John Albert Balent’s Reviews

John Albert Balent

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Child Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John Balent is a dedicated, skilled professional lawyer. He takes the time to clearly understand the needs of each child and to guide the parent through the system. He represented me for 3 years in obtaining custody of my children. My ex was violent and had signficant finances. I was lucky to have John represent me in meetings and in court. He worked to keep me and my children safe and helped me obtain a signed custody agreement and child support.

  2. Pleased with representation

    Posted by Tim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Balent represented me in a divorce and did an outstanding job. I felt that he really cared about my situation and that I was not just another case. He kept me informed and involved in my case. He welcomed by input and I felt like he was a partner in my dispute. His diligence resulted in a very favorable outcome. I highly recommend his services.

  3. Domestic Violence Exparte

    Posted by Garrett, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Balent a few months ago in regards to an exparte where my wife was accusing me of domestic violence to get me removed from my home. This was all false accusations and very humiliating for me. Mr. Balent was kind and informed me of my rights and gave great legal advise. I hired Mr. Balent to appear on my behalf and no restraining orders were filed and no domestic violence orders. I was able to stay in my home with my children. I retained Mr. Balent again and I am in the process of a divorce which is going quite smoothly considering my very difficult ex.

  4. Guardianship Success

    Posted by Brian, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Balent over a year ago for a guardianship that was very difficult and the Law Office of John Balent answered so many of my questions before I retained him which helped tremendously. Mr. Balent put our minds at ease throughout this family law process. Even after the Judgment was filed Mr. Balent was always available for any of our questions. Mr. Balent is very professional and he has a great office.

  5. child custody/divorce matter

    Posted by Lance, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a great experience with attorney John Balent. I hired him for a child custody/divorce matter and Mr. Balent was quick to accommodate my family law needs without the stress of dealing with my ex-wife. My children and their needs came first and I could not have asked for better results. I have referred my co-worker for her paternity matter and she was surprised of his free consultation where he spent a good amount of time with her at no charge.

  6. Deidre

    Posted by Deidre, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Balent to represent my nephew in a guardianship where my sister-in -law passed away suddenly. Mr. Balent was knowledgeable and we could not have asked for an easier process during a very uncomfortable family issue. I have referred by good friend to this office and she also has had only good results.

  7. Do NOT hire this attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Balent by an acquaintence from church. After 1 1/2yrs of Mr. Balent as my attorney, 18K$ in fees, he convinced me to give up the % of overtime in support that had been granted me by the court. My marriage was bifurcated and progressed to a trial. Mr. Balent showed up to court without any documents, completely unprepared, and had told me not to show up. My trial was started anyway, my ex husband was pro per and I was cross-examined by him. Mr. Balent did nothing to prevent this situation. I was forced to hire another attorney mid trial. Mr. Balent did not fulfill his contract, never advocated for me or my children, and was never prepared. He told me I would never get the support that I was entitled to. I know three other women who hired, then fired him for mismanagement. You do NOT want to hire this attorney unless you like to throw hard earned money away to someone who does not do the work they promise.

  8. Exceptional Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Deanne, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recommend John Balent and would refer a family member, friend, or anyone to him. I was privileged to have John Balent represent me with great success with my very stressful divorce. I am honored to know him as he is an exceptional family law attorney.

  9. Bad experience

    Posted by Marlene, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Balent.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Balent, my divorce atty, was conracted to obtain an order of restraint, get order for spousal support, divide community property, and resolve all non-status issues, such as tax fraud perpetrated by my ex. After more than a year passed, he had done nothing except get the order for spousal support. His delay to act cost me money and hardship. For example, by the time I hired a subsequent attorney to complete the divorce, my ex's 401k had been converted to an IRA in his name only, whereas I had hired Mr. Balent to place a joinder on it 14 months earlier.

    One month after hiring him, I warned him that my ex's employer (a bank) was reportedly going to crash. He had agreed to issue subpoenas for bank records that proved some mutual assets had been stolen. Despite my frequent pleas, Mr. Balent waited for three months after being notified about the crash. Even then, he sent the request to the wrong employer. By the time he contacted my husband's employer, they had been taken over by the government and the records were lost. As a result, the judge wouldn't allow me to be compensated, stating that I needed to provide those records.

    Mr. Balent rarely provided me with updates or documents pertaining to my case. Once he provided me with a document unsigned by a judge. It took him two months to submit the stipulation for support because in the first one he had forgotten to specify "until death or remarriage".

    Neither Mr. Balent's staff nor his paralegal could give me status reports, and on several occasions I was told they couldn't answer my questions because my file was lost. Months after I retained him, his paralegal informed me she was unaware I had asked for any records from any bank.

    After firing Mr. Balent, I asked for a partial refund of my retainer. He responded by sending me a bill, which upon examination, contained many charges which were false and even some double charges. For example, I was charged twice for his submission of the stipulation for support, although the second one had to be submitted due to the omission of "until death or remarriage" in the first one. Also, I was charged for subpoenas sent to wrong addresses. He also charged me for calling or faxing requests that urged him to take action before the bank went out of business. Furthermore, he charged me for all subpoenas sent to wrong addresses, even though I had supplied him with all addresses when I retained him.