Richard Glenn Freed’s Reviews

Richard Glenn Freed

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Daizy, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Freed is the most upstanding, honest lawyer that will get the job done the right way. He came highly recommended and we will recommend anybody who is in need of his expertise. Last summer my bonus daughter came to us and asked to live with us full time. She explained to us everything that was happening at her moms. We are alienated over there so we had no idea how bad it really was. We went straight to the court the next morning and filed paperwork with the free lawyers. They said if our daughter was strong willed enough she could tell her mom she wasn't coming back home and why and because she was making the call not us it is not in violation of the court order. We did as they said. Her mom refused to accept what her daughter said and showed up to pick her up anyway. She told her mom again that she was not going home with her and her mom called the sheriff. It went downhill from there. They even threatened to put my husband in jail for not forcing his daughter into the car. After the fiasco that ensued that first week we were referred to Mr. Freed. He walked us through every step of the way explaining the entire process in a way we could understand outside of all the "legal speak". He is very personable with a great sense of humor and makes you feel right a ease despite the difficult situation that got you into his office in the first place. I only wish we would have known about him sooner. We now have full physical custody of our daughter and she is in conjoint therapy with her mom to see if the relationship can be repaired. We only have just over 2 more years left in our situation but we know he will be there for us again if we need him however, he did such a great job I don't think we will.

  2. BEST DIVORCE LAWYER IN SAN DIEGO. PERIOD.

    Posted by Allison, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Richard is THE BEST in San Diego. He not only has a great attitude, that is extremely commpassionate, and caring, he is a BULLDOG In the courtroom. I was asking for $300 a month in child support. He called me the morning of the court date with my ex. Asked me again how much I wanted. A few hours later, the ex husbands new girlfriend called me, yelling. Screaming about $710.00 dollars a month. I was shocked. An hour after she called, Richard called to tell me the good news. My ex even called me to tell me that he wished Richard was his lawyer. You just can't go wrong with this guy. If you deserve it, you will get it. Period.

  3. Mr. Freed a Lawyer with a Heart of Gold

    Posted by Monique, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Freed is the complete opposite of the negative review that I just read. Obviously a poor looser wrote it....this makes me very sad to see!!!
    I highly recommend Richard Freed for he is the best and he will not let you down!
    Mr. Freed was my Lawyer and he was amazing ....I have never seen a lawyer with a heart of gold until I met Mr. Freed. He was incredible in every way....always prepared, made me feel very comfortable in the court room, ...he even pronounced my ex boyfriend's name correctly when his own Lawyer could not pronounce it.

  4. Good man, good attorney!

    Posted by Gary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Knowledgeable, personable, effective--what more would one want in family law? He handled my divorce w/o anger-generating language or behavior, keeping me calm as he took care of my interests thru the court proceedings. An excellent job by a fine lawyer!

  5. Compassionate and Knows How to Keep the Kid's Best Interests at the Forefront

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would give value a 6 if I could. Richard was a no-nonsense and compassionate attorney who represented me in a child custody case where my exhusband was allowing his new wife to mistreat my children when in his care. Richard knew from the outset that my intention was to protect my children, not penalize my husband. He worked through multiple iterations of engagements with my ex'es attorney and helped me keep my priorities in line when emotions were running high. We resolved amicably with some workable modifications to our child support agreement, and avoided a two-day trial and thousands of dollars. I cannot more highly recommend Richard and his staff for their efficiency, efficacy and ability to keep me informed and and aware of my case status. Great, great team.

  6. Specializes in wasting money and not getting results

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    From the onset of the divorce, Richard spoke ill of me to my ex husband and advised me to refuse to even discuss settlement. Instead, he prolonged and complicated even the most simple issues. Why? Because my family is very wealthy and Richard knew there was a lot of money to be made off them.

    What should have been a rather simple divorce (a marriage of 2.7 years and two small children) turned into a 2.5 year legal battle of endless hearings (at least 8 Ex Parte) and many, many letters (over sixty) from Richard for which I was billed for every one.

    In the end after a 2 day trial, Richard Freed, an accomplished attorney of over 20 years experience failed to get his client nearly anything that he had requested at trial while going up against a non-attorney representing himself. Richard had stated that my ex husband would have to pay at least ½ of my legal fees and that it would be highly unusual for my ex husband to get joint legal or physical custody. My husband got joint legal and physical custody of the children (up from originally having only 20% custody) and was only ordered to pay $5k in legal fees (out of approximately $160k paid by my family). Shortly after the trial, Richard again started his same tired shenanigans of motions and hearings; luckily, I realized I was getting nothing with him, except for a hefty fee each month.

    If you want someone who will run up a huge legal fee and get you nothing, but talks a good game, contact Richard.

  7. Richard is the Best of the Best!

    Posted by Laura, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Not only is Richard the epitome of professionalism, he was also compassionate and easy to talk with. He was very understanding of my situation and was worth every penny spent. He is truly a man of integrity and strong character. While I hope to never need his services again, if you need a Family Law attorney to represent you, Richard should be your first choice!

  8. The Best Family Court Attorney

    Posted by Monica Lopez Stouffer, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Freed.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard Freed was an awesome lawyer! Was always very well prepared and was so amazing to watch in court. He made feel so relaxed and confident...never a worry!
    I highly recommend Mr. Freed!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

619-667-9000