Joseph Bernard Mchugh Jr’s Reviews

Joseph Bernard Mchugh Jr

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Immediate and Concise Reply

    Posted by Roger, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I requested an explanation of legal alternatives for my situation and Mr. Mchugh responded immediately and with great detail so that I understood my options.

  2. Outstanding client service

    Posted by a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Elder Law matter.

    Joe is extremely diligent, conscientious, and responsive in serving his clients, particularly when dealing with the most difficult cases. Joe is highly knowledgeable about the law, has incredible compassion for the people it impacts on a day-to-day basis, and works tirelessly to see a case through, from beginning to end. He is a problem solver and, like a magician, has helped to solve some of the most frustrating and mind-boggling cases. Joe, and his entire team, has consistently gone above and beyond to help my family navigate the Medi-Cal system and, by serving as our fierce advocates, has helped to provide hope when all seemed hopeless. I would, without hesitation, recommend him to anyone seeking assistance with elder law and long term care cases.

  3. VERY RECOMMENDABLE. DID AN EXCELLENT JOB!

    Posted by JOSE, a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I WILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS OFFICE. DID AN EXCELLENT JOB FOR MY WIFE'S MEDI-CAL HEALTH ISSUE. THEY CHARGED A VERY REASONABLE FEES. KATHY IS A VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND VERY PROFESSIONAL PERSON, AS WELL AS JOSEPH.

    THANK YOU, KATHY!

  4. Total Trust this Attorney with your family estate planning!

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe McHugh and his staff at LA Law Center were the best in helping my family (3 generations) in creating wills, trusts, family limited partnerships, and irrevocable trust to protect the estate assets my father worked so hard for his entire life. we did a lot of estate planning a few years ago and thank god we did it!When my father needed nursing home care, our family assets were protected and Joe helped us quickly qualify for Medi-cal benefits.

    Any time we have questions, Joe or his assistant gladly answers to phone and we do not get a bill for asking a question. We are treated like family. If you need a good attorney that you can actually talk to , call Joe McHugh! We are very happy with peace of mind.

  5. The Rough Road of Medi-cal

    Posted by Martin, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    One of the most difficult programs you will ever apply for, Medi-cal. This is a very complex procedure that has strict guidelines. Try it yourself and you will get denied and the damage you do may cost you from qualifying at all. Go to the wrong law firm can produce the same results and you will be out of a lot of money. This was my experience, I was denied twice and running out of time as my father was about to get evicted from his skilled nursing facility. As my trust for using a law firm or attorney has about vanished. I had one last chance before my father was evicted. Now what to do, I headed back to internet searching. Since, I was so skeptical now I did a thorough background check on all potential attorneys and law firms advertising Elder law. I was shocked what I found out. The only firm that I didn't find bad reviews about was LA Law Center, Joe and Kathy Mchugh. When I told my story to Kathy she did not try on selling me false promises like the other attorney’s did. Kathy said “this was the most difficult case she has ever worked on.” That because I was not given good directions and assistance I might have ruined my chance to have my father accepted. After I paid them they were the same with me, returning every call and email. We became a team working together. Through this team work Kathy was able to get my father not only qualified, but even retroactive from where I first applied. Now I can rest assure that my father is taken care of. Please save yourself time, money and frustration let LA Law Center help you as they helped me. They are great people to work with.

  6. Competent, Capable, Courteous, Comprehensive

    Posted by Diana, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Upon my first visit with my father to this firm, they were able to see exactly what my father needed and proceeded within a week's time to provide everything necessary to protect my father's estate and assets. Less than two weeks later my father sustained a serious illness and thanks to Mchugh's quick, complete and thorough service I knew my father was protected and that his future needs would be covered. I am very grateful for the excellent services, and compassionate handling of all the different situations that have occurred. I know I can depend upon them for all the issues that will come up in the future. The Mchugh team combines competence, with a very personable and approachable style. I always feel welcome and comfortable, all my questions have been rapidly and accurately answered. Their experience with family dynamics have been invaluable regarding our situation.

  7. Loved Joseph McHugh!!

    Posted by a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Joe McHugh was a great help to my family when we really needed it. His, and wife Kathy's advice was very caring and helpful for getting my father on Medi-cal,and in an excellent nursing home. I would highly recommend L.A. Law Center to anyone, and already have. Their understanding of California law and elder care law was very beneficial to our family.

  8. Elder care and estate planning

    Posted by Tony, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe McHugh prepared our Living Trust and when it came time to manage my elderly mother’s estate and her long term care planning we turned to Joe. Joe has a great deal of knowledge and experience in elder care and he executed a Durable Power of Attorney, an Irrevocable Trust, guided me through the process of establishing an Advanced Health Care Directive and provided advice on managing my mother’s finances to maximize her medical coverage. This was not an easy task, as my mother was beginning to have memory problems and lost all of her identification, including her Permanent US Resident paperwork.

    Unfortunately, my mother had a medical set back and needed skill nursing care. Once again we turned to Joe who prepared her Medi-Cal application. Medi-Cal accepted her application in less than three (3) weeks and the coverage was seamless during the transition from Medicare to Medi-Cal.

    I highly recommend Joe and encourage you to give him a call and discuss how he can assist you.

  9. We were lucky to find the Best!

    Posted by Christine, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe was recommended to us by a client of his. We found that he is very knowledgeable in the field of elder law and trusts. In addition he is kind and very helpful. We had Joe help my parents refine their trust and we were so impressed that we created a trust for ourselves (something I have been trying to get my husband to do for years!). When we were thrust into elder care earlier this year we found ourselves overwhelmed by the legalities of the situation. Joe helped us sort things out and I will be forever grateful for the peace of mind we have knowing that we have an advocate if we need help in the future. We have already recommended him to relatives, friends and acquaintances. I highly recommend this attorney.

  10. Excellent at getting things accomplished

    Posted by Sarah, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Mchugh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Mchugh per a recommendation from a close friend. She said that it would be hard for me to believe he was a lawyer because of his kind and friendly demeanor! She was right, he is a very nice man but more importantly he is a tough lawyer who will defend you and get things done in a timely manner. Mr. Mchugh was very patient with me and he was very diligent with my case. I would highly recommend his services and plan to hire him again in the future for all my business needs.

818-241-4238