Chris Gray’s Reviews

Chris Gray

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris more than 3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Chris was recommended by my accountant and did an excellent job of helping me to manage a trust for about six years, a matter which involved a conservatorship, some elder abuse litigation and three bitterly-divided siblings with a lot of acrimony between them to deal with along the way. I'm grateful for her help and would not hesitate to recommend her.

  2. Trust administration

    Posted by Chris, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris more than 3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Chris Gray is an amazing lawyer. She had been hired by my father for his trust administration and has worked with me thru the horrific last six years. She guided me, advised me, and helped me to remain calm with an infuriating family member threatening law suit time and time again.

    I endorse her style, her office, and her knowledge. You want smart and tough, you want Chris Gray to represent you in life, and after you are gone for your loved ones!!

  3. Trustworthy and Knowledgeable Attorney!

    Posted by Karen, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Chris Gray has represented my family for over three years. I was faced with having to set up a trust, power of attorney, directive health care and start managing my elderly parents affairs. I could not have done this without her expertise, guidance and knowledge. She has a great way of explaining things to a laymen like myself; clearly laying out the plan of action and necessary next steps for me. I trust Chris Gray with all of our families legal affairs and she has proven to be a great lawyer and indispensible to our needs. She will continue to be our family attorney and I would strongly recommend her.

  4. Chris is an exceptional attorney!

    Posted by Mariah, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Chris accepted representation of me over the phone 3,000 miles away in what can only be described as a probate court mine field. I was forced by circumstances to hire a local attorney and to hire one immediatlely. Other attorneys I interviewed either wanted nothing to do with my case, or wanted an exhorbitant retainer. I found Chris on-line and was immediately impressed by her credentials and by the testimonials of previous clients. That was enough for me to inquire further. Chris's representation of me was zealous advocacy at its best with a hint of common sense and wisdom. She was able to plow through the legal issues, and effectively deal on my behalf with the family dynamics. Chris is one the best attorneys I know: smart, knowledgeable, and effective. I highly recommend her to anyone in need of representation in a California probate or trust matter.

  5. Knowledgeable and helpful!

    Posted by Norm, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Chris in AVVO.COM and phoned her with questions about my 85 year old mom's estate. She provided substantive information on the phone, was easy to communicate with, and overall was very helpful. When I offered to pay her for the information she refused and said it was within the 30 free minutes she offers (which I didn't even know about). I now plan to follow up and use her as my mom's estate attorney.

  6. Bad Timing

    Posted by Connie, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris more than 3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Since Chris was recommended to me by a trusted friend, I didn’t think I needed to do a background check on the firm for which she was working. Big mistake! Always check. I am still associated with the annoying bankruptcy proceedings of this firm. Also, Chris did not communicate at our initial interview that she was about to take a vacation, and telephoned me the night before leaving to let me know she would be unavailable for 2 ½ weeks. This inaccessibility to my legal counsel came at a very critical time in my case and she left me under the advisement of someone who was also leaving this defunct firm and who most definitely did not serve the interests of my family. Before her departure and after her return, it was very difficult to reach Chris personally and almost all communication was through her paralegal. She was an hour late for one telephone meeting she herself had arranged. Her excuse when she finally did call was that she had forgotten. She said there were too many things to catch up on after returning from vacation. Consequently, she was not an effective advocate in court.

    It was probably bad timing considering she was being forced during this time to branch out on her own, but I couldn't work with her again, under the circumstances. To her credit, she did not charge me for that final court appearance, but I would have rather paid for a more focussed and better pepared attorney.

    1. Chris Gray

      Chris Gray

      Lawyer Comment:

      I agree this was bad timing. I took on this case three weeks before my twelve-day vacation out of the country. At that time no hearings were set. The first hearing was later set for a week and a half after my return. Ordinarily this would not have been an issue. However, to my surprise, I returned to find my firm in turmoil. Despite the fact the issues at the firm had nothing to do with my client matters, I had to transition very quickly into a sole proprietorship. Of course, this was done along with my regular work. Although I am a pretty good time manager, I cannot always foresee when a client’s case will develop an important issue that requires a greater amount of my time. If this happens when I am on vacation or when my hands are full with other business/client matters, it can be difficult. Ordinarily, a little rearranging of my schedule and working harder is all that is required. When I am on vacation, my paralegal and other attorneys are available to assist my clients with emergencies. This has worked well over the years and in my opinion the outcome of this matter was not significantly affected by the way the case was handled. However, I was saddened by my client’s dissatisfaction and I did what I could to try and mend our relationship. I am not perfect and some things are out of my control, but I do work hard for and care about my clients.

      Posted over 4 years ago. Flag

  7. Thoroughly Professional

    Posted by Ted, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris more than 3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Chris Gray has represented my family for nearly seven years defending a long-standing trust instrument and the best interests of an elderly trustor. Ms. Gray’s extensive litigation experience and exhaustive knowledge of estate issues speak for themselves. It was her commitment to us that made the difference protecting the rights and resources of a vulnerable person. I am grateful and indebted to Ms. Gray for her guidance, dedication and relentless defense of our family.

  8. One Smart Lawyer!!

    Posted by Robin, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris more than 3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Hi have used Chris for three issues. Two different trusts and a probate case. She is smart and well informed. She has always been able to answer my questions in a professional and frendly manner. I know there will be other estate issues coming up for me to handle and I know that Chris is the first person I will call for help. She has been very accomatating to the needs of my elderly mother. I am sure that Chris will be able to help you and you will be happy with your choice.

  9. Conservatorship

    Posted by Grant, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris more than 3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Chris provided outstanding advice and prompt service regarding my mother's conservatorship. I would highly recommend her.

  10. Great attorney

    Posted by Nan, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gray.
    • I hired Chris more than 3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Chris is caring and personable. I felt comfortable in all my dealings with her.