David Cameron Carr’s Reviews

David Cameron Carr

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. HE DOES HIS VERY BEST WHICH IS SUBSTANTIALLY MORE THAN HIS CLIENT DID FOR ME

    Posted by a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.

    I tried to hire Mr. Carr myself in a matter concerning an attorney who disappeared after I paid him to file an appeal on a minor misdemeanor conviction. I filed a California State Bar complaint against that attorney and six months later, Mr. Carr emerged from the shadows to ultimately defend my former lawyer AFTER the first two attorneys were fired.

    Shortly before the California State Bar trial, I faced Mr. Carr in two depositions and found his determination and resolve to protect his client quite commendable in the face of overwhelming evidence suggesting his client is a rogue on a grand scale. Here was an attorney who had been hired to file an appeal and waited until the DAY OF THE SENTENCING to tell me (his client) that he suddenly believed I had no case.

    No case? What? Why did you take my money? Why did you have a change of heart?

    Did I mention this attorney NEVER ordered the original trial transcript?

    Did I mention this attorney provided me a business card for a "professional corporation" that never existed in the first place?

    Did I mention this attorney converted the funds I expected would be placed in a trust account for his own use PRIOR to giving me a signed retainer agreement THREE WEEKS LATER ?

    No I did not. The evidence of this attorney's incompetence was overwhelming.

    Yet Mr. Carr was non-plussed, eager and determined to provide his client (my former attorney) substantially greater representation and a level of learned legal advocacy I only wished his client had given me.

    Quite bluntly, if my lawyer had given me the measure of devotion and support Mr. Carr gave him, he wouldn't have needed an ethics lawyer in the first place.

    I have had occasion to meet a number of attorneys in recent years. Many of them are likely at some point to need a proven advocate to help them navigate the murky waters of legal ethics; breaches of duty, breaches of fiduciary duty, ineffective assistance of counsel and a host of other issues that so many lawyers seem completely clueless about until its too late.

    Mr. Carr is a gentleman and quite an impressive advocate - for even the worst of the worst of lawyers. While I truly despise the circumstances which I found myself squaring off with Mr. Carr, I came away with a healthier respect for the legal profession.

    There are some lawyers who take their oath seriously; Mr. Carr is one of them.

    I recommend him very highly.

  2. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Jim, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I met David Cameron Carr years ago when a disgruntled client “reported” me to the State Bar. If you haven’t had a client like this, give it time. David came to my rescue and squared matters away for me. He has been my “go to” guy ever since on matters involving attorney discipline and ethics. He formerly was a State Bar Prosecutor and has an encyclopedic knowledge of the Rules of Professional Conduct. I highly recommend him.

  3. Do Not Represent Yourself!

    Posted by Timothy, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David helped my firm with a tricky professional responsibility matter and helped us get a great result. These types of issues can be overwhelming, and even emotional, but David got us through it. We highly recommend his services.

  4. Civil Litigation Attorney

    Posted by Chris, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have retained Mr. Carr as my ethics counsel for years now and his advice has been invaluable. He has a true love of what he does, a comprehensive understanding of ethics rules and issues, and a pragmatic understanding of the practice of law. Simply one of the best.

  5. State Bar Discipline Guru

    Posted by James, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I got to know David when a disgruntled former client filed a complaint against me with the State Bar. I had never faced discipline before and was horrified at the prospect and possible consequences. I retained David and he demystified the process from start to finish. He listened carefully to my side of the story, and laid out a game plan for success. He constantly kept me apprised of the status of my case and explained what to expect when we went to court.
    The outcome was just as David had predicted. I have no public record of discipline whatsoever. And, I learned a valuable lesson about client relations and the Rules of Professional conduct.
    Much later, I learned that David speaks as an expert on the topic of attorney discipline to many groups. He is truly the lawyer's lawyer.

  6. Ethics Attorney Without Equal

    Posted by Rod, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had the opportunity to work with ethics attorney David Cameron Carr on a number of occasions and I am happy to provide this testimonial for him.

    In early 2009, a colleague and I were interested to offer loan modifications as part of our suite of services. However, we realized that there were ethical considerations that would be part of that decision. We contacted David, met with him and retained his services on the spot. David prepared a written opinion that expertly guided us through the ethical maze so that we would not violate the State Bar’s prohibitions. Although loan mods were, more or less, legislated out of existence later that year, it was reassuring to know that, working with David, we had gotten the best advice we could get our hands on.

    I have since relied on David’s sage advice on a number of other matters. I have always found him to be receptive to my inquiries, accessible for scheduling a meeting, and straightforward with his assessment and advice.

    As a former prosecuting attorney with the State Bar Court, David knows what the State Bar is looking for when complaints are made by the public about attorneys. He advises what the ethical issue is and how the attorney can either avoid it or, if there has been a violation, go about making it better. He won’t hesitate to give you the unvarnished truth, which is sometimes hard to hear but definitely necessary.

    On a personal note, David has a terrific sense of humor, which is helpful to have when dealing with such a serious topic as professional ethics and breaches (potential or actual) thereof. David is also accommodating. It’s not unusual to find him hard at work late on a Friday afternoon long after everyone else has left for the weekend. I know because I needed to meet with him to review a matter and could not get downtown until later in the day. Even though I hit traffic on my drive south, I called ahead and David was more than understanding. He was happy to take as much time as my matter needed and I was most appreciative for his time and advice. He is truly a scholar and a gentleman.

    I would unhesitatingly recommend David’s services to any attorney who is either seeking advice before undertaking representation of a prospective client or needing advice or counsel/representation after a client engagement has gone sideways.

  7. Excellent service in State Bar PR/Discipline

    Posted by Joe, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Specific area was professional responsibility/discipline. Did a very fine job, got a very good result considering the evidence. My case did not involve a trial. David did well negotiating a settlement/stipulation.

  8. Happy Former Client

    Posted by Kristen, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    David walked me through a crazy time with calm, understanding and competence. And, he got a great result.

  9. GREAT ATTORNEY!!

    Posted by Roy, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been a client of Dave Carr's for some time. He has advised our firm on how to comply with all the Professional Rules of Conduct and is extraordinarily knowledgeable. He is very frank and honest and most fair on the legal billing. I believe he is the best attorney for ethical advice in San Diego and he was highly recommended to us by another expert on ethics for attorneys who we had used in the past. He is very easy to work with and, when I had an urgent matter I needed for him to review, he got back to me the same day even though he was not in the office. I cannot recomment him highly enough.

  10. The Best There Is

    Posted by a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Carr.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    David Carr represented me in a complex and highly charged disciplinary proceeding before the State Bar. He did so with skill, finesse, and persistence borne of years of experience in the often strange and confounding State Bar disciplinary system. And he did so with compassion and thoughtfulness. Overall I couldn't have made a better choice of counsel.