Shana Jo Black’s Reviews

Shana Jo Black

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Irresponsible and mental torture caused by hiring Shana

    Posted by Pooha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana 1-3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I though I was going through my worst when the divorce came onto me. Shana seemed very friendly, talking about her single mother and woman issues that made me trust her.

    I then read yelp reviews and openly discussed the negative reviews about her and she assured that it was a bad client who did not get the judgement in their favor.

    I decided to give her a try due to her enthusiasm and myself being a woman, I wanted to have hope in another person.

    She started with a bang and became unresponsiveness with reasons of illness, daughter etc etc.

    by the end of my second deposit to her and about 3 months into the case, she wound not respond to my phones, emails for weeks, then months. It was a torture. real torture waiting for a response. worse I had moved to Seattle so I paid around sis expensive tickets to fly down and meet her on her slightest appt set up week but there was no show up. she would suddenly be quiet them for another long time.

    By end of 7 months into the case, I realized the torture and game she was playing. I finally appeared to the court myself and asked her to quit from the case.

    She is the worst lawyer. I have worked with @ 6-8 lawyers on different issues, like work, property, IRS etc, but she is real crappy.

    CRAPPY AND VERY IRRESPONSIBLE. She does not understand ethics and is giving me a hard time to return my huge deposit she has now with her.

  2. The Worst Experience

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana more than 3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The absolute worst divorce attorney. I relied upon the reviews posted online and speaking with Ms. Black before hiring her and it was a mistake. I will begin with the bait/switch of a car salesperson. Someone that hooks you in with lengthy phone calls and an initial meeting and then doesn't bother replying or following up after you've paid the retainer. You receive no monthly accounting statements to reflect what services you've paid. My ex and I have been amicable and settled everything neatly, however Ms. Black is pre-occupied with her personal life (which is what she wrote me in an email) that she won't return phone calls, emails or respond for months at a time. One of the most painful times of your life should be made easier by a licensed/paid attorney. In Ms. Black's case, it is not. I have spoken with three other clients of Ms. Black's who testify to the same treatment. This person should not be practicing law if she discriminates against clients by choosing which ones she responds to and those to disregard. I would rather have my money back and move on to someone else who really has their clients best interest in mind.

  3. Shana Black is my hero

    Posted by Keith, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana 1-3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shana Black is absolutely amazing. She has helped me so much with getting custody of my daughter and my divorce. She is very understanding and knows, very much, what she is doing. I know that it is very hard for a father to get custody of their child but if you need help doing that or need help with your divorce, she is definitely the person to talk to. She helped me get custody of my daughter and keep all my possessions from my divorce. She truly is a saint and I would definitely recommend and refer her to anyone that is going through a family court case. Shana Black truly is a saint.

  4. Child Support/Alimony

    Posted by Chivas, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana 1-3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I don't know where to begin, but Ms. Black is awesome in my book. I contacted her many months before I went to court and she stayed on the phone with me seems like forever. Well anyways to fast forward to days before my court date I called her and asked her to come to court with me now remind you I had not talked to her for months after the first conversation. She picks right up and that particular day I had the worst anxiety and I told her I can't do this by myself so I asked her could she go to court with me she came without any hesitation. She walked in that courtroom and did her thing I got a continuance. My court date came Ms. Black walked in that courtroom and made my ex husband look like the liar he has always been, she questioned him in away that I felt sorry for him because she caught him in so many false statements, even the judge was looking at him like why are you lying. To make a long story short she made it happen where I still receive a large portion of my support, she talked to me throughout the day we were in court and reassured me that I was okay and I had nothing to worry about and I won. I would recommend her to anyone people who came on here being negative needs to realize the woman has a life and I am quite sure she has many cases. I would end my review by saying

  5. Incompetent and unprofessional

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana 1-3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unprofessional and incompetent. Took my money and then didn't do anything. Won't answer phone calls, emails or texts. Impossible to deal with. You are better off doing it on your own. She will add a whole new level of stress to your life.

  6. Thank you Shana!!!

    Posted by John, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana 1-3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    very highly recommend this attorney! She is very knowledgeable and she very quickly spots the weaknesses of the other side (my x!). The judge agreed with everything Ms. Black argued in my divorce, and the other attorney seemed bewildered. She has a great work ethic. She is a hard worker, very honest, reliable, and a fighter. She kept me informed throughout the case and got me everything she said she would. I am a very pleased client and if I ever need an attorney again, Ms. Black will be the first I call.

  7. Amazing lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana more than 3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Black got me 50-50 custody of my four year old daughter. I started off with a restraining order against me a year ago. The attorney I had before Mrs.Black told me to forget it, I would never get custody of my daughter. I hired Ms. Black and she fought and got the restraining order dismissed because my wife was lying. Then she got 40% custody for me and now 50%. I would recommend her to anyone.

  8. Saved my kids

    Posted by Al, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana more than 3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The matter went to court and it was a pleasure to watch Ms. Black demolish the opposing counsel. Every argument they brought up by citing irrelevant cases she countered by citing the correct law and relevant facts. My ex has tried to move out of the State of California twice and each time she was stopped.

  9. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana more than 3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    San Diego, CA
    5 star rating
    2/5/2011

    I was a single mom of two, and needed representation on my custody/support/visitation case. Originally sent to DCSS, she was able to get more support, and set a visitation that would be effective for my kids as well as the non-custodial parent. She was very efficient, incredibly thorough and knowledgeable on Family Law, and aggressively passionate in the courtroom!

  10. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shana Black.
    • I hired Shana more than 3 years ago.
    • Shana handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Due to poor response time and no return phone calls from my previous attorney, I was forced to look for a new lawyer. I was referred to Ms. Black by a friend who advised me to giveher a call. I did and that same day Ms. Black made it a point to see me and resolved my issue- on a weekend, no less! Now that is great client service! I knew I was in good hands!