Karen JoAnne Sloat’s Reviews

Karen JoAnne Sloat

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Experianced, Extremely Knowledgable and an "Iron Fist wrapped in a Velvet Glove."

    Posted by Jeff,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.

    I have the deepest appreciation for Karen. Throughout her work with our organization over the last 7 years she has guided and protected us on so many levels. As a small non- profit yet multi-faceted organization, we have encountered a wide range of challenges during our growth ranging from personnel to real estate development. Aside from the obstacles presented by others, Karen has provided us with the necessary tools to operate smartly as a business. Additionally, Karen has included our staff in various training and informational seminars that have ensured that our organization is up to date in changing legal issues. As our legal counsel, Karen is best described as an “iron fist wrapped in a velvet glove with the patience of a saint”.

  2. Best Lawyer

    Posted by Charles, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Karen is well versed and has the complete knowledge of the law in the case she was handling for
    the Rancho Mirage Chamber of Commerce. Karen has a understanding of both sides of the issue,and gave the best direction to the Chamber in a clear and understanding manner. Karen worked very hard for six months on this. She was always available, to answer any question, and time during this duration. The end results of the case were rewarding, from both sides. The case which was not easy to deal with, was made less stressful by working with and thru her and her Office.

  3. Labor law

    Posted by Patrick, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Sloat represented our organization with the most professional and complete knowledge of our case.

  4. Great employment attorney

    Posted by Bill, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen 1-3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I recently found it necessary to enlist a employment attorney, and was recommended to Karen Sloat by a local Real Estate Attorney that my wife knows. I found that both Karen and her team to be very professional, she pays attention to details, and is extremely knowlegable with employment law. Karen was able to obtain resolution to my problem within two weeks time. Overall my experience with the Law Office of Karen Sloat was excellent. She simply gets the job done. If you are in need of an employment attorney - I give my highest recommendation.

  5. Church work

    Posted by Floyd, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We have used Karen for many years and i do not hesitate to recommend her, fo any kind of legal work that is required

  6. A true professional

    Posted by Frank, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    One noteworthy area was a legal issue that Karen handled for the church, pro bono. This issue went on for over one year but through Karen’s untiring and arduous efforts and positive leadership she was able to resolve it in a manner that was fair and equitable to both parties.

  7. Recomendation for Karen Sloat

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Working with Karen made several law suits run smoother as she was always professional and kept us aware of what was happening in terms that we could understand. We were very successful with her guidance and I would certainly recomend her to others.

  8. Karen Sloat

    Posted by Jay, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Used her for Hospitality Business HR needs. Executed employee books and other procedures. Helped us in falty unemployment claims.

  9. My Forever Attorney

    Posted by Dr Wendy, a M & A client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Mergers / Acquisitions matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Karen Sloat has been my advocate twice. The first time was a very unpleasant litigation and she won the case. The second was negotiating legal documents with a large corporation where my intellectual property and livelihood was at stake in a merger/acquisition. Large corporate lawyers and prosecuting attorneys can be so intimidating, but Karen was always building my confidence in my ability to take a stand and assuring me to not worry. I was able to sleep at night knowing that Karen was my defense. I don't know what I would have done without her. She is my "forever attorney." If you want a knowlegable AND compassionate attorney - you want Karen.

  10. Karen is a trusted counsel and friend of the Coachella Valley Rescue Mission

    Posted by Sue, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karen Sloat.
    • I hired Karen more than 3 years ago.
    • Karen handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Karen has worked with CVRM for over 4 yrs in various capacities including personnel, contract, land purchase, and different issues. She has been efficient, accurate and very pro-active in resolving each topic.