was not. I had no idea that people that I once trusted and loved would ever this to me, but Bernie caught on and advised me that my divorce was very unusual and that there was someone giving my Ex information that he was using against me so that I would have to constantly contact my Attorney and pay more money. Bernie was very gracious and gave me discounts on my billing. If I would have just listened to him in the first place and kept people out of my divorce I would have been much better off but like I said, I would have never believed that those I loved would hurt me and my children for the sake of being paid off by my former husband. What a joke, my ex has like 8 kids, 3 with me and the others by different women. My Ex was so upset because Bernie uncovered his Self employment income and he would not file taxes as he knew how the child support system worked, he thought he had Bernie fooled and he told me to keep Bernie off of his A--! It humors me now but back then it was devastating since my children would ultimately pay for his anger.

    Bernie Kempen, Thank you so very much. In my opinion I would pay all over again to have such Seasoned Representation.

    People beware when choosing an Attorney. Watch out for newly licensed attorneys, make sure they have at least 10 years under their belts so that they can Fight and Win for you. Thank you Bernie!

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Christine. Many clients thank me years later for telling them the truth they didn't want to hear. Those are difficult times for the best of people and it's important that you have an attorney who looks out for your best interests; does not necessarily do you bidding and does not promise unrealistic results. The satisfaction I get from my job is to do my best for the client on the facts presented.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  4. $40k later and still married.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie more than 3 years ago.
    • Bernie handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The following statement is my personal opinion based on my experience with Attorney Bernie Kempen. I would not recommend Bernie to anyone getting a divorce. Initially Bernie made me feel comfortable and that this case was a slam dunk. $40k later I am still married and left not knowing what to do. The other parent was given 50% custody. I feel Bernie did not fight for me.

    I feel he laid down and was intimidated by the other attorney. The other parent, as a result of the 50% custody agreement, has gotten away with paying a very, very small amount of child support. Yet, as predicted, for the most part has not followed through with the custody arrangement- leaving me to have the kids on the other parents time (most of the time) and sticking with a huge grocery bill, more utilities, etc., The other parent lied to the court about their income and nothing was really done. Bernie did not fight for what is in the best interest of the children. He did not fight for alimony for me.

    He did not fight for ANYTHING. IMO, Bernie carried this out only to bill me more and more money. Than when I could not afford to pay him anymore (after $40k), he dropped me like a hot potato. Now, 6 years later, I am still not divorced. His slogan, "It's Over"... Is quite contrary to my experience. IT AIN'T OVER. So after all of this money I spent, I am still married to a bully that now violates the court orders at will and doesn't care saying, "Oh well", "take me to court", because this person knows I got screwed and now I have no representation.

    The other party is getting 1/2 my pension, 1/2 my retirement, pays a very small amount of child support (enough to pay maybe one utility), yet this person makes twice as much as me, just bought a new boat and a new car... Leaves the kids with me on their time with him, has given up completely on 1 child and never sees him. After all this time, and after all the money I gave Bernie, I still have not resolved any issues other than child custody which Bernie just laid down for, even though it was clearly in the best interest of the children to stay with me... Even the mediator thought it was. There are still issues regarding money, etc... Which the other parent is fighting to take from me (my pension, retirement, etc... but I have no representation - Bernie gave up because I ran out of money). I am afraid to go back to court and do anything because I don't know what will happen.

    I feel I was victimized by Bernie. I feel I was bullied by Bernie every time I asked a question. He would argue back at me and make me feel stupid for asking it, and then he would never address the concerns I had. The other attorney would lie in court, lie in court paperwork, etc... and Bernie barely addressed it. And when I brought it up, I was made to feel that it wasn't important. I feel Bernie would create situations that caused me to email or phone the office and ask questions, only so he could bill me more money, until finally I was broke. If I could complain to a governing body about Bernie Kempen, and knew it would do me some good, I would. I am sure Bernie will come on here and make some dumb excuse and try to defend it, but I only see that as another attempt to bully me. To sum it all up. I spent about $40k with Bernie and got nowhere.

    Then when I couldn't pay anymore he dropped me as a client. And now I am being bullied and harassed by the the other parent all the time. I know of two other clients that have started with Bernie but were smart enough to drop him before they got sucked in.

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is Bernie Kempen. Regrettably I recall this client well. Contrary to her statement that she spent $40,000 in litigation, she demanded the litigation against my advice and when the court eventually allowed my request to withdraw from the case, she promptly (as is her right, of course) filed for Chapter 7 bankruptcy and discharged approximately $37,000 of the owed attorneys fees and costs. She did so without any regard to the effect of such a bankruptcy filing on the families working in the office of a sole practitioner. This is a common risk for any sole practitioner. Where a client can relieve an attorney as attorney of record at any time, the attorney cannot discharge the client without court approval and needs to continue providing legal services in the interim. It is essential that my clients follow my advice. If they don't, then they need to find another attorney.

      The work of a family lawyer is similar to that of an emergency room physician. You have to perform the best task with the facts presented to try to salvage whatever you can from a disaster. Very seldom can you achieve 100% recovery. You do what you can. There is no justice in a divorce, no retribution. It is merely emergency work with the hope of a decent recovery and the hope of a new life.

      As in this particular case, where both parents were at the time competent and involved, California State law prefers that the court orders a custody plan that ensures frequent and continuing contact with both parents. This client cannot blame me that the father of her children does not want to exercise his visits now (three years after I was her attorney of record). State law also provides that the community portion of all retirement plans be shared or offset equally. The court has no discretion to order otherwise.

      Judges and lawyers do not control the facts of a case. Here both parties opted to jump into new relationships too fast. My client started cohabiting with a partner whom she had to support, while her husband chose a new partner with a six figure income and two homes. The new partner came to all court appearance dressed to kill. She provided husband with a new boat and a new car. I have no doubt that this conduct was partly designed to rankle my former client. Naturally this was and continues to be distressing to her. It also became clear that Husband would try as long as he could for the divorce to become final so that he would not need to marry his new partner and would continue to be the recipient of his new partner’s gifting. By California State Law, the court cannot take new partners' incomes and assets into consideration when ordering child support and will only in narrow circumstances order alimony where there is cohabitation with a new partner.

      Attorneys are frequently blamed for the dysfunction in family relationships. This is called transference. This is one of those cases. It is my hope that this client will eventually learn that her situation will not improve until she stops trying to blame others for the situation she has helped to create and accepts personal responsibility. In the meanwhile she dealt my solo practice and my staff with a crippling financial blow and attempts to do more damage with this review. She refused to discharge me as her attorney when I asked her to and now she complains about the representation? Does that make sense? My mistake was to continue trying to help her and by not asking the court to relieve me as counsel sooner.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  5. A Brilliant and fair man

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie more than 3 years ago.
    • Bernie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Perhaps the most devastating time in my life and my trust in humanity was destroyed; yet I needed help to navigate the Californian legal system, and an advocate for my remaining family. Bernie Kempen and his staff were there to assist every step of the way. He conducted himself with honesty and dignity, he helped me to see past my initial emotional reaction and formulate a fair plan for my children and I.

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you. Our job is to recognize the anguish you experience on a day to day basis and help you navigate your way through the legal and emotional quagmire. Our goal is make sure that you are able to re-establish yourself with stability in your environment and make sure that your children's best interests remain paramount.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  6. I highly recommend Mr. Kempen and his firm.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie more than 3 years ago.
    • Bernie handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Kempen assisted me with my child custody and support matters. He was diligent, knowledgable, and fought hard for me in Court. I ended up with a result that was fair and beneficial for my children, I highly recommend Mr. Kempen and his staff.

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you! I strive to be at your side and on your side. I believe that I serve my client's best interest when I am able to come up with results that are in the best interests of the children, who do not have the same abilities as adults to handle adversity and dysfunction. Another important aspect is client service. I strive the make sure that any queries my clients may have are promptly handled

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Excellent Help for my two cases

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie more than 3 years ago.
    • Bernie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I worked with Mr. Kempen twice and both times I was pleased with my case outcomes. He is professional, thorough and explained the process very clearly. I did not have any unknown surprises.
    When he handled my divorce I found he was fair and we eliminated much of the stress with his approach.

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you! A very important aspect of my representation is that I want my clients to know that when they go to sleep at night, that they are assured that their case is in good hands and they can carry on with the rest of their lives with minimal distractions.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  8. A Modesto Divorcee

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bernie Kempen.
    • I hired Bernie more than 3 years ago.
    • Bernie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I trusted this guy when I really needed legal advice and representation. He had my annuity frozen, and entered my deceased son's estate into probate when I was the true beneficiary...and did it all behind my back. I had no idea what was going on until my income was frozen.

    1. Bernie Johannes Kempen

      Bernie Kempen

      Lawyer Comment:

      First, I do not practice and have not practiced probate law and would not have opened a probate for this reviewer's deceased son. Second, I cannot imagine a circumstance where I would have my own client's annuity frozen. This is routinely done by opposing counsel pending a divorce action. Third, I would never represent a deceased estate and a potential beneficiary at the same time since it would be a conflict of interest. I invite this reviewer to call me toll free at 1-888-487-6837 to explain why she posted this nonsense.

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

Call now for a free consultation.

510-582-1433