Linda Fermoyle Rice’s Reviews

Linda Fermoyle Rice

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Linda Rice helps disabled clients

    Posted by Tom, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda more than 3 years ago.
    • Linda handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am a legally blind Marine Corps veteran who resides in the Palm Springs California area. I became injured and my HMO primary care doctor delayed referring me to a specialist. So I did not receive timely standard care and had permanent damage to my hand. Linda met with me and decided to take my case.

    Linda did an outstanding job of reviewing my case in order to see the merits and who we should sue. She decided against suing the hospital emergency room because they were not at fault. I thought this was a wise decision.

    I was quite nervous about doing a deposition because I cannot see very well. I could not read or review evidence by myself and I could not see the defendant’s lawyer. Linda was very helpful to me during this process.

    Linda asked me to meet with a hand expert in Los Angeles. This doctor was brilliant and his testimony at the trial was spectacular. Linda also deposed witnesses that testified on my behalf. I was very impressed with her knowledge of medical terms and medical procedures. Linda was very thorough in deposing the defendant’s.

    My case took a very long time to go to trial. Linda did everything reasonable to speed up the court calendar. She never wavered in her support of my strong desire to obtain justice.

    Linda is one of the best trial lawyers in California. I used to work for the Ventura County Superior court so I have been in many court rooms. Linda did a superb job of selecting a jury. Her opening and closing remarks to the jury were brilliant. She asked concise and proper questions to the witnesses and defendant’s who testified at the trial. The jury seemed to like Linda and believed in her presentation.

    Before the trial I was asked to review my deposition. I was unable to do this because of my poor vision. Linda had my deposition converted using computer software for blind people. In this manner my computer spoke to me and I could listen to my deposition. This was extremely helpful to me.

    I was very nervous when it came my time to testify at the trial. I could not see the judge or the jury. I could not see the defendant’s lawyer. He tried to bully me and Linda objected. She calmed me down so I could share my personal story. She was great.

    We won our case in 2008 and it was the first time a plaintiff had won a medical malpractice suit in Riverside County for a long time. I quickly received compensation for my injury.

    I think Linda Rice is one of the finest attorneys in the United States. I highly recommend her law firm to potential clients. I am willing to talk with anyone about her professional ability.

    Thomas A. Swann
    Rancho Mirage California

  2. Ms. Linda Fermoyle Rice, an excellent old school attorney with thorough understanding of contemporary requirements

    Posted by Marina, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda more than 3 years ago.
    • Linda handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Ms. Rice helped me to resolve my case. She is professional and emphatic. I believe that I have received the best professional advice regarding my case. Thanks to Ms. Rice I was able to move on with my life and work. I believe that I have received a fair settlement thanks to Ms. Rice's professional conduct and expertise. Based on my personal experience I can recommend Ms. Rice as an excellent attorney to anyone who needs professional help.

  3. Linda Fermoyle Rice

    Posted by a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda more than 3 years ago.
    • Linda handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Linda to represent me for my malpractice case back in 2006.
    I found her to be extremely professional, articulate and compassionate. My case was very stressful for myself and my family and I was told we would not win, still Linda took my case on and continued to work tirelessly for 4 years with me, never giving up. She was remarkable at my trial and put me at ease throughout the grueling week we were there. We won the case and I truly believe she was the best person to represent me. I would highly recommend Linda, she is a true professional and passionate about what she believes in.

  4. So far, so great.

    Posted by a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda 1-6 months ago.
    • Linda handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used the bar association hotline to contact attorneys, and Linda came recommended to me via her peers, which in my opinion is a better source than online reviews. So far she has been great. This was my first time hiring an attorney so I was nervous, but she has quickly made me feel comfortable. When the case is resolved I will come back to update.

  5. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by Deborah, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda 6-12 months ago.
    • Linda handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

    On 2/2/12 I had surgery for a hysterectomy and because of my doctors mistakes I wound up having a life threatening event, three additional surgeries and inserted with a feeding IV. I had no idea it was pure negligence on my doctors part until my last surgery post-op appointment on 7/30/12. I contacted several attorneys and they seemed disinterested. I thought I'd try one more time to find another medical malpractice attorney. I went online and came across Linda Rice. I read her profile and was very impressed. I only had two months to find an attorney at this time. On Friday 1/10/14 I contacted Linda's office and spoke to her assistant, JoAnn. She was very pleasant and wanted me to give her a summary of my case. I asked her if I could fax a summary to her for Linda's review. She said that would be fine. On Monday 1/13/14 I received a call from Linda. She wanted to let me know that she read my summary and wanted to explain how a medical malpractice case works. She took her time in explaining what is involved and asked me if I had any questions. She wanted to meet me and we scheduled an appointment for Thursday 1/16/14. When I arrived, JoAnn immediately came out to greet me. Then Linda came out and invited me into her office. She reviewed my case with me and again explained how a medical malpractice case works, but in more detail. She was very thorough and made sure I understood. She told me she was going to take my case and had already started the process with the paperwork. She also told me that she wanted to give me additional info on herself, because she wanted me to know more about her and feel comfortable. The case is moving along well with constant communication from either Linda or JoAnn. Not only did I find an attorney, I found an EXCEPTIONAL attorney. If you're looking for a medical malpractice attorney, I would HIGHLY recommend Linda Rice.

  6. Very caring, hardworking and knowledgable

    Posted by Stacy, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda 1-3 years ago.
    • Linda handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Rice represented my daughter and I in a medical malpractice suit. She was excellent in everything she did. She is a very compassionate, caring person. She went above my expectations with her hard work and devotion to our case. Needless to say we won. I highly recommend her and her firm.

  7. Professional yet caring

    Posted by Kim,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.

    After the untimely death of my husband, I found myself referred to Linda due to her expertise in the field. She and her firm patiently and efficiently guided me through the numerous and lengthy steps of filing a wrongful death suit. Although she did not possess the miraculous ability to resurrect my husband, Linda was able to bring the case to a successful conclusion whereby my children and I could enjoy financial stability without the physical presence of my husband. We are eternally grateful for her help.

  8. A consummate professional--Highly recommended.

    Posted by Amanda, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda 1-6 months ago.
    • Linda handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ms. Rice is a consummate professional. She is not just what the world needs now in an attorney, she is what is needed in all professions today: frank honesty; unscrupulous standards; profound regard for her staff; and genuine care for her clients. Ms. Rice walks a fine line every day (I know from her representation of me) of the barriers of the law which stand to displace justice, and her incredible, selfless resolve to help vulnerable clients in need. Ms. Rice was recommended to me by a former chair of the Beverly Hills Bar. I highly recommend her as an attorney.

  9. Scattered, untimely and relied on erroneous information for decision.

    Posted by Eric, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Linda Rice.
    • I hired Linda 1-3 years ago.
    • Linda handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came to Linda in hopes that she would represent me in the medical negligence case of my disabled sister who died. She told me she'd have to evaluate the medical record before making a decision and said that she uses a company called "RecordReform." She said that I needed to contact them and send them the records. So I did. I went online, uploaded all the records and then heard nothing. I contacted RecordReform and they said they don't deal with the public directly, that the payment had to come from the lawyer. So I contacted Linda and she said she'd cover it if I sent her a check for $300. I had always heard you never pay a contingency lawyer up front for anything, but I was desperate for a lawyer to take my case. Weeks went by and I heard nothing from Linda or RecordReform. I started emailing RR to see what was going on, and he said he'd look into it. After four emails to him, he still never looked into it. Then a month or so later, I got my cancelled check...so I knew Linda had at least cashed it.

    I wrote to her to see what was going on and after a bit of time she finally wrote back and said that she had had my report for some time but had gone on vacation.

    Meanwhile, I only have a year to file my case, and she's taking her time responding, and then going on vacation. She did not keep me informed about what was going on with my case, did not tell me she had paid RecordReform, and then when my report was ready, she didn't tell me that, instead going on vacation.

    When I complained, she took a very bad attitude with me, like it was all my fault.

    She sent me the evaluation of my sister's records (which is done by doctors in INDIA), and it was laughable. Not only was it incomplete (they didn't even mention the two drugs that led to my sister's death), they got the timeline out of order.

    Linda then based her opinion on whether to take my case on this erroneous report. She said she would not take my case because the report showed that the hospital had done nothing wrong, that my sister had not "fallen through the cracks."

    Funny, I now have one of the top lawyers in the state representing me who thinks I have a great case. I was also turned down by several other lawyers who thought I had a case, but could not accept it due to California's MICRA law.

    1. Linda Fermoyle Rice

      Linda Rice

      Lawyer Comment:

      There are many factors that go into the decision about which medical malpractice cases to litigate. MICRA, which limits the amount of non-economic damages in all medical negligence cases to $250,000 (a cap that is 39 years old), is s huge factor to be considered. Many people who have legitimate claims of medical malpractice cannot find legal representation because the economics cannot be justified due to this cap. Also, because they require a significant expenditure of time and money, I sometimes decline cases which may have merit because I feel they pose too great a risk to my law firm. When I do decline a case, I always encourage the client to get a second opinion because another lawyer may evaluate the case differently. Apparently, that is what happened in this situation. While I am sorry you were so unhappy with my decision, I'm delighted you found a lawyer who was willing to represent your sister.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag