Gary Jay Holt’s Reviews

Gary Jay Holt

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Chapter 7 Challenge

    Posted by Mark, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary Holt may be the best BK attorney in San Diego County. I did tons of internet research which lead me to a top LA BK attorney, After my phone consult with the LA attorney he informed that he didn't do cases in San Diego County. After asking if he had any recommendations for a San Diego BK attorney the only name that he could recommend was Gary Holt. My wife and I had a very challenging BK, we had too much debt for a CH 13 yet had issues with the means test to qualify for a CH 7 case. Gary still managed to push our case through the system. At our hearing the trustee claimed he was going to recover 75K in what he considered preferential payments but Gary successfully rebutted that attempt with case law. We ultimately did get our CH 7 discharge right on time-line and with it a fresh start.

  2. I would NOT recommend Gary Holt!

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am extremely surprised in Gary's professionalism and communication. First, I spoke to Gary explaining my situation on the ph. Then, I scheduled an appointment with him just a few days after our ph call. When I arrived, I was told he wouldn't be in due to Gary needed to be somewhere to wait for some furniture to be delivered. I gave his office my files, signed his disclaimer and paid him a cash down payment. I kept calling, emailing his staff, and emailing Gary with question's I needed for him to answer, and confirm due to me saving my house through a modification. I gave him money to start my case, yet I never received an email or a call from Gary with an apology for not contacting me with his reasoning’s. Instead, it took Gary two weeks to finally talk (yelling with agitation in his voice) to me over the ph to tell me how to do my modification on my house. Here is a quote by Gary, "I have to hear 100 times over by my clients on how they give money to agencies to save their home and they get ripped off and I'm tired of hearing it". I told Gary, "you are not a modification lawyer, you are a bankruptcy lawyer. I understand your intentions are good, but I hired you to do my bankruptcy, not my modification on my house". He made me feel very patronized by his attitude, which I couldn't figure out why he had one. I am a repeat customer of his and I could have gone to any bk lawyer...their a dime a dozen now a days, but I chose Gary figuring he would want some business. Gary wanted to take the full amount of my down payment to get him started on my case because he claimed that he did $900.00 worth of work. I told him, I believe that no one works for nothing, especially now with our economy, so I would give him half of what I gave him and I will come by to pick up my files and the balance that day. He cut me off and said, "fine!". As I came to the office to pick up my thing's and my check, I mentioned that AJ, his assistant, should receive the money I gave him. AJ was the only proof of any work being done on my file. AJ gave quick responses on my message's to Gary and picked up the phone everytime. Gary, if your reading this, don't lose AJ, he will help keep your business above water. Your lucky to have him!

    I truely do not know why he acted the way he did, nor even contacted me by an easy way of an email to answer my simple questions. I gave him the benefit of the doubt by thinking he was having a bad day...his action's proved wrong through the whole process.

    YOU JUST DON'T TREAT PEOPLE IN THIS DAY OF AGE WITH POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!

    I am now with a lawyer who has been very communcative in responding to me within a 24 hour period. They are also, less expensive then Gary was.


    I do wish you, Gary, all the best and peace.

    1. Gary Jay Holt

      Gary Jay Holt

      Lawyer Comment:

      FROM THE ATTORNEY: Sometimes the term "no good deed goes unpunished" comes to mind. This was a former BK client who came back a second time. I kept advising her not to pay someone to do a loan mod for her. In most cases, it's illegal for someone to charge up-front for a loan mod. She didn't want to listen. In fact, she didn't want to listen to any advice she paid me to give her. I want and appreciate clients who respect my 30+ years of experience. She didn't, so I sent her packing. I hate having clients who aren't satisfied, but sometimes you just can't give people what they want.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  3. Bankruptcy

    Posted by Michael, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My case resolved in time. Everything seemed to go as planned. I was ultimately pleased with results.

  4. A Professional Lawyer

    Posted by David, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    At 69 years of age, filing for bankruptcy is a very traumatic experience. Gary Holt and A.J.Isabello made this experience as comfortable for me as possible with much patience and very clear instructions. This is the first time I have worked with a lawyer who is willing to work with me on paying fees for services rendered.

  5. Life Saving Bankruptcy attorney in San Diego

    Posted by Ric, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I originally started with another lawyer in handling my Bankruptcy which wound up a disaster. When I was recommended to Gary Holt I was very confused and irritated that after almost 6 months I learned that my case had been dismissed and I was not even aware of it.

    Gary took control of the situation, walked me through step by step and guided me along the way as to what was transpiring and what to expect next. I was so relieved that after 90 days it had been handled and I was back on the road to financial recovery.

    I cant explian in words how much Gary and his staff have meant to my peace of mind goin through what I consider to be one of the hardest things I have ever faced.

    My "hat is off" to Gary, and his assistants A.J. and Steve. Thank you very much.

  6. Experienced, Professional & Affordable Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Liz, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary was such a pleasure to work with! He had represented friends of mine when they'd filed for bankruptcy a couple of years ago, and so he came highly recommended. I was impressed with Gary's extensive knowledge of both bankruptcy and tax law, which was necessary to my case.

    Gary was responsive and returned emails and phone calls quickly. I was kept up to date on a regular basis. Gary's assistant, AJ, was very knowledgeable also provided great support.

    Gary was efficient and thorough in preparing my case, and remained helpful and available throughout the entire process. On top of all of this, Gary is a nice person and his fees are affordable. I highly recommend Gary to anyone considering filing for bankruptcy.

  7. Highly Recommend Gary Holt

    Posted by Tobi, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary Holt and his associates were wonderful! I was so nervous and scared and just over the constant phone calls from creditors when I finally got the nerve to call Garys' office. They never talked down to me, they were just straight forward and handled everything so smoothly.
    I highly recommend to anyone that is going through financial hardship to give Gary a call and let him help.

  8. Safe counsel during a difficult time

    Posted by Josh, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It took me a long time to accept that I was bankrupt and that filing wasn't an option, rather a necessity. I had so much fear and shame tied up in the debt and my inability to pay it, having been unemployed for an extended period of time. I knew on my first visit to Mr. Holt's office that I was working with a professional and was in a safe place. He recognized all the negative emotions I was feeling and reminded me that unemployment is affecting a huge number of people and that the bankruptcy laws exist for a reason.

    I'm glad my friend referred me to Mr. Holt's office and I wholeheartedly recommend him to my friends as well.

  9. Knowledgable and Helpful

    Posted by Diamantina, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    During one of the scariest times of my life, filing for bankruptcy, I would have to say Gary Holt was not only helpful, but encouraging. I didn't know what to expect from an attorney, but he made an unpleasant time in my life alot easier. I was working for a company that required me to either file for bankruptcy or pay off all my debt. I was not able to pay tens of thousands of dollars, so I chose to do the lesser of the evils. Gary was very knowledgable and was able to answer any questions I had. Thanks to him, I was able to keep my job!

  10. Bankruptcy Assistance

    Posted by Cookie & Bud, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Holt.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thank you, Gary, for your assistance in our bankruptcy filing. We felt like such failures for having to file and you made the process much less painful. Your advice and support throughout the process was much appreciated. We would recommend you without hesitation.